$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BxCouple
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 16, 2009

Great location

The staff was very helpful and attentive. The location was great right in the middle of all the action and is right across from the beach. Fro the price you can't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BxCouple
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 16, 2009

Great location

The staff was very helpful and attentive. The location was great right in the middle of all the action and is right across from the beach. Fro the price you can't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Jul 10, 2009

hotel stay

The staff was great, the food was good, however the rooms were very small and the hotel could use a face lift

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria and Roy
Business
New York, NY
Jul 4, 2009

Perfect South Beach Hotel

This hotel is excellent!! The location was close enough to all the South Beach action (short walk or $7 taxi ride to Ocean Drive) but far enough way that when it came time to leave the partying behind, the hotel felt like an oasis. The pool area is very relaxing (especially the hammocks in the back) and the private entrance to the beach was excellent. Also, while they provide as many amenities (if not more) as other nearby hotels, there is no hidden resort fee at this hotel. Our only regret was that we only stayed for 4 days (next time, it will definately be a week or more). The staff was very professional, helpful and friendly. I've never encountered a staff like this in the United States in all my hotel stays (only in the Dominican Republic). I would recommend this hotel to anyone that's looking for a relaxing vacation in South Beach (especially couples and families).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for a refrigerator (no charge) and make a short trip to Walgreens (two blocks away on Lincoln) and stock up on water, juice, cold cuts and other small foods (even beer before midnight) to help save on food and drink costs. This way, you only need to buy dinner (the free breakfast served by the hotel is excellent)!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elle90
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 25, 2009

A Surprising Stay!

This hotel was a surprising stay. Within a half hour after check-in, the area was bombarded by 2 hours of torrential rains. If you travel here around this time, it is worth having the hotel valet your car! It is a beautiful hotel kept up in the South Beach style. The pool area is gorgeous with plenty of lounge chairs and seating. There are private cabanas and hammocks all the way to the back of the property near the beach walk that are in the shade. The property has access to the beach which was a plus! The hotel has its own restaurant and the food was excellent!!! Highly recommend the guacamole because it comes with homemade tortilla chips. Worth the 20 min. wait! But the bartenders make great drinks and therefore you won't notice the wait! Excellent location to Lincoln Road and Espaniola Way and of course the beach. The only two things that were bad for us - the walls are thin and our room faced the main street. The hotel across the street turns into an outdoor nightclub on Saturday nights until 2:00 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jun 23, 2009

We had a blast

We relaxed and party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south beach, Fl
Jun 9, 2009

Avalon Hotel

I had choosen the South Seas because of the pool. When we arrived at the hotel, they could not found our reservation and they had no room left for the lenght of your stay. We had to call Orbitz, the desk employees at the South Seas hotel were not helpful. In conclusion, we had to change hotel. I was not satisfied, we lost time of our precious vacation because somewhere, an employee did not made a professionnal job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit michigan
Jun 7, 2009

would stay there again

Really enjoyed my stay, very nice and accommodating staff, great location and nice pool, the breakfast was good too. Rooms were just right, not too much or to little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 27, 2009

ok...

The hotel wasn't that bad but there were things that needed improvement. We were on the third floor and the vending machine was empty for our whole stay...an empty vending machine is useless. When we asked the pool guy for a towel for the lounge chair, his attitude was very bad. He acted as if we were asking him to do more than his job. The biggest problem I had was that I requested a 5am wakeup call and didnt get one. Luckily we woke up and were able to catch our flight. It might seem minor to some, but these are issues that weren't a problem in other hotels. It was decent but i wont stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bori Ed
Business
Astoria, NY
May 27, 2009

Nice staff but lax in security

This started out wrong because they gave us the wrong room but then the front desk gave us a nicer room. A suite on the roof. But all went down the drain when our room was broken into and stuff was stolen. Poor security and no cameras! Never will stay here again. The staff was very pleaseant especially [...] at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top