$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
119 reviews
Winter getaway

Every time I come here, the customer service and friendliness of the staff makes my vacation go... See full review

  • Patonvacation
  • Jul 21, 2015
Wonderful place

This is a really beautiful, well placed resort. Very nice that there is the breakfast by the... See full review

  • Susan R.
  • Apr 17, 2015
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Property features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary hot breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Nearby attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$78
3.3 / 5 611 reviews
★★★★
$78
3.9 / 5 101 reviews
★★★★★
$161
4.0 / 5 176 reviews
★★★★★
$111
4.2 / 5 53 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 35 reviews
★★★
$119
3.3 / 5 96 reviews
★★★★
$120
4.1 / 5 163 reviews
★★★★★
$139
4.0 / 5 257 reviews

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 119
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KatrieLA
Friends
Los Angeles,Ca
Dec 13, 2012

NOT 4 STARS!!!!!

I have no idea why it says that this hotel is a 4 star hotel, more like a 1 1/2 star! I would consider it a MOTEL not a hotel. I think that staying at motel 6 would have been teller than this one. There is nothing wrong with boutique hotels, i have stayed at a few in miami and there is still a form or luxury & comfort to it. However with this one absolutely not. The bathroom u can bearly turn around in. There was aunts all over the bathtub. If your not awake by the time the cleaning lady comes your lady is NOT returning! I stayed there 5 days and seen lizards on my window twice! Horrible all around! I would suggest ANYWHERE ELSE besides here! Yes, evea motel may be nicer Ps. the staff was extremely rude and unhelpful.... The only great thing about this place is its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephanie56
Friends
NY
Apr 23, 2013

Misleading in Miami

The hotel is old, the rooms are small...major renovations needed. Bug in the closet, mold in the bathroom, expired elevator inspection, old furniture, smelly rooms..only good thing about this hotel was its location. Extremely upset about the amount i paid for this hotel...the pictures look nothing like the rooms...extremely misleading...i've stayed at a miami star and it blows this hotel out of the water...and much much cheaper. I'd say spend the extra money on a decent hotel...or just stay at a motel if you want something cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
NYC
Jun 11, 2010

Hotel

Was only one night it did not impress me for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kim C Rather be Home
Friends
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 27, 2012

Not a 4 star hotel!

Room: I was disappointed that this hotel was even rated a 4 star. At most it is a 3 star. The rooms had a mildew odor, there were little ants on the tables and we saw a couple of rat holes in the room. Staff: Front desk staff not very nice. Very unwelcoming because they'd rather talk to other staff. Will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
MD
Jul 10, 2009

hotel stay

The staff was great, the food was good, however the rooms were very small and the hotel could use a face lift

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Aug 13, 2007

Friendly Vacation

The South Seas Hotel overall was decent, the room was clean but EXTREMELY SMALL. The maintenance service was ok but there weren't enough towels on a daily basis. The pool was nice and I especially enjoyed the DJ. I was told that there was a gym but the gym was very pathetic and the machines were old and it was located outside of the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I know but I made the best out of the situation and for the price I paid...next time I'll just pay extra and stay at a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to everything on south beach in walking distance.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reffy
Friends
Virginia
Mar 10, 2012

One night stay

The staff was great. Everyone was very helpul and informative. The room was kind of crowded, with no place to sit other than the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat at Maxine's accross from the hotel.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ames Beach Goer
Friends
Pittsburgh
Aug 6, 2013

Pool & Location!

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk to almost anywhere...South Beach and Lincoln Road. It's away from the loudness of South Beach which is great. Also, the pool area was very nice. We ate lunch at the pool most days because they had a decent pool bar with service to your lounge chairs. The room was very small. The toilet flushed itself every 5 mins, driving us crazy. The beds were very hard too. Sooo...if its location and a pool you want.. stay here. If its comfort, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
new york
May 11, 2009

Average at best

The hotel is average at best - like a 3 star econologde, great location, but that's the only thing I really liked about it. The continental breakfast was mediocre and everything served on paper plates...felt like I was on college spring break. The staff were hit and miss, bartenders were great, front desk couldn't be bothered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
south beach, Fl
Jun 9, 2009

Avalon Hotel

I had choosen the South Seas because of the pool. When we arrived at the hotel, they could not found our reservation and they had no room left for the lenght of your stay. We had to call Orbitz, the desk employees at the South Seas hotel were not helpful. In conclusion, we had to change hotel. I was not satisfied, we lost time of our precious vacation because somewhere, an employee did not made a professionnal job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top