$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

The Astor Hotel

4 stars
956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Couldn't ask for a better hotel!

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was literally 3 blocks from the beach.... See full review

  • Gina baio
  • Feb 12, 2014
One of the BEST Hotels!

This was one of the best stays I have ever had at a hotel! The staff was SUPER friendly and... See full review

  • cyclechick
  • Feb 5, 2014
Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurants

Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades.

Highlights
  • Art Deco jewel on Washington Avenue
  • Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge
Rooms

The lines and sleek furniture in each room complement the modern amenities featured in the room. Included in the room stay are a personal safe and Wi-Fi access.

Features

Proximity to South Beach clubs, restaurants and bars add to the appeal of this Washington Avenue hotel. However, guests don't need to leave the hotel for food and pampering. Patrons can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge on site.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Jungle Island
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Printing, copying and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Daily resort fee is $15 USD plus tax, inclusive of beach towel use and Wi-Fi access in the lobby and rooms.
  • Valet parking fee is $32 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7806 -80.1329
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Fl
Nearby airports
Miami ( MIA ) and Fort Lauderdale ( FLL ) International Airport
Area description
Two blocks from the sparkling beaches in the heart of the Art Deco District of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Astor Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Guest room with one queen bed. This deluxe room is our largest standard room offering 300 square feet and has a view overlooking either our garden courtyard or a city view, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe and high-speed wireless Internet access. The well appointed marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.
One Bedroom Suite
The spacious one bedroom suite is 460 square feet and has one king bed, a twin sofa sleeper and a separate living room. This suite is ideal for the business traveler in need of a separate room for meetings. All one bedroom suites have a courtyard or city view, fully stocked minibar, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe, high-speed wireless Internet access, web-TV and an additional TV in the bedroom. The oversized marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room seats twenty guests. Additional meeting space for up to 120 guests available at the Wolfsonian Museum located across the street.

Dining

Astor Kitchen and Lounge
American Cuisine. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 242
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Montengero
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 3, 2013

Extra bed

The staff has promised us an extra bed and it never arrived. I paid for a room to fit three people but it was only one king size bed, on my reservation it stated that it will have a sofa or an extra bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

use the shuttle to airport and from airport, its free.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oohlaboop
Philly
Apr 28, 2013

Poor Quality

I would not recommend this hotel. There was used lotion in our bathroom when we arrived. The room was poorly lit. The bed mattresses were hard. The sink was clogged. There was no door service. There was no one to help with bags. The receptionist refused to call us a cab to take us to the club because our destination wasn't far enough. She recommended we take the bus. Really???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grad traveler
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

$66 for one night in Miami

My friend and I drove in from Ft. Myers beach for a day/night in Miami. We arrived at 11am and were told there was another room we could check into but the gentleman at the front desk wanted us to have a particular one. He told us we were 2 blocks from the beach and to come back at 4p. We were able to valet our car for $28 a day. We had to wait at least 10 minutes in our car for the valet employee to take our car. We came back at 350p and we were able to preregister but we were not given our room key until 4p. Check in is at 4pm so don't expect to get into your room a minute sooner than that. We needed to get our car from valet so we could get our luggage. Our car was on the side street so I followed the valet employee to our car. He grabbed one bag and started rolling it away while I was left with 2 smaller carry-on bags, a duffle bag, and a few dresses on hangers. Despite the short distance I had to go I had trouble maneuvering all of our luggage (we don't travel light and we didn't unpack our bags from home-Pittsburgh PA.) Another valet employee saw me struggling and came to my rescue. Once inside the hotel lobby, he left the bags with my friend and myself and left. My friend and I were on our own to get our luggage to our room. The employees at the first desk didn't offer help and didnt appear busy. Another kind international gentleman offered us assistance and rolled our bags to our room. Given the fact that we got a deal and only paid $66 for the night our room was okay. It we would have paid the hotel Astor's price on their website for that night it was at least 400 dollars. Not worth that price. The shower wasn't completely covered by the 'door' so the floor and the sink counter were soaked after our showers. We also saw a bug crawling on the bathroom floor. The blinds in our room did not go down all the way so anyone outside in the parking lot were able to see us change. Lighting was also poor in the room. It took us 5 minutes to figure out the 3 lamps on the walls. I have stayed at much nicer hotels and I don't mind spending the money as long as I get my money's worth. I guess I got what I paid for. Overall my friend and I had a fun time in Miami and we were glad we made the 2.5 hr drive from our week vacation in ft myers beach. We needed to have a night on the town with people our own age away from the quiet nights on the gulf coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Feb 13, 2010

What A Dump!

