$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

The Astor Hotel

4 stars
956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Couldn't ask for a better hotel!

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was literally 3 blocks from the beach.... See full review

  • Gina baio
  • Feb 12, 2014
One of the BEST Hotels!

This was one of the best stays I have ever had at a hotel! The staff was SUPER friendly and... See full review

  • cyclechick
  • Feb 5, 2014
Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurants

Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades.

Highlights
  • Art Deco jewel on Washington Avenue
  • Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge
Rooms

The lines and sleek furniture in each room complement the modern amenities featured in the room. Included in the room stay are a personal safe and Wi-Fi access.

Features

Proximity to South Beach clubs, restaurants and bars add to the appeal of this Washington Avenue hotel. However, guests don't need to leave the hotel for food and pampering. Patrons can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge on site.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Jungle Island
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Printing, copying and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Daily resort fee is $15 USD plus tax, inclusive of beach towel use and Wi-Fi access in the lobby and rooms.
  • Valet parking fee is $32 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7806 -80.1329
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Fl
Nearby airports
Miami ( MIA ) and Fort Lauderdale ( FLL ) International Airport
Area description
Two blocks from the sparkling beaches in the heart of the Art Deco District of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Astor Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Guest room with one queen bed. This deluxe room is our largest standard room offering 300 square feet and has a view overlooking either our garden courtyard or a city view, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe and high-speed wireless Internet access. The well appointed marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.
One Bedroom Suite
The spacious one bedroom suite is 460 square feet and has one king bed, a twin sofa sleeper and a separate living room. This suite is ideal for the business traveler in need of a separate room for meetings. All one bedroom suites have a courtyard or city view, fully stocked minibar, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe, high-speed wireless Internet access, web-TV and an additional TV in the bedroom. The oversized marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Astor Kitchen and Lounge
American Cuisine. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room seats twenty guests. Additional meeting space for up to 120 guests available at the Wolfsonian Museum located across the street.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maney
Sterling, CO
Nov 13, 2012

Great Location

I loved that Hotel Astor was close to everything (ie. nightclubs, shopping, Ocean Dr., and restaurants). I disliked my room location. I stayed on 1st floor near the elevator and was driven crazy from the noise of it and the wooden floors. I had a problem w/ a running toilet and they fixed it with in 15 mins. The room was beautiful and the bed was awesome! Some of the info they had on their website was incorrect. FREE Continental Breakfast & FREE Drinks from 7-8pm Every Night and they don't honor it at their own hotel. They send you to other hotels for those deals. All-n-all the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MMIS Analyst
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Nov 5, 2012

Missled Information, Poorly Runned Hotel

When I walked in the door, I was told I had to pay-cash for Vallet Parking, that it was a seperate company and after asking for a reciept I was told it was to complicated of an issue for the parking manager. So I insisted on having the parking billed to my room, I was told that it was up to the boss, so the gentlemen behind the counter who asked for cash called his boss for permission. In addition to this I was asked to have my credit card photo-copied on the Hotel contract, I refused for privacy reasons, and I was told that Management would be stopping me during the week to make sure I followed their policy. The next morning, I had asked the front desk about paying cash for parking, and I was told that it's standard policy to add that charge to the room, and that she didn't understand why I was told that it had to be paid seperate. I feel from the first moment I walked in the door I was missled, and in closing for $28 dollars a day for parking it was not worth it. The parking service was below standard, and it took 10 to 15 minutes to get the car opon request. Since I returned to AZ I received a call from CITI fruad department saying my credit card had been copied and a charge was made for $129 to Wallgreens. I wonder if the photo copying of credit cards could have led to this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mpcampa
Las Vegas
Oct 31, 2012

Great location

Great service, clean, awesome location. Close to de beach and many great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great small restaurants at walking distance.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IrmaP
San Francisco, CA
Oct 22, 2012

A Quick Fall Getaway

We had a great stay at the Astor Hotel. The staff was professional, very helpful and courteous. We arrived very late and we were given a room on the bottom floor, but we could not open our curtains, so we requested a room upstairs on the 3rd. We were given an up-grade at no extra charge and the room was beautiful, spacious and clean. We would return to the Astor Hotel because they made us feel at home! Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Got good advise on very good Cuban dinning at Habana 1951, about 6 blocks from Hotel on Washington Blvd.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Bum
Toronto, Ontario
Oct 16, 2012

I love this Hotel

I have stayed here twice, and I will stay there again if it is affordable. The lady at the front desk is a little grumpy and they don't offer much except for free beach towels and wifi. but for the location, spacious room/bathroom and cleanliness, I can deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Time traveler 465
California
Oct 3, 2012

Broken down

Everything at this hotel seems to be broken. My phone, the elevator, the shower, no water pressure. The location is good but service is poor. I wasted my money with the valet service. Many times waiting between 30 to 45 minutes to pick up and even drop off my car. This place needs some renovations and hospitality training> The upside is that the location is good, otherwise I would have been even more disillusioned with its advertisements. I would give it 2.5 to 3 stars at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MJ123
New Jersey
Oct 3, 2012

ok hotel. I will not stay again.

decent hotel for maybe youngsters, singles. Families or couples who are looking for good hotel...this is not for you.. corridor and rooms had some weird smell...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gran jefe
Business
GUatemala
Sep 28, 2012

Good for one night

The furmiture in rooms are poor. No space for clothes, a little table, samll TV, light is not enough. Staff is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quinian
ArubA
Sep 27, 2012

good location

We had quite some trouble with the rooms appointed to us. We booked a King suite with city view. When we checked in we got a temporary suite at the back of the hallway near the staircase, as all the other rooms were already occupied. Air conditioning wasn't working properly. So we had to downgrade for that night to a standard room (again near staircase). This room also had its malfunctions: dripping bathroom sink and broken ventilation fan in bathroom. Next day we got a suite, but again the air conditioning wasn't working properly. We finally changed to another suite where everything was well. We had a nice view and spacious suite. Hotel itself is clean and the rooms are comfortable. Great location! Only negative aspect was thus our trouble getting a good room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cteeny
New York, New York
Sep 26, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Price, Great Location

Our room was so cute, clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and kind. We couldnt have asked for a better place for a weekend away in South Beach. It was a quick walk to the beach and only several minutes to other major shopping/dining areas .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top