$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Nov 13, 2010

enough

it had enough facility to relax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Precise P
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 25, 2010

If your on a budget this is an option

I ordered this trip at the last minute so my budget was tight and not pre-planned. I believe I got a good price for the hotel so I didn't have high expectations. The room was decent but small. The hotel could be much better if they took care of the small details such as cleaning the lamps, windows, and fixing the toilet so it didn't make a loud noise when it flushed. The security guard was good but the front desk woman wasn't helpful. Overall the place was clean and when we came back to the room late I was able to sleep. Also the continental breakfast was decent. The beach was right behind the hotel which was great. Book this place if you are on a budget and want to get a decent location in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I liked jet skiing on the beach which you got 30 minutes for $80.00. It was great. Also we went on a bus and boat ride tour of south beach that was cool because we went to little Cuba where I bought a cigar and we got to see some nice locations.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oporto, Portugal
Aug 16, 2010

Hotel for students

When I arrived my room was checked in accidently for another person. So since I had a late arrival the reception called at 1h00 in the morning to the room which upsetted and worried the people. They gave me another room to solve the problem but when I left the wanted to charge me the costs that the other people had done during their stay but everything was resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Washington Avenue go have lunch or dinner at a low cost japanese restaurant called Hiro's Sushi Express. Its in front of Madonna's Club. The best pizza is Rustica Pizza on Licoln Road.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lounging Couple
Business
Ireland
Jul 13, 2010

Lovely but ageing beach-side hotel

We stayed at the South Seas for just a couple of nights. It has a beautiful and modern reception that smells wonderful. However, on entering the elevator it starts to show its age. The room was very clean and crisp but looked worn and outdated. The water-pressure in the shower wasn't great either. The breakfast was continental, but generous. The dining area has a lovely view of the pool. The pool has lovely surroundings and no shortage of towels. Beyond the pool are a few palms with hammocks hanging between them, this became our favourite part of the hotel - it's a treat in the evening when there's a light breeze from the sea! The beach is just past the pool, palms and a gate (which requires a key-card to get back in). The beach-chairs and the umbrellas are for hire at the beach. Don't make the mistake of assuming it's complimentary as we did! :) There's a very cheap shuttle running south from Washington Ave. It's a fast-ish and cheap way to get to Ocean Drive and the shops on the nearby Collins Ave. The cleaning staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it if you're not looking for anything too luxurious. PS: Stay away from outdoor Enso Restaurant on Lincoln Rd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The News Cafe on Ocean Drive was recommended in a travel guide book, and it didn't disappoint. The food is very reasonably priced, the staff is very friendly, and most importantly the food is delicious!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 11, 2010

Hotel

Was only one night it did not impress me for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GTerra
Business
Springfield, Ma
Apr 25, 2010

GT

We had stayed there last year and wanted to return because it was such a great hotel. Great staff and service. Rooms were extremely clean. Wonderful location, far enough away from the noise of Ocean Drive, but close enough to enjoy Ocean Drive and it's entertaniment. Will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, Mi.
Mar 15, 2010

Great getaway

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Great continental breakfast. Bar, pool, lounging area, beach, staff - all wonderful! Beds comfortable. Just wished they provided microwave/frig in rooms. Room itself was on the small size and was just a little noisy (thin walls). Great location for shopping,entertainment and MIA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Depending on your tastes, a variety of foods are available within short walking distance, fine dining or small cafes. I personally liked Sultans, a mediterranean cafe.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jan 12, 2010

olga andeeva

All I know Iwill newer ever go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marky68us
Business
Mulhouse, France
Jan 6, 2010

Beautiful hotel but....

Beautiful hotel with clean rooms;direct access to the beach, very close to Ocean drive and lincoln Rd... Unfortunately spoilt by a 24h bar across Collins Av playing loud music almost all night long (windows not soundproof, bathroom window not shutting tight), somewhat careless staff (front desk staff very laid back, housekeeping staff never saying good morning, valet parking staff nice but sloppy). Breakfast was far below standards. Such a pity that the service is not up to the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yuca and Balans restaurants on Lincoln Rd

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 5, 2010

No frills but nice and great location

The South Seas Hotel is a great place to stay. We found the hotel room was a little small, but it was clean and quiet. We liked the hotel's pool and hammock area, and beach access was convenient. The hotel is located in a quieter area of South Beach than we had previously stayed, and we found it a lot nicer because of that. Overall, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top