This place was a disaster. We booked and paid for 'junior suites' but got tiny rooms without even a chair in them. We had to move from the first two rooms we had because the doors wouldn't lock from the outside. The air conditioner was either on or off, the temperature control didn't work at all. When we checked out it took them fully a half hour to find our car that they had valet parked. It wasn't till we threatened to call the police and report a stolen car that they managed to find ours. The free continental breakfast consisted of a loaf of white bread and a loaf of wheat bread and a toaster. A complete joke!! Do not stay here, you will regret it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Feb 13, 2010

What A Dump!

This place was a disaster. We booked and paid for 'junior suites' but got tiny rooms without even a chair in them. We had to move from the first two rooms we had because the doors wouldn't lock from the outside. The air conditioner was either on or off, the temperature control didn't work at all. When we checked out it took them fully a half hour to find our car that they had valet parked. It wasn't till we threatened to call the police and report a stolen car that they managed to find ours. The free continental breakfast consisted of a loaf of white bread and a loaf of wheat bread and a toaster. A complete joke!! Do not stay here, you will regret it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 21, 2007

In Need of a Face Lift

Unfortunately, the Hotel Astor was in need of a face lift. The lobby was beautiful and well kept; however, we had nothing but problems with our rooms. From the start, our air conditioner was broken and only allowed the room to feel like a freezer. The next day it broke completely, allowing the room to be hotter than it was outside on the beach. In addition, tHe air vents then continued to drip water the entire remainder of our trip. One night there was a thunder shower, which caused the window to leak and soak the carpet and our cell phone chargers. Now that we have seen the area, I would probably try another hotel for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
mexico city
Mar 26, 2013

worst experience ever

Room wasn't cleaned 2 days in a row and when we complained they answered it was late and there was no one to clean it, on second day they prefered to change us to another room since they again didn't clean it Internet never worked. On day of arrival we were told there was a temporary issue with the wifi and being fixed but that never happened We only got hot water once! A/C got room to freezing temperatures and we were never able to regulate temperature so it was either hot or extremely cold, we were told it was an issue they were having in some rooms and they were fixing, that also never happened

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 21, 2007

In Need of a Face Lift

Unfortunately, the Hotel Astor was in need of a face lift. The lobby was beautiful and well kept; however, we had nothing but problems with our rooms. From the start, our air conditioner was broken and only allowed the room to feel like a freezer. The next day it broke completely, allowing the room to be hotter than it was outside on the beach. In addition, tHe air vents then continued to drip water the entire remainder of our trip. One night there was a thunder shower, which caused the window to leak and soak the carpet and our cell phone chargers. Now that we have seen the area, I would probably try another hotel for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Apr 29, 2010

Below average

We stayed at Astor Hotel in late April 2010. Astor -- by its own description --is "minimalistic" in style and decor but the hotel part is rather basic. Spartan rooms, noisy air-conditioner, but hardwood floors and nice bathrooms. The band played until 1 am made sleep impossible. We requested room change and we did get a quieter one. The band was supposed to be an attraction of the night but it attacted only a few guests and spolied the sleep of many. The front desk staff unfiendly and never smiles. There is no valet parking per se -- a guy takes your car to an undisclosed location and delivers it back when needed. You directly pay him $28. In the meantime, you can see your car moved around at nearby parking lots or street parking places. Great location two blocks from the main drag and the beach, stylish restaurant but otherwise overrated. They do not respond to emails from prospective guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 21, 2009

Astor Hotel

Location is great. Staff was very corteus, especially at reception. We booked a room for 3 and was only ready for 2. We asked for additional pillows and towels, later to find out that the sofa bed was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fratelli La Bufala - true Italian Pizza

Back to menu Return to top