$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

The Astor Hotel

4 stars
956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Couldn't ask for a better hotel!

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was literally 3 blocks from the beach.... See full review

  • Gina baio
  • Feb 12, 2014
One of the BEST Hotels!

This was one of the best stays I have ever had at a hotel! The staff was SUPER friendly and... See full review

  • cyclechick
  • Feb 5, 2014
Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurants

Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades.

Highlights
  • Art Deco jewel on Washington Avenue
  • Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge
Rooms

The lines and sleek furniture in each room complement the modern amenities featured in the room. Included in the room stay are a personal safe and Wi-Fi access.

Features

Proximity to South Beach clubs, restaurants and bars add to the appeal of this Washington Avenue hotel. However, guests don't need to leave the hotel for food and pampering. Patrons can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge on site.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Jungle Island
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Printing, copying and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Daily resort fee is $15 USD plus tax, inclusive of beach towel use and Wi-Fi access in the lobby and rooms.
  • Valet parking fee is $32 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Astor Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Guest room with one queen bed. This deluxe room is our largest standard room offering 300 square feet and has a view overlooking either our garden courtyard or a city view, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe and high-speed wireless Internet access. The well appointed marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.
One Bedroom Suite
The spacious one bedroom suite is 460 square feet and has one king bed, a twin sofa sleeper and a separate living room. This suite is ideal for the business traveler in need of a separate room for meetings. All one bedroom suites have a courtyard or city view, fully stocked minibar, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe, high-speed wireless Internet access, web-TV and an additional TV in the bedroom. The oversized marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7806 -80.1329
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Fl
Nearby airports
Miami ( MIA ) and Fort Lauderdale ( FLL ) International Airport
Area description
Two blocks from the sparkling beaches in the heart of the Art Deco District of South Beach.

Dining

Astor Kitchen and Lounge
American Cuisine. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room seats twenty guests. Additional meeting space for up to 120 guests available at the Wolfsonian Museum located across the street.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DIY travellor
Shanghai, China
May 18, 2010

Disappointed

The hotel doesn't have parking area. You have to find a parking place by your own. When I checked in, there was a sales person at reception desk trying to sell an excursion to me. I told him that I need to board on a cruise latest by 2:30pm on the next day. He promised me that I have plenty of time to join his trip and can board on the cruise on time. I didn't want to risk my cruise trip so I didn't join his trip. But afterwards when I got more location idea about Miami, I knew that he was purely cheating me. The hotel room is very small. I found a hair on the basin. I can hear the TV noise from other rooms. The reception says that there is free internet access in the room. But the wireless signal in the room is so low that I can't connect to the rounte at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EJSP
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Served its purpose, but I won't go back

Its a good location, but not much else was good. The walls are paper thin and they put down wood flooring everywhere with no carpeting so noise travels extremely well. I stayed on the first floor in the hallway off the lobby and the noise made it feel like I was sleeping in the lobby. There was also quite a bit of noise from people walking in the upstairs rooms. Fortunately, the restaurant/bar was closed for rennovations. The a/c was also broken...wouldn't shut off and cooled the room to 58 degrees. The staff fix for that was to turn it off completely. Happily, the weather was nice enough, but sadly housekeeping turned it back on. The desk person upgraded someone "just to be nice" while I was waiting, but no such offer was made to me despite the room issues. The shower dripped constantly (more annoying noise) and the wall had a big spot that was either painted a different color or didn't get painted (cosmetic, I know, but just added to the overall "ick" of the place). I am very glad my stay was relatively short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Montengero
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 3, 2013

Extra bed

The staff has promised us an extra bed and it never arrived. I paid for a room to fit three people but it was only one king size bed, on my reservation it stated that it will have a sofa or an extra bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

use the shuttle to airport and from airport, its free.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal, quebec
Apr 22, 2009

review of astor hotel

i was visiting a customer. The internet never worked after repeated repair and changing rooms. No parking. My car was towed away when I parked close to the hotel in the mid-night. Poor value for a high price. Totally different from its web page.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MMIS Analyst
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Nov 5, 2012

Missled Information, Poorly Runned Hotel

When I walked in the door, I was told I had to pay-cash for Vallet Parking, that it was a seperate company and after asking for a reciept I was told it was to complicated of an issue for the parking manager. So I insisted on having the parking billed to my room, I was told that it was up to the boss, so the gentlemen behind the counter who asked for cash called his boss for permission. In addition to this I was asked to have my credit card photo-copied on the Hotel contract, I refused for privacy reasons, and I was told that Management would be stopping me during the week to make sure I followed their policy. The next morning, I had asked the front desk about paying cash for parking, and I was told that it's standard policy to add that charge to the room, and that she didn't understand why I was told that it had to be paid seperate. I feel from the first moment I walked in the door I was missled, and in closing for $28 dollars a day for parking it was not worth it. The parking service was below standard, and it took 10 to 15 minutes to get the car opon request. Since I returned to AZ I received a call from CITI fruad department saying my credit card had been copied and a charge was made for $129 to Wallgreens. I wonder if the photo copying of credit cards could have led to this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rienru
Houston, TX
May 28, 2014

Bed Horrible

Suffered from terrible back and neck pain all through my stay at this hotel after sleeping on their mattress. Complained to staff about it in hope for a change in their bed or room or something. I was promised that a rollaway bed would be brought to my room, but they never provided it until I left! I am still hurting from the back pain. I will not return to this hotel. It was a very uncomfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DiverDennis
Bay Area,CA
Mar 29, 2010

Why you shouldn't trust reviews...

This was our first time in Miami and having read all the online reviews about where to stay (South Beach) and hotel type (Art-deco boutique); I picked this hotel out of 100 or so similar sounding ones for our reservation. I think having seen way too movies about Miami, my expectations were way too high and unfortunately, Miami and its people didn't waste a single opportunity to disappoint, underwhelm and outright p$!# me off from the first moment at the airport to the last. I will however try to limit my review to our adventures at this particular hotel. The first few moments I had pulled over in front of the hotel also set the tone for the rest of our stay. There was no valet at the front and after 10 minutes of waiting double-parked on a major street, a guy came up and after asking how long we would stay (3 days), immediately demanded $84 in cash for the valet service. The way he came up and rushed us would make you think it was a mugging and after almost 10 hours of flight, I somehow had the presence of mind to pay him for a single day and get done with it. On to the front desk, we were greeted by the great news that check-ins were after 4pm. Yes, 4pm but the guy said he'd try to find us something. He did find us a room at the back of the hotel, near the fire-escape stairs. That might actually have turned out to be the best thing that happened because later on we'd find that it was the only room with neighbors on one side. As for the rooms; the room could be considered OK in size but it has extremely cheap looking wood floors (no carpets or anything like that), a bare minimum queen bed, a small armchair we couldn't dare sit because of the variety and color of the spots on it, a very small table and a bathroom with a shower that would flood the rest of the bathroom because there was no real shower door or curtain. Our room also came with bonus 6-to-10-inch holes in the walls that looked like furniture had tried to go thru them. The furniture really didn't have a hard time because the walls are literally paper thin and we got to experience that during our stay. Now talking about walls, some real genius also came up with the idea that a hotel room in South Beach really needed a stereo/CD system because there wasn't enough ambient music coming from the 100s of clubs and discos and nothing would be better than a combination of non-existent walls, banging stereos and 24-hour drunken guests. With this, we got to listen to the never ending wrestling match upstairs, the Latin music coming from the next room and the very competitive hip-hop from somewhere else in the hotel. We could also hear anyone talking in any room or corridor. After the first day, I didn't even bother calling the front desk because they didn't, couldn't or wouldn't do anything and really didn't care anyhow. This brings us to the hotel staff. I'd already talked about the great valet parking, which apparently is not a part of the hotel although they are right in front and use jackets and logos of the hotel but the hotel actually doesn't take any responsibility for their actions. The way they work would look like street mugging followed by grand theft auto in many parts of the world. They only accept cash, take your car somewhere else and have a habit of taking up to 40 minutes to bring your car back, which again begs the question about where they take your car. On top of it, they are completely unnecessary because there is a public parking lot right next to the hotel (and many other locations within 2 blocks) that most of the time has parking available. In short, do not use the valet for any reason at all. The front desk is mostly clueless about most of the stuff going on in the hotel. The floor we were on had at one point 5 rooms playing music at maximum volume and 2 fights in the middle of the night and nobody bothered to show up. They also charge you $15 for giving you a maximum of 2 towels per day and collapsible chairs that you can take to the beach. ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not use the valet parking. There is a public parking lot right next to the hotel.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oohlaboop
Philly
Apr 28, 2013

Poor Quality

I would not recommend this hotel. There was used lotion in our bathroom when we arrived. The room was poorly lit. The bed mattresses were hard. The sink was clogged. There was no door service. There was no one to help with bags. The receptionist refused to call us a cab to take us to the club because our destination wasn't far enough. She recommended we take the bus. Really???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Astor Sucks
Boston, MA
Mar 3, 2010

disapointing

I had stayed at this hotel several years ago and it was superb, shame it has gone downhill. The staff was not helpful at all and they didn't care about anything except yapping on the phone. There was no bellman on site to help with the bags and we had to carry them around on our own. Every service in the Hotel required payment on the spot including the valet, restaurant and the staff charged a resort fee for things we weren't made aware were available. The rooms and bathrooms had peeling paint, noisy because of the staff slamming doors, the bath tiles were broken and fell off the shower. No Minibar as stated, no wifi (was broken) and staff didn't care about the stay. I would not stay there again if my life depended on it and if they paid me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay elsewhere

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ali Arash Ramina
Los angeles
Apr 3, 2013

Do not do it

They charged me 15$ per day for internet and towel but there was not internet access in the room and the towels were very old. Not enjoyable. Some staff kind of rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Back to menu Return to top