$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

The Astor Hotel

4 stars
956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Couldn't ask for a better hotel!

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was literally 3 blocks from the beach.... See full review

  • Gina baio
  • Feb 12, 2014
One of the BEST Hotels!

This was one of the best stays I have ever had at a hotel! The staff was SUPER friendly and... See full review

  • cyclechick
  • Feb 5, 2014
Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurants

Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades.

Highlights
  • Art Deco jewel on Washington Avenue
  • Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge
Rooms

The lines and sleek furniture in each room complement the modern amenities featured in the room. Included in the room stay are a personal safe and Wi-Fi access.

Features

Proximity to South Beach clubs, restaurants and bars add to the appeal of this Washington Avenue hotel. However, guests don't need to leave the hotel for food and pampering. Patrons can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge on site.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Jungle Island
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Printing, copying and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Daily resort fee is $15 USD plus tax, inclusive of beach towel use and Wi-Fi access in the lobby and rooms.
  • Valet parking fee is $32 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7806 -80.1329
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Fl
Nearby airports
Miami ( MIA ) and Fort Lauderdale ( FLL ) International Airport
Area description
Two blocks from the sparkling beaches in the heart of the Art Deco District of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Astor Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Guest room with one queen bed. This deluxe room is our largest standard room offering 300 square feet and has a view overlooking either our garden courtyard or a city view, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe and high-speed wireless Internet access. The well appointed marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.
One Bedroom Suite
The spacious one bedroom suite is 460 square feet and has one king bed, a twin sofa sleeper and a separate living room. This suite is ideal for the business traveler in need of a separate room for meetings. All one bedroom suites have a courtyard or city view, fully stocked minibar, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe, high-speed wireless Internet access, web-TV and an additional TV in the bedroom. The oversized marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room seats twenty guests. Additional meeting space for up to 120 guests available at the Wolfsonian Museum located across the street.

Dining

Astor Kitchen and Lounge
American Cuisine. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Traveler72
NYC, New York
Dec 17, 2013

An Awesome Choice in SOBE

The staff is really friendly and efficient. Rooms are super clean, large, and well-designed. The only thing that could be improved are the pillows which I found to be a bit large. Other than that the stay was perfect and quite amazing for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mat30
Montreal, Canada
Dec 6, 2013

Disappointing overall

Very disapppointing stay for the following reasons: 1) Booked a King bed but got 2 double beds. We were basically told 'tough luck'. 2) Room service is done between 3-4pm. Forget about those afternoon naps. Why? They take care of check-outs, customers leaving, before their own customers 3) We woke up at 8am on a Sunday morming because of some door repairs next door. Called the front desk and spoke with a very arrogant staff member who couldn't get up his chair to come and tell the repair guy to stop his work. 4) No hot water at 4am after the bars. Great location but poor service overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pizza place in the area!

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annamariam
Washington dc
Nov 30, 2013

Very nice hotel close to the beach

My mother and I stayed at the Astor (this was the second time we stayed at this hotel). As the first time, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is really close to the beach. The rooms are spacious. The staff are very nice and ready to help. We recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
True WW Traveler
California
Nov 22, 2013

Good hotel

The hotel is in good location in the Art Deco South Miami section. The staff are very helpful and offer very courtesy services. Room is clean and neat thanks to housekeeping staff. Good daily breakfast. The free shuttle to/from hotel is a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just 2 short blocks to beach, entertainment, dining, nightlife.

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California Gal
California
Nov 22, 2013

Hotel Astor Is The Place To Stay

A few weeks ago, I stayed at the Hotel Astor with my husband and neighbors and we all were so pleased we are coming back for Art Basel and staying at the Hotel Astor. I hope Maria M. is at the front desk. She's the best! The location is to die for. The Hotel Astor is near it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EdwardsE
Florida Keys
Nov 21, 2013

Close to beach and shopping

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had a nice continental breakfast complimentary. We had trouble with the TV and it was fixed promptly. We liked the king size bed. We were close to the beach and the bars and restaurants on Ocean Drive. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danielle Loves New Haven
New Jersey
Nov 19, 2013

Felt Like I Got the "Discount Room"

The staff were friendly the place was clean. I was on the first floor and didn't find it too loud. The bed was average but comfortable. The location was great for my needs. However, there was a GIANT crack in the bathroom mirror and the sink and shower faucet did not stop running (and not just a little drip) the entire 4 days I was there and sometimes there was even a screeching noise...this also affected the hot water at times. The microwave didn't work. The towels were a bit rough and thin, but that's not the biggest deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smsudave
Weldon Spring, MO
Nov 8, 2013

South Beach

This hotel is great for the value. There is no restaurant or bar but you can save money by staying here. Rooms are larger than normal South Beach hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Clevelander is a great party atmosphere

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bluefish1
NYC
Oct 23, 2013

The great experience!

We've spent 7 nights in this really nice hotel - everything was great, the service, the location, the friendly staff. The only thing that wasn't fully satisfying was the fact we couldn't use the garden because they were renovating it while we were there. But it has to be done sometimes, right? :-) Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Rustica

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerz Gurlz
New Jersey
Oct 17, 2013

Great girls getaway

The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to find info and events for us to attend. They upgraded our room free of charge. I would def stay here again, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top