$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Astor Hotel

4 stars
956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Couldn't ask for a better hotel!

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was literally 3 blocks from the beach.... See full review

  • Gina baio
  • Feb 12, 2014
One of the BEST Hotels!

This was one of the best stays I have ever had at a hotel! The staff was SUPER friendly and... See full review

  • cyclechick
  • Feb 5, 2014
Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurants

Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades.

Highlights
  • Art Deco jewel on Washington Avenue
  • Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge
Rooms

The lines and sleek furniture in each room complement the modern amenities featured in the room. Included in the room stay are a personal safe and Wi-Fi access.

Features

Proximity to South Beach clubs, restaurants and bars add to the appeal of this Washington Avenue hotel. However, guests don't need to leave the hotel for food and pampering. Patrons can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge on site.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Jungle Island
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Printing, copying and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Daily resort fee is $15 USD plus tax, inclusive of beach towel use and Wi-Fi access in the lobby and rooms.
  • Valet parking fee is $32 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7806 -80.1329
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Fl
Nearby airports
Miami ( MIA ) and Fort Lauderdale ( FLL ) International Airport
Area description
Two blocks from the sparkling beaches in the heart of the Art Deco District of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Astor Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Guest room with one queen bed. This deluxe room is our largest standard room offering 300 square feet and has a view overlooking either our garden courtyard or a city view, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe and high-speed wireless Internet access. The well appointed marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.
One Bedroom Suite
The spacious one bedroom suite is 460 square feet and has one king bed, a twin sofa sleeper and a separate living room. This suite is ideal for the business traveler in need of a separate room for meetings. All one bedroom suites have a courtyard or city view, fully stocked minibar, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe, high-speed wireless Internet access, web-TV and an additional TV in the bedroom. The oversized marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room seats twenty guests. Additional meeting space for up to 120 guests available at the Wolfsonian Museum located across the street.

Dining

Astor Kitchen and Lounge
American Cuisine. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
virginia
May 17, 2010

Eh, nice but I've seen better before

Our initial overall impression of the hotel was positive, but there were aspects that we didn't like at all. The concierge was very nice and helpful, but the rest of the staff didn't seem to care or realize that part of their job is to actually be nice to guests. We were given attitude more times than I can count. The room was very clean, and the stereo with the wine glasses was a nice touch. Would've been nice to have face towels but that's certainly not a deal breaker. The restaurant attached to the hotel has fabulous food and, for those who don't have the luxury of living in tropical places, an incredibly cool and comfortable outdoor seating area. The waiter was friendly enough but it took three times asking and over 30 minutes to get our check so we could leave. Very, very expensive also. A ceviche and two drinks (not including two that were complimentary) cost us $50! Location is great. Two blocks away from the beach but in a really busy area. So you essentially get the essence of being on the main drag without having to pay main-drag prices. One note of caution: the restaurant has a band on Thursday nights, and they use speakers that make it impossible to hear conversation. We had a room on the first floor, just down the hall, and couldn't sleep before midnight because that's how late the band played. If we hadn't needed to be up early that wouldn't have been a problem, but when we talked to the front desk about it, we were treated with indifference. I would recommend this place to a friend with all of the above caveats. We certainly could have done much worse for the price, so overall I'd say it was an alright experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dotsgirl
Plymouth, MA
Dec 6, 2012

Great location

Not 4 star. The staff is friendly and helpful, the lobby, outdoor area and new restaurant are very nicely decorated. The rooms and hallways are tired, needs updating. Need carpet in hallways for noise control. The shower was horrible! NO water pressure and barely luke warm. Not a good experience. There was hair in the bathroom when we first arrived. Gross! The location was awesome, not on Ocean St in the hustle and bustle but close to walk to beach, clubs, shopping and Ocean St

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Was thrilled to have wait staff let us know about area clubs, especially since we had no idea we were there during the White Party! Ask the staff for where to go!

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elizabethtown, KY
Jul 24, 2011

Ok but not great

We arrived earlier than expected and the staff accommodated us by letting us watch the World Cup game in their closed bar. Our room was ready an hour early and we were allowed in. Staff was very nice and friendly. Needed more mirrors in the room. The restaurant was closed indefinitely they said but was advertised as being open. Would have been nice to know that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most restaurants and bars were to the left. we went to the right....

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuck987
Maryland, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Mediocre

The hotel is in very good location and was pretty inexpensive. It appears to have been recently rennovated and they are currently renovating the bar area it seemed. Craftsmanship was sloppy in terms of work done in room. Cheap building materials including laminate hardwood floors throught the hallways and rooms. Poor insulation and lack of carpeting made noises from hall including doors slamming shut easy to hear throughout the night. Overall, decent hotel in a good location. You get what you pay for but not much more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Feb 22, 2010

Staff was very helpful and friendly

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Astor is in a great location, but in a sketchy area. Price was high for what we paid for, price did not equal expectation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Prospective Student at U. Michigan
Macon, GA, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Average Hotel stay

I must agree with some of the past reviews...the stay wasn't too bad but you can hang up trying to sleep past 8AM...the door slamming was awful I could hear this constantly throughout the early morning hours...the front desk claim that they are trying to work on this still...there still isn't a place to eat inside the hotel or a place to grab a cocktail (no mini fridge, no covering for shower, & toilet will run)...hotel appears to be a work in progress but has potential...the location is awesome and South Beach is a place that is now in my top three favs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you wanna save a bit of money take the Airport Flyer only 2.35...

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colombia
Jan 27, 2011

nice place to stay

The hotel is nice and central. The staff is very educated and forward coming, and the room was clean. Only things you should pay attention is, that the shuttle doesn't work on tuesdays and wednesdays (city buses go to the airport) and that the charge you an extra 15 USD for using the hotel amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 28, 2010

Reminded me of my college dorm room.

Loved the external decor and the lobby of the hotel but the room itself reminded me of my dorm room. Nothing special about it that a college student couldn't put together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in South Beach is located nearby.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Worldlyl Wanderer
New Jersey
Dec 27, 2013

A mixed bag

Our rooms were both good to excellent. The staff made every effort to make us comfortable. There were a few problems which marred our visit. 1) We woke up the first morning to cold showers- no hot water. This was quickly remedied. 2) By the second day we realized that the heat/air conditioning in our room was not working. We were then upgraded to a beautiful suite. 3) The promised free airport shuttle did not exist. Our cab fare eliminated any savings from the competitive room rate. I did hear others complaining about infrastructure problems as well. If corrected I would definitely stay there again, otherwise I'm not so sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maney
Sterling, CO
Nov 13, 2012

Great Location

I loved that Hotel Astor was close to everything (ie. nightclubs, shopping, Ocean Dr., and restaurants). I disliked my room location. I stayed on 1st floor near the elevator and was driven crazy from the noise of it and the wooden floors. I had a problem w/ a running toilet and they fixed it with in 15 mins. The room was beautiful and the bed was awesome! Some of the info they had on their website was incorrect. FREE Continental Breakfast & FREE Drinks from 7-8pm Every Night and they don't honor it at their own hotel. They send you to other hotels for those deals. All-n-all the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top