$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Astor Hotel

4 stars
956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Couldn't ask for a better hotel!

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was literally 3 blocks from the beach.... See full review

  • Gina baio
  • Feb 12, 2014
One of the BEST Hotels!

This was one of the best stays I have ever had at a hotel! The staff was SUPER friendly and... See full review

  • cyclechick
  • Feb 5, 2014
Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurants

Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades.

Highlights
  • Art Deco jewel on Washington Avenue
  • Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge
Rooms

The lines and sleek furniture in each room complement the modern amenities featured in the room. Included in the room stay are a personal safe and Wi-Fi access.

Features

Proximity to South Beach clubs, restaurants and bars add to the appeal of this Washington Avenue hotel. However, guests don't need to leave the hotel for food and pampering. Patrons can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge on site.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Jungle Island
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Printing, copying and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Daily resort fee is $15 USD plus tax, inclusive of beach towel use and Wi-Fi access in the lobby and rooms.
  • Valet parking fee is $32 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7806 -80.1329
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Fl
Nearby airports
Miami ( MIA ) and Fort Lauderdale ( FLL ) International Airport
Area description
Two blocks from the sparkling beaches in the heart of the Art Deco District of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Astor Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Guest room with one queen bed. This deluxe room is our largest standard room offering 300 square feet and has a view overlooking either our garden courtyard or a city view, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe and high-speed wireless Internet access. The well appointed marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.
One Bedroom Suite
The spacious one bedroom suite is 460 square feet and has one king bed, a twin sofa sleeper and a separate living room. This suite is ideal for the business traveler in need of a separate room for meetings. All one bedroom suites have a courtyard or city view, fully stocked minibar, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe, high-speed wireless Internet access, web-TV and an additional TV in the bedroom. The oversized marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room seats twenty guests. Additional meeting space for up to 120 guests available at the Wolfsonian Museum located across the street.

Dining

Astor Kitchen and Lounge
American Cuisine. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mixes work and fun
Brazil
Jun 3, 2010

Astor Stay

The hotel is AWESOME! Great location, truly wonderful staff, great entertainment! My only drawback was having to work on a party weekend, I could hear EVERYTHING (wood floors), and got little sleep. But If I didn't have to get up early, trust me, I would've been PARTY-ing with everyone else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The front desk staff is fully aware of important destinations. Be it work or fun related. The in-house entertainment is top of the line! :)

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Slovakia
Jul 31, 2011

Nice and pleasant stay

We went there for extended weekend. Hotel has very good location, just 5 minutes off the beach and it is quite close to the "party" area. Rooms were clean, hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Only thing what we've missed there was refrigerator..especially in summer time, ref is necessity..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paco G
Mexico City
Apr 1, 2014

Good Location, Clean and Friendly Staff

The hotel is not like other South Beach hotels that just get an old building remodeled. The Astor has new rooms, with 40% more space than other SOBE hotels. Friendly staff, the lobby was very noisy, but it was during Miami Music Week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nexxt Cafe on Lincoln Rd. Big portions, good taste, average prices.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uhdonna
Sydney, Australia
Jun 15, 2010

Chic boutique hotel

Despite the late check-in (reception wouldn't budge due to the May long-weekend) the room we were given was clean and well-maintained. Our only issue with the room was the leaky, shower faucet which we managed to tweak enough so that it would quit dripping. The location is fantastic: smack in the middle of shopping and two roads down from Ocean Drive, yet far enough from the hustle and bustle to be able to get a good night's sleep. Reception was overall very helpful (one of the guys let me print something from his computer!) and our 4 nights were pleasant and full of sun...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother with the fancy restaurants along Ocean Drive - there's a great pizza joint across the street (I forget the name but you can't miss it!) with massive pizza slices for a bargain price!

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IUgirl
Denver
Jan 24, 2013

Great Value!

I would absolutely stay here again! The staff was incredible, being super helpful and nice. The rooms were clean and spacious. There isn't much to the rooms, but since you are 2 blocks from the beach, you don't tend to spend much time in your room. Lincoln Rd. & other great restaurants and shopping are all walking distance, however a bus stop will take you down the south beach strip for 25cents. Worth every cent and I didn't pay much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ffldsteve
Connecticut
Dec 3, 2012

Great Weekend Trip

The staff could not have been friendlier and more accomodating. They refered to me by name every time I entered the hotel. The in-hotel resturant had just opened up the previous Tuesday and was delicious (enough so that our co-diner was Ivana Trump). If you are looking for a simple, clean hotel then this is a great spot. Very well located and reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY'er in Miami
NYC
Jan 26, 2010

Lovely art deco in great location

The hotel is beautiful and charming, and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. This was my second stay in South Beach, and the location was perfect for the price. My main complaint is the hidden (and mandatory) resort fee. Prior to making my reservation, I didn't see anything about this. It might have been there, but I certainly didn't notice it. For $15 per day, we were supposed to get continental breakfast, beach towels and chairs, and free wireless. Continental breakfast was a joke. A few muffins, coffee, and overripe bananas don't constitute breakfast in my mind. Plus, the breakfast server was unbelievably unhelpful. The beach chairs smelled as well. If the hotel is hard up for cash, just roll this into the room rate rather than call this poor services to my attention with an added fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uhdonna
Sydney, Australia
Jun 15, 2010

Chic boutique hotel

Despite the late check-in (reception wouldn't budge due to the May long-weekend) the room we were given was clean and well-maintained. Our only issue with the room was the leaky, shower faucet which we managed to tweak enough so that it would quit dripping. The location is fantastic: smack in the middle of shopping and two roads down from Ocean Drive, yet far enough from the hustle and bustle to be able to get a good night's sleep. Reception was overall very helpful (one of the guys let me print something from his computer!) and our 4 nights were pleasant and full of sun...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother with the fancy restaurants along Ocean Drive - there's a great pizza joint across the street (I forget the name but you can't miss it!) with massive pizza slices for a bargain price!

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
State Fair Travelers
Duluth, MN
Mar 9, 2012

Fun In South Beach

Easy check-in. We had a great room- but unfortunately it was very hot out and our air conditioning didin't work- we had to switch rooms- 2nd room not as cool as the corner delux room- they wouldn't do anything for us either upon request. Otherwise- the reception folks were very helpful- told us where to go eat, parking tips, and helped us print out info for our cruise. Did like the Astor- A little away from the noisy area- which we liked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob and denise from CT
Hartford, CT
Feb 2, 2010

great location great service great price

Great place, excellent service, very friendly staff, wish we could have stayed longer, we would definately come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top