$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

The Astor Hotel

4 stars
956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Couldn't ask for a better hotel!

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was literally 3 blocks from the beach.... See full review

  • Gina baio
  • Feb 12, 2014
One of the BEST Hotels!

This was one of the best stays I have ever had at a hotel! The staff was SUPER friendly and... See full review

  • cyclechick
  • Feb 5, 2014
Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurants

Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades.

Highlights
  • Art Deco jewel on Washington Avenue
  • Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge
Rooms

The lines and sleek furniture in each room complement the modern amenities featured in the room. Included in the room stay are a personal safe and Wi-Fi access.

Features

Proximity to South Beach clubs, restaurants and bars add to the appeal of this Washington Avenue hotel. However, guests don't need to leave the hotel for food and pampering. Patrons can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge on site.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Jungle Island
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Printing, copying and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Daily resort fee is $15 USD plus tax, inclusive of beach towel use and Wi-Fi access in the lobby and rooms.
  • Valet parking fee is $32 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7806 -80.1329
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Fl
Nearby airports
Miami ( MIA ) and Fort Lauderdale ( FLL ) International Airport
Area description
Two blocks from the sparkling beaches in the heart of the Art Deco District of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Astor Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Guest room with one queen bed. This deluxe room is our largest standard room offering 300 square feet and has a view overlooking either our garden courtyard or a city view, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe and high-speed wireless Internet access. The well appointed marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.
One Bedroom Suite
The spacious one bedroom suite is 460 square feet and has one king bed, a twin sofa sleeper and a separate living room. This suite is ideal for the business traveler in need of a separate room for meetings. All one bedroom suites have a courtyard or city view, fully stocked minibar, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe, high-speed wireless Internet access, web-TV and an additional TV in the bedroom. The oversized marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room seats twenty guests. Additional meeting space for up to 120 guests available at the Wolfsonian Museum located across the street.

Dining

Astor Kitchen and Lounge
American Cuisine. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 242
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, Virginia
May 3, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The room is spacious and comfortable. I liked that magazines and wine glasses were perovided - it gave a special touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Staff member suggested the restaurant next door. An excellent suggestion. The food was fabulous and the Mojitos superb!

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PR
Aug 18, 2010

Great getaway

We had a great time in Miami. The hotel was a great location to go shopping and dinning. Nightlife was great! I think the hotel should improve their breakfast offer because by including it with room fare didn't mean that it had to be that poor! It was just coffee and toast!!! I went to another hotel on our previous vacations and we had fruit, oatmeal, cereal, coffee, juice. I think Astor Hotel should improve this service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annamariam
Washington dc
Nov 30, 2013

Very nice hotel close to the beach

My mother and I stayed at the Astor (this was the second time we stayed at this hotel). As the first time, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is really close to the beach. The rooms are spacious. The staff are very nice and ready to help. We recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rensto
Ontario, Canada
Jul 21, 2009

Great location, chic hotel, great price!

This hotel was in a great location - steps away from Ocean Avenue and the beach, but far enough away that there wasn't any noise. The hotel room was clean - not spotless, but which hotel room ever is? The bed, bedding, and pillows were very comfortable. We were travelling with an infant, and the room was perfect for us. It is not a super luxurious hotel, but for the price, it was a great deal! We chose not to use the valet parking (a $28 per day charge) but rather to park at the parking meter ($1.25 per hour, free between midnight and 9AM), which worked out really well because we arrived at 6PM, and left the parking spot the next day at 11AM. If you are planning on staying longer, the valet parking might be worth it. The $10 resort fee is mandatory, but covers the cost of 2 chairs and an umbrella at the beach. We went to the beach on checkout day, and were able to use this - it was well worth it! One of the frustrating parts is that, when we left in the morning, we were informed that there was a contintental breakfast. No one had told us about this when we checked in, and by the time we found out about it, there was nothing left. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, clean, and comfortable place in a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rensto
Ontario, Canada
Jul 21, 2009

Great location, chic hotel, great price!

This hotel was in a great location - steps away from Ocean Avenue and the beach, but far enough away that there wasn't any noise. The hotel room was clean - not spotless, but which hotel room ever is? The bed, bedding, and pillows were very comfortable. We were travelling with an infant, and the room was perfect for us. It is not a super luxurious hotel, but for the price, it was a great deal! We chose not to use the valet parking (a $28 per day charge) but rather to park at the parking meter ($1.25 per hour, free between midnight and 9AM), which worked out really well because we arrived at 6PM, and left the parking spot the next day at 11AM. If you are planning on staying longer, the valet parking might be worth it. The $10 resort fee is mandatory, but covers the cost of 2 chairs and an umbrella at the beach. We went to the beach on checkout day, and were able to use this - it was well worth it! One of the frustrating parts is that, when we left in the morning, we were informed that there was a contintental breakfast. No one had told us about this when we checked in, and by the time we found out about it, there was nothing left. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, clean, and comfortable place in a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, Virginia
May 3, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The room is spacious and comfortable. I liked that magazines and wine glasses were perovided - it gave a special touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Staff member suggested the restaurant next door. An excellent suggestion. The food was fabulous and the Mojitos superb!

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PR
Aug 18, 2010

Great getaway

We had a great time in Miami. The hotel was a great location to go shopping and dinning. Nightlife was great! I think the hotel should improve their breakfast offer because by including it with room fare didn't mean that it had to be that poor! It was just coffee and toast!!! I went to another hotel on our previous vacations and we had fruit, oatmeal, cereal, coffee, juice. I think Astor Hotel should improve this service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MJ123
New Jersey
Oct 3, 2012

ok hotel. I will not stay again.

decent hotel for maybe youngsters, singles. Families or couples who are looking for good hotel...this is not for you.. corridor and rooms had some weird smell...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ali Arash Ramina
Los angeles
Apr 3, 2013

Do not do it

They charged me 15$ per day for internet and towel but there was not internet access in the room and the towels were very old. Not enjoyable. Some staff kind of rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Back to menu Return to top