$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
183 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Precise P
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 25, 2010

If your on a budget this is an option

I ordered this trip at the last minute so my budget was tight and not pre-planned. I believe I got a good price for the hotel so I didn't have high expectations. The room was decent but small. The hotel could be much better if they took care of the small details such as cleaning the lamps, windows, and fixing the toilet so it didn't make a loud noise when it flushed. The security guard was good but the front desk woman wasn't helpful. Overall the place was clean and when we came back to the room late I was able to sleep. Also the continental breakfast was decent. The beach was right behind the hotel which was great. Book this place if you are on a budget and want to get a decent location in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I liked jet skiing on the beach which you got 30 minutes for $80.00. It was great. Also we went on a bus and boat ride tour of south beach that was cool because we went to little Cuba where I bought a cigar and we got to see some nice locations.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Precise P
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 25, 2010

If your on a budget this is an option

I ordered this trip at the last minute so my budget was tight and not pre-planned. I believe I got a good price for the hotel so I didn't have high expectations. The room was decent but small. The hotel could be much better if they took care of the small details such as cleaning the lamps, windows, and fixing the toilet so it didn't make a loud noise when it flushed. The security guard was good but the front desk woman wasn't helpful. Overall the place was clean and when we came back to the room late I was able to sleep. Also the continental breakfast was decent. The beach was right behind the hotel which was great. Book this place if you are on a budget and want to get a decent location in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I liked jet skiing on the beach which you got 30 minutes for $80.00. It was great. Also we went on a bus and boat ride tour of south beach that was cool because we went to little Cuba where I bought a cigar and we got to see some nice locations.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oporto, Portugal
Aug 16, 2010

Hotel for students

When I arrived my room was checked in accidently for another person. So since I had a late arrival the reception called at 1h00 in the morning to the room which upsetted and worried the people. They gave me another room to solve the problem but when I left the wanted to charge me the costs that the other people had done during their stay but everything was resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Washington Avenue go have lunch or dinner at a low cost japanese restaurant called Hiro's Sushi Express. Its in front of Madonna's Club. The best pizza is Rustica Pizza on Licoln Road.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oporto, Portugal
Aug 16, 2010

Hotel for students

When I arrived my room was checked in accidently for another person. So since I had a late arrival the reception called at 1h00 in the morning to the room which upsetted and worried the people. They gave me another room to solve the problem but when I left the wanted to charge me the costs that the other people had done during their stay but everything was resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Washington Avenue go have lunch or dinner at a low cost japanese restaurant called Hiro's Sushi Express. Its in front of Madonna's Club. The best pizza is Rustica Pizza on Licoln Road.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lounging Couple
Ireland
Jul 13, 2010

Lovely but ageing beach-side hotel

We stayed at the South Seas for just a couple of nights. It has a beautiful and modern reception that smells wonderful. However, on entering the elevator it starts to show its age. The room was very clean and crisp but looked worn and outdated. The water-pressure in the shower wasn't great either. The breakfast was continental, but generous. The dining area has a lovely view of the pool. The pool has lovely surroundings and no shortage of towels. Beyond the pool are a few palms with hammocks hanging between them, this became our favourite part of the hotel - it's a treat in the evening when there's a light breeze from the sea! The beach is just past the pool, palms and a gate (which requires a key-card to get back in). The beach-chairs and the umbrellas are for hire at the beach. Don't make the mistake of assuming it's complimentary as we did! :) There's a very cheap shuttle running south from Washington Ave. It's a fast-ish and cheap way to get to Ocean Drive and the shops on the nearby Collins Ave. The cleaning staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it if you're not looking for anything too luxurious. PS: Stay away from outdoor Enso Restaurant on Lincoln Rd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The News Cafe on Ocean Drive was recommended in a travel guide book, and it didn't disappoint. The food is very reasonably priced, the staff is very friendly, and most importantly the food is delicious!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lounging Couple
Ireland
Jul 13, 2010

Lovely but ageing beach-side hotel

We stayed at the South Seas for just a couple of nights. It has a beautiful and modern reception that smells wonderful. However, on entering the elevator it starts to show its age. The room was very clean and crisp but looked worn and outdated. The water-pressure in the shower wasn't great either. The breakfast was continental, but generous. The dining area has a lovely view of the pool. The pool has lovely surroundings and no shortage of towels. Beyond the pool are a few palms with hammocks hanging between them, this became our favourite part of the hotel - it's a treat in the evening when there's a light breeze from the sea! The beach is just past the pool, palms and a gate (which requires a key-card to get back in). The beach-chairs and the umbrellas are for hire at the beach. Don't make the mistake of assuming it's complimentary as we did! :) There's a very cheap shuttle running south from Washington Ave. It's a fast-ish and cheap way to get to Ocean Drive and the shops on the nearby Collins Ave. The cleaning staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it if you're not looking for anything too luxurious. PS: Stay away from outdoor Enso Restaurant on Lincoln Rd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The News Cafe on Ocean Drive was recommended in a travel guide book, and it didn't disappoint. The food is very reasonably priced, the staff is very friendly, and most importantly the food is delicious!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 11, 2010

Hotel

Was only one night it did not impress me for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 11, 2010

Hotel

Was only one night it did not impress me for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GTerra
Springfield, Ma
Apr 25, 2010

GT

We had stayed there last year and wanted to return because it was such a great hotel. Great staff and service. Rooms were extremely clean. Wonderful location, far enough away from the noise of Ocean Drive, but close enough to enjoy Ocean Drive and it's entertaniment. Will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GTerra
Springfield, Ma
Apr 25, 2010

GT

We had stayed there last year and wanted to return because it was such a great hotel. Great staff and service. Rooms were extremely clean. Wonderful location, far enough away from the noise of Ocean Drive, but close enough to enjoy Ocean Drive and it's entertaniment. Will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top