$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Astor Hotel

4 stars
956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Couldn't ask for a better hotel!

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was literally 3 blocks from the beach.... See full review

  • Gina baio
  • Feb 12, 2014
One of the BEST Hotels!

This was one of the best stays I have ever had at a hotel! The staff was SUPER friendly and... See full review

  • cyclechick
  • Feb 5, 2014
Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurants

Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades.

Highlights
  • Art Deco jewel on Washington Avenue
  • Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge
Rooms

The lines and sleek furniture in each room complement the modern amenities featured in the room. Included in the room stay are a personal safe and Wi-Fi access.

Features

Proximity to South Beach clubs, restaurants and bars add to the appeal of this Washington Avenue hotel. However, guests don't need to leave the hotel for food and pampering. Patrons can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge on site.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Jungle Island
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Printing, copying and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Daily resort fee is $15 USD plus tax, inclusive of beach towel use and Wi-Fi access in the lobby and rooms.
  • Valet parking fee is $32 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7806 -80.1329
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Fl
Nearby airports
Miami ( MIA ) and Fort Lauderdale ( FLL ) International Airport
Area description
Two blocks from the sparkling beaches in the heart of the Art Deco District of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Astor Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Guest room with one queen bed. This deluxe room is our largest standard room offering 300 square feet and has a view overlooking either our garden courtyard or a city view, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe and high-speed wireless Internet access. The well appointed marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.
One Bedroom Suite
The spacious one bedroom suite is 460 square feet and has one king bed, a twin sofa sleeper and a separate living room. This suite is ideal for the business traveler in need of a separate room for meetings. All one bedroom suites have a courtyard or city view, fully stocked minibar, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe, high-speed wireless Internet access, web-TV and an additional TV in the bedroom. The oversized marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Astor Kitchen and Lounge
American Cuisine. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room seats twenty guests. Additional meeting space for up to 120 guests available at the Wolfsonian Museum located across the street.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Time traveler 465
California
Oct 3, 2012

Broken down

Everything at this hotel seems to be broken. My phone, the elevator, the shower, no water pressure. The location is good but service is poor. I wasted my money with the valet service. Many times waiting between 30 to 45 minutes to pick up and even drop off my car. This place needs some renovations and hospitality training> The upside is that the location is good, otherwise I would have been even more disillusioned with its advertisements. I would give it 2.5 to 3 stars at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 21, 2009

Astor Hotel

Location is great. Staff was very corteus, especially at reception. We booked a room for 3 and was only ready for 2. We asked for additional pillows and towels, later to find out that the sofa bed was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fratelli La Bufala - true Italian Pizza

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jun123
Business
New York
Apr 25, 2013

Not following their own words

I was told there is parking and complimentary breakfast. Well, it turned out that there is "valet parking" if you do not want to park on the street. Tired of getting parking tickets for 1-minute delay in refilling meters, I took their valet parking for $28. They said breakfast is not complimentary even though I had confirmed on the phone that the breakfast would be complimentary. The room was nice and comfortable but the bath tub had stains and the TV remote was missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado Cowboy
Colorado
Apr 28, 2013

Four star rating is in jeopardy

The restaurant for dinner service is 4 stars but otherwise the hotel has zero amenities. The staff was polite but mostly lackadaisical. The location is in a very lively part of South Beach and with respect to the other hotel options it was reasonably good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Sawgrass Outlet Mall is about 45 minutes by car and it offers some exceptionally savings.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, Fl
Feb 12, 2010

Not worth the money- not four star!!!

The hotel is nothing like it shows in the picture. The elevator is small enough to only fit one person. When we arrived in our room the sheets had holes and stains on them. the room was not very well equipped with standard items. The tv was mounted on a piece wood. the refridge was on the floor and not working. All through out the night you can hear doors slamming and people talking in the hallways Made it very hard for people to sleep. Definitely would not stay here again. Only great thing about hotel was location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great location two blocks away from south beach and ocean drive. very assessible to shopping and dining.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Apr 11, 2011

DIsappointed!

The hotel is actually in a good location but they stuck us in a room by the stairwell claiming it was the quietest room they had. So, lucky us! We got to hear the door to the stair slamming all night! No sleep for us. In the morning we did complain only to hear the front desk comment to us they were aware of the problem??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marpix
New York
Aug 17, 2011

Cucarachas?!!

We were given a room all the way in the back of the hotel close to the garbage doors. (Room 111) We were so tired and took the room without realizing the mentioned above to find yet another surprise such a place with no refrigerator nor a phone to call the desk... After spending a few hours resting, we found 3 cockroaches in our bedroom... Needless to say, they switched me to another room, which was much bigger and nicer, but with no TV and a nasty carpet (Room 107) The Hotel was OK for the one night, but I would not recommend it for more then that. Nice staff :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UNCLE JR
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 6, 2011

BAD ROOM LOCATION/BAD ROOM ACCESS

Entry to the room was not in the main hallway like the other rooms. This room entry was in the stairwell. If you were in the main hallway, then you would have to go through the exit door accessing the stairwell to access the room. We use the stairs more so then the elevator, because of where the room was located. Room card key reader was broke, so the room had to be accessed by using just a regular key, but only one key was available. It was very hard for two people to have to share only one key. Again this was not a plastic card key, but an actual hard metal key. (Just One key shared among two people) Not a good experience......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 8, 2010

Not all its written up to be

So the valet service that is listed as part of the hotel, is now an independent service that requires daily cash. Then I get up the room and see the largest cockroach on the floor and water stained ceilings and blinds that don't stay open unless you time them to the frame of the window. The floors echo every noise so when folks are coming and going you can hear every noise. Would be something I would expect for a low rate hotel, not a South Beach centrally located. Front desk staff is really nice and works to try and meet needs, but the hotel doesn't seem to have their backs. Wanted a non-feather pillow and was told that there are only 4 in the entire hotel. REALLY?? Pros: great hot water, internet access works great, great front desk and solid location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, Fl
Feb 12, 2010

Not worth the money- not four star!!!

The hotel is nothing like it shows in the picture. The elevator is small enough to only fit one person. When we arrived in our room the sheets had holes and stains on them. the room was not very well equipped with standard items. The tv was mounted on a piece wood. the refridge was on the floor and not working. All through out the night you can hear doors slamming and people talking in the hallways Made it very hard for people to sleep. Definitely would not stay here again. Only great thing about hotel was location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great location two blocks away from south beach and ocean drive. very assessible to shopping and dining.

Back to menu Return to top