$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

The Astor Hotel

4 stars
956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Couldn't ask for a better hotel!

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was literally 3 blocks from the beach.... See full review

  • Gina baio
  • Feb 12, 2014
One of the BEST Hotels!

This was one of the best stays I have ever had at a hotel! The staff was SUPER friendly and... See full review

  • cyclechick
  • Feb 5, 2014
Art Deco boutique hotel near South Beach clubs, shops and restaurants

Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. The 42-room hotel is more minimalist than its flashier competitors and has been restored to its initial splendor. The expansive lobby has a tiled floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. Inside, rooms favor the less-is-more approach. Expect lots of white -- Miami Beach's signature color --sleek furniture and Roman shades.

Highlights
  • Art Deco jewel on Washington Avenue
  • Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge
Rooms

The lines and sleek furniture in each room complement the modern amenities featured in the room. Included in the room stay are a personal safe and Wi-Fi access.

Features

Proximity to South Beach clubs, restaurants and bars add to the appeal of this Washington Avenue hotel. However, guests don't need to leave the hotel for food and pampering. Patrons can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Astor Kitchen & Lounge on site.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Jungle Island
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Printing, copying and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Daily resort fee is $15 USD plus tax, inclusive of beach towel use and Wi-Fi access in the lobby and rooms.
  • Valet parking fee is $32 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7806 -80.1329
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Fl
Nearby airports
Miami ( MIA ) and Fort Lauderdale ( FLL ) International Airport
Area description
Two blocks from the sparkling beaches in the heart of the Art Deco District of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Astor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Astor Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Guest room with one queen bed. This deluxe room is our largest standard room offering 300 square feet and has a view overlooking either our garden courtyard or a city view, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe and high-speed wireless Internet access. The well appointed marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.
One Bedroom Suite
The spacious one bedroom suite is 460 square feet and has one king bed, a twin sofa sleeper and a separate living room. This suite is ideal for the business traveler in need of a separate room for meetings. All one bedroom suites have a courtyard or city view, fully stocked minibar, two bathrobes, two phone lines, dataport, bathroom phone, personal safe, high-speed wireless Internet access, web-TV and an additional TV in the bedroom. The oversized marble bathroom has a large sink and a wall to wall mirror.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Room seats twenty guests. Additional meeting space for up to 120 guests available at the Wolfsonian Museum located across the street.

Dining

Astor Kitchen and Lounge
American Cuisine. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Astor Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carmel, IN
Jul 28, 2011

Did not live up to it advertisement

The room did not even resemble the pictures on it's website. It had a musty oder to it and the door did not even lock.A women in the hall told us the room was better than the one she was in. We told the management that we were not going to stay there and they finally put us in the managers suite, which was the room that was on the website. Would not book with them again, they only put us in the room because we were only there for the one night. Very disappointing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elizabethtown, KY
Jul 24, 2011

Ok but not great

We arrived earlier than expected and the staff accommodated us by letting us watch the World Cup game in their closed bar. Our room was ready an hour early and we were allowed in. Staff was very nice and friendly. Needed more mirrors in the room. The restaurant was closed indefinitely they said but was advertised as being open. Would have been nice to know that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most restaurants and bars were to the left. we went to the right....

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elizabethtown, KY
Jul 24, 2011

Ok but not great

We arrived earlier than expected and the staff accommodated us by letting us watch the World Cup game in their closed bar. Our room was ready an hour early and we were allowed in. Staff was very nice and friendly. Needed more mirrors in the room. The restaurant was closed indefinitely they said but was advertised as being open. Would have been nice to know that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most restaurants and bars were to the left. we went to the right....

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New york, NY
Apr 12, 2011

Hotel

It started out pretty nice when we were told our room has gotten upgraded. As we got to the room the central air was not working but fortunetly for us, we got upgraded again. Not one problem was given about the air. The hotel was decorated very nicely and the staff was very pleasent. Could not have asked for more especially for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Apr 11, 2011

DIsappointed!

The hotel is actually in a good location but they stuck us in a room by the stairwell claiming it was the quietest room they had. So, lucky us! We got to hear the door to the stair slamming all night! No sleep for us. In the morning we did complain only to hear the front desk comment to us they were aware of the problem??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Apr 11, 2011

DIsappointed!

The hotel is actually in a good location but they stuck us in a room by the stairwell claiming it was the quietest room they had. So, lucky us! We got to hear the door to the stair slamming all night! No sleep for us. In the morning we did complain only to hear the front desk comment to us they were aware of the problem??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
speedking
toronto, canada
Feb 1, 2011

The Astor Hotel in South Beach

We were there at the Astor for two nights before we embarked on our cruise. We booked the hotel via [...]and was expecting 3.5 star accommodation with free Wifi which everyone needs these days. when we got there, we were shocked that our room was in the stairwell (yes you need to walk through the regular hallway, through the exit into the stairwell, and thats where you would see our unit's door). Secondly the room was tiny and there was no wifi (obviously since the apartment is in the stairwell). The faucet handle fell off when i touched it, similarly all the light fixtures were literally falling off/or broken and the front door handle to the hotel is broken. The good part for us was when we went to complain about the room and that it was not what we would expect from a 3.5 star hotel, the manager promptly changed our room and it was much bigger and wifi worked - but we lost almost two hours of our precious vacation time during this commotion. They did not give me any hassles at all which was good. In my opinion, this hotel is a 3 star if you don't get the room in the stairwell, very clean, and can easily become 3.5 stars with a little attention to the maintaining of the fixtures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is located close to all the action of Southbeach including shopping, the beach and nightlife

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
speedking
toronto, canada
Feb 1, 2011

The Astor Hotel in South Beach

We were there at the Astor for two nights before we embarked on our cruise. We booked the hotel via [...]and was expecting 3.5 star accommodation with free Wifi which everyone needs these days. when we got there, we were shocked that our room was in the stairwell (yes you need to walk through the regular hallway, through the exit into the stairwell, and thats where you would see our unit's door). Secondly the room was tiny and there was no wifi (obviously since the apartment is in the stairwell). The faucet handle fell off when i touched it, similarly all the light fixtures were literally falling off/or broken and the front door handle to the hotel is broken. The good part for us was when we went to complain about the room and that it was not what we would expect from a 3.5 star hotel, the manager promptly changed our room and it was much bigger and wifi worked - but we lost almost two hours of our precious vacation time during this commotion. They did not give me any hassles at all which was good. In my opinion, this hotel is a 3 star if you don't get the room in the stairwell, very clean, and can easily become 3.5 stars with a little attention to the maintaining of the fixtures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is located close to all the action of Southbeach including shopping, the beach and nightlife

Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colombia
Jan 27, 2011

nice place to stay

The hotel is nice and central. The staff is very educated and forward coming, and the room was clean. Only things you should pay attention is, that the shuttle doesn't work on tuesdays and wednesdays (city buses go to the airport) and that the charge you an extra 15 USD for using the hotel amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Astor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rwvdb
Business
Miami Beach
Jan 14, 2011

Skip This one!

This at one time was a GREAT hotel! It has gone down hill fast- The place is in bad shape- The elevator does not work, the lobby computer did not work and the housekeeping staff left our room unlocked 2 times in a row due to the lack of the lock key device being broken- Beware there is a reason it is so affordable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel is in a great location near everything-

Back to menu Return to top