$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
125 reviews
Excellent hotel with great locaiton

South Seas is a excellent hotel in one of the best locations in Miami Beach. Room is clean and... See full review

  • ANAND N.
  • Jan 5, 2015
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
South Seas Hotel Complimentary Continental Breakfast/ WiFi and newspapers Heated Salt-Water Swimming Pool with poolside sunning areas Poolside cafe and full service restaurant / bar at Pilikia by the Pool Use of hammocks/chaise lounges/beach towels are Complimentary

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 125
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chilly Will 87
Business
Anaheim CA
Mar 26, 2014

South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide breakfast from 7-10 am, they even have large foam cups near the ice machine to make make ur own drinks. Rooms and hotel were very clean. Highly recomend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay near 17th and walk down to bars/clubs nears 7th and 8th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feeaustin
Business
austin,texas
Mar 21, 2014

funtrip

great location, just black away to lincoln road mall. bed is comfry. price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working at SOBE
Business
New Jersey
Feb 25, 2014

Convenient location!

Great location with beach access and lots of shopping. Older hotel with art deco charm. Very small bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxine's across the street - outside dining - good menu choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corporal Sherman
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 31, 2013

Fantastic Family getaway

This hotel is perfect for families, as there are more families who stayed here then couples and singles. First off, this is a beautiful hotel with an outstanding, professional staff. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bed is very comfortable. Secondly, if you need anything such as towels, washrags, or any toiletries, house keeping is at your door within seconds to deliver it to you. I stayed here October 24-28th and it was incredible. DISREGARD, the negative comments because there is nothing negatuve I have to say about the hotel or the room. It is located between 17th and 18th street on Collins ave. It is also within 6-7 blocks away from all of the fun(bars, nightclubs), and only 2 blocks away from the beach. I was hesitant to book this hotel with all of the negative reviews but I booked it anyway and was very shocked. My overall experience was perfect to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tyrese
Business
New York
May 6, 2013

Stay was amazing!!

The staff was wonderful and friendly. The food at the pool bar was great. I know its probably not a big deal to some people but the fact that the deep end of the pool was 8ft was wonderful for me. I get so tired of going to these resorts/hotels and the pool is only 5ft deep. I want a real pool not a kiddy pool! I will definitely recommend to my friends and I will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slovelace
Business
Virginia
Mar 2, 2013

Birthday getaway

My mother and I travelled to Miami for my 25th birthday. We were able to check in early and head straight to the beach! Staff was friendly, there was valet parking for about $25 a day(in and out), right on the beach and walking distance to many shops and bars. The room was average, but linens and bathroom were clean. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. The price and location were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 25, 2011

Quite nice!

I was pleasantly surprised overall with the hotel. paid $20 extra for "beach view" room, which overlooked pool. the hotel is not fancy, but very well run, great location, clean, well-furnished room with good light--not overly large, but big enough for one person, or two. nice bathroom, very helpful staff. Nice pool. had a slightly musty feel in the hallways, but not bad. They even delivered the Sunday NY Times at my request! Pretty good value for money--although I don't know how other hotels stack up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Michael's Genuine Food and drink--good restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Nov 13, 2010

enough

it had enough facility to relax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
b-ball man
Business
phila, pa,
Apr 23, 2009

shame i couldn`t stay longer

only complaint was that hotel only had valet parking so i had to give them 30 min. notice to retrieve vehichle. no mention of this when i booked trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2007

Nice Atmosphere

This was a very, very nice place. The pool, the access to the beach, the hotel restaurant, the included breakfast, the terrific location would have one believe that this is at least a 4 star hotel. The maid service was outstanding, and the room was immaculate. I did not have much interaction with the staff, but whenever I did, they were very friendly, and polite. I would absolutely stay here again. Lincoln Road is very close; there is a 24-hour Walgreen's in case you need anything, and lovely shops nearby. Ocean Drive is about 4 blocks down and one over for Starbucks and Haagen-Dazs, and the nightclubs are farther down than that. I loved that the back gate opened out onto the beach, and the hammock area was very relaxing. The variety here is excellent- you have Burger King and some informal, inexpensive restaurants right nearby, and some more expensive, upscale places, too, should you want that. I highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are inexpensive tours available, a city bus tour, a tour of the Everglades, Parrot Jungle. My favorite was an hour cruise that left from Bayside (which has a lovely mall), and shows the Port of Miami, plus some beautiful homes of famous people, built right along the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top