$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
125 reviews
Excellent hotel with great locaiton

South Seas is a excellent hotel in one of the best locations in Miami Beach. Room is clean and... See full review

  • ANAND N.
  • Jan 5, 2015
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
South Seas Hotel Complimentary Continental Breakfast/ WiFi and newspapers Heated Salt-Water Swimming Pool with poolside sunning areas Poolside cafe and full service restaurant / bar at Pilikia by the Pool Use of hammocks/chaise lounges/beach towels are Complimentary

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy Bez
Business
Michigan
Dec 31, 2011

Great location!

Wonderful! Great location! Nice pool area, hammocks were comfortable. Steps from the beach. Very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicka113
Business
London
Dec 4, 2011

What more could you want.

Great location with easy access to the beach, helpful and friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast is perfect to start your day with.. something so simple puts it a cut above similar hotels in the area. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molasse
Business
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great location and good place for relaxation

Very convenient hotel for beach access and night life access. Lincoln Road (where all the shopping and dinning happen) is just two blocks away. The pool is very nice and clean, and it is warm!!!. Very well kept. The pathway (nice paver /brick road) between hotel and beach is fantastic: walking, bicycling, roller skating, skate boarding....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban food is a must. We ate at Yuca for Thanksgiving dinner. Maya Tapas offers Argentinian flavor; very good. Sushi Samba is also very good (we tried a Brazilian dish there and it was good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mountainmama67
Business
costa rica
Nov 23, 2011

South Seas

All previous reviews were accurate! We had a great time! The cabanas were sexy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachie717
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Nice Hotel!

Our stay in this hotel was very nice! The free breakfast every morning was fabulous. Plus the hammocks by the pool were very relaxing! Our room was also very nice and updated. The only complaint I have about our room was the sink drain didn't work very well, and it smelled a bit musty. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Maya restaurant in South Beach was very good and the service is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
psychochip
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

A good room for the price

I would say it provided everything I expected for the price. The only thing I did not care for was the long black hairs left on the "cleaned" bathroom floor. I am a balding male and knew the hairs did not come from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chloemarie
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Good Location for price.

This hotel was very clean and staff was available 24/7. No problems, cold air condition and hot showers. Walking distance to restaurants and nite life. Would reccomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your alcohol @ liquor store or nearby Walgreens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great location, but that's about it!!!

I rate the hotel a one star only for the following reasons- The guests are not the first priority of the staff. Only one doorman actually acted like a doorman, and only one maid seemed to be conscientious. As for everyone else, especially the front desk, everyone was more interested in gabbing with co-workers, and preferred to push problems and concerns off to the next shift if they could. I do not have enough space here to go into detail, but we will not be returning. It wasn't the bugs in the room, it was the lassez-faire reaction of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wonderful food at the Miami Beach Marina- went to Monty's Seafood, and Texas de Brazil, a short cab ride, and the food and service at both locations were top-notch. They are at 300 Alton Road. Do not waste your time at Jerry's Kosher Deli. They are a joke. Seriously, they did not have about 8 dishes we asked for. Staff was nice, but it is truly not a kosher deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MommyLippy
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 10, 2011

Perfect place for our

We chose this hotel for our last minute girlfriends trip. Our main goal was to be on the beach and have a luxurious pool. This hotel gave us both. The pool area was gorgeous, the hammocks in the shade very relaxing and the beach was fabulous. The pool bar made a perfect mojito and the food was excellent. The service at the hotel was good and very accomodating. Our room was small but adequate. We especially appreciated the separate walk-in closet where we could keep our suitcases and clothes. One tip-only close the blinds at night, not the curtains because the ac will blow up underneath the curtains instead of into the room and the room will get very warm very quickly. Fortunately we figured this out the first night. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice feature. There was a variety of people staying there, families, older couples, a bachelor party, and some other girls on a "girlfriends trip". In the evenings we tested out some of the night life (the Delano was beautiful but expensive!, Mangos was fun, avoid Mr. Chows). Lincoln Rd. was a pleasant few block walk and we ate there a couple of nights and shopped. We really were thoroughly pleased with our stay and would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One night we ate at Nexxt Cafe at the Lincoln Road shopping area. It had the biggest menu I've ever seen and very reasonable prices (especially for the area). The food was good (our server not so great) and the outdoor seating provided lots of entertainment people-watching!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Astoria, NY
Aug 2, 2011

great location, friendly stuff

it was not the cleanest room, and we had to move to another one because i was not really happy with the "ocean view" from the first room. overall it's a nice hotel with very friendly stuff in a cool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of nice restaurants along lincoln road. opposite the hotel is a delicious sushi restaurant, "kung fu kitchen".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top