$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
136 reviews
Wonderful place

This is a really beautiful, well placed resort. Very nice that there is the breakfast by the... See full review

  • Susan R.
  • Apr 17, 2015
Great Miami Beach hotel

Had a lovely stay at this beautiful hotel. Located in great spot on busy Miami Beach the resort is... See full review

  • Susan R.
  • Apr 6, 2015
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Property features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary hot breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Nearby attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 136
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jan 3, 2012

SHADY

The same day we checked out we got calls shortly after from our CC monitoring that week for about 1000 dollars in fraudulent charges. Also our sheets weren't changed the whole time we were there, and staff is extremely unfriendly. We think that the one friendly person there was the one who stole our financial info.. you get what you pay for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mckenn5566
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Mar 10, 2012

You will be embarrassed to bring friends to your room!!

Hostel like!!! Small small room!! No decor. Cheap hard spring bed. Ceiling paper was peeling off. And walls were discolored. Piping was exposed in the room. Bathroom was so small ! Like ridiculous! plus the toilet was running ! Floors were creeky and so was the elevator. The elevator was only big enough for 4 & years past inspection! You would certainly be embarrassed to have anyone back to    these rooms!! Valet cost 30 which we agreed to pay. When we got our car we relized they drove it using a quarter tank of gas and stole several items of value... But their not liable. So WARNING: DON'T STAY HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 26, 2011

Not worth the money you pay

We had a late arrival and was very tired. We had booked the ocean front room and in order to get to the room we had to go up a flight stairs with our luggage and down a flight of stairs to get to the elevator that would take us to our floor. No one offered to help with the luggage. The picture on the internet showed the room had hardwood floors but when we got to the room, the room had carpet. The room was not bad but the halls to get to the rooms were very old and nasty looking. The elevator sounded like it was going to fall apart. We will not go back to this hotel and will probably not even visit Miami again due to our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Addison, IL
Dec 28, 2009

Not too good

Unfriendly staff, not very helpful. Smelly room with terrible view. Only good thing about this place is a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great location, but that's about it!!!

I rate the hotel a one star only for the following reasons- The guests are not the first priority of the staff. Only one doorman actually acted like a doorman, and only one maid seemed to be conscientious. As for everyone else, especially the front desk, everyone was more interested in gabbing with co-workers, and preferred to push problems and concerns off to the next shift if they could. I do not have enough space here to go into detail, but we will not be returning. It wasn't the bugs in the room, it was the lassez-faire reaction of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wonderful food at the Miami Beach Marina- went to Monty's Seafood, and Texas de Brazil, a short cab ride, and the food and service at both locations were top-notch. They are at 300 Alton Road. Do not waste your time at Jerry's Kosher Deli. They are a joke. Seriously, they did not have about 8 dishes we asked for. Staff was nice, but it is truly not a kosher deli.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oporto, Portugal
Aug 16, 2010

Hotel for students

When I arrived my room was checked in accidently for another person. So since I had a late arrival the reception called at 1h00 in the morning to the room which upsetted and worried the people. They gave me another room to solve the problem but when I left the wanted to charge me the costs that the other people had done during their stay but everything was resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Washington Avenue go have lunch or dinner at a low cost japanese restaurant called Hiro's Sushi Express. Its in front of Madonna's Club. The best pizza is Rustica Pizza on Licoln Road.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Jul 11, 2007

Pretty disappointed

The South Seas Hotel was definitely a disappointment! I was very confident that we had found a diamond in the ruff....NOT!!! It's an old hotel that has attempted to transform into a modern, art-deco type of hotel, but hasn't quite put in the money needed to do so. At check-in, the staff was very pleasant and hospitable, but when we went to our standard room, we were taken back by the size of the room...like a cubicle. The view from the window was a view of the white wall of the hotel next door. If we could have opened the window, I'm sure we could have touched it. The bathroom literally had only enough room to turn around in. And the room smelled of some type of fumes, which we later determined were probably being drawn in from the hotel next door. All of the standard rooms have this same view; it may just be on the other side of the hotel. We called down to request another room, with an ocean view, and they were very accommodating. But the room was $50 more a night. After seeing the room, we decided to take it because it was much bigger, and the view of the beach in the distance was breathtaking! Upon a more detailed inspection of the hotel, we found that it was very unkept; especially the bathroom. There was mold at the base of the sink faucet and in the tile molding in the shower. There was even mold on the toilet tank, just above the flush handle! The vast majority of the white towels were also very thin and dingy...like gray. We went to the store and bought our own to use. The mattress was VERY firm; so firm that it didn't even give when I jumped on it, so imagine how we slept! Basically, I was very uncomfortable and grossed out in this room! In most of the reviews I read prior to booking this hotel, they raved about the location, but it was actually down a little further than I would have liked. It was about an 11 block walk from where most of the happenings on Ocean Avenue are located. Lincoln Mall was pretty close, but I would have much rather stayed a little further down so that we could have easy access to both Lincoln Mall and Ocean Avenue restaurants and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can save a few dollars a day by having breakfast at the hotel. It was pretty filling for a continental breakfast.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Celebrant
Business
Cape Cod
Apr 5, 2014

Pale New Englanders head to South Seas

First night the room seemed less than clean but with each successive cleanings each morning it became more inviting. The setting was fantastic ! Old school South Beach splendor with family friendly atmosphere. Love the real orchids and art work. Complimentary breakfast was good and the coffee strong! The pool and