$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
183 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 183
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephanie56
NY
Apr 23, 2013

Misleading in Miami

The hotel is old, the rooms are small...major renovations needed. Bug in the closet, mold in the bathroom, expired elevator inspection, old furniture, smelly rooms..only good thing about this hotel was its location. Extremely upset about the amount i paid for this hotel...the pictures look nothing like the rooms...extremely misleading...i've stayed at a miami star and it blows this hotel out of the water...and much much cheaper. I'd say spend the extra money on a decent hotel...or just stay at a motel if you want something cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KatrieLA
Los Angeles,Ca
Dec 13, 2012

NOT 4 STARS!!!!!

I have no idea why it says that this hotel is a 4 star hotel, more like a 1 1/2 star! I would consider it a MOTEL not a hotel. I think that staying at motel 6 would have been teller than this one. There is nothing wrong with boutique hotels, i have stayed at a few in miami and there is still a form or luxury & comfort to it. However with this one absolutely not. The bathroom u can bearly turn around in. There was aunts all over the bathtub. If your not awake by the time the cleaning lady comes your lady is NOT returning! I stayed there 5 days and seen lizards on my window twice! Horrible all around! I would suggest ANYWHERE ELSE besides here! Yes, evea motel may be nicer Ps. the staff was extremely rude and unhelpful.... The only great thing about this place is its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 11, 2010

Hotel

Was only one night it did not impress me for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 11, 2010

Hotel

Was only one night it did not impress me for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
MD
Jul 10, 2009

hotel stay

The staff was great, the food was good, however the rooms were very small and the hotel could use a face lift

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 13, 2007

Friendly Vacation

The South Seas Hotel overall was decent, the room was clean but EXTREMELY SMALL. The maintenance service was ok but there weren't enough towels on a daily basis. The pool was nice and I especially enjoyed the DJ. I was told that there was a gym but the gym was very pathetic and the machines were old and it was located outside of the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I know but I made the best out of the situation and for the price I paid...next time I'll just pay extra and stay at a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to everything on south beach in walking distance.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
MD
Jul 10, 2009

hotel stay

The staff was great, the food was good, however the rooms were very small and the hotel could use a face lift

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 13, 2007

Friendly Vacation

The South Seas Hotel overall was decent, the room was clean but EXTREMELY SMALL. The maintenance service was ok but there weren't enough towels on a daily basis. The pool was nice and I especially enjoyed the DJ. I was told that there was a gym but the gym was very pathetic and the machines were old and it was located outside of the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I know but I made the best out of the situation and for the price I paid...next time I'll just pay extra and stay at a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to everything on south beach in walking distance.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kim C Rather be Home
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 27, 2012

Not a 4 star hotel!

Room: I was disappointed that this hotel was even rated a 4 star. At most it is a 3 star. The rooms had a mildew odor, there were little ants on the tables and we saw a couple of rat holes in the room. Staff: Front desk staff not very nice. Very unwelcoming because they'd rather talk to other staff. Will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chloemarie
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Good Location for price.

This hotel was very clean and staff was available 24/7. No problems, cold air condition and hot showers. Walking distance to restaurants and nite life. Would reccomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your alcohol @ liquor store or nearby Walgreens.

Back to menu Return to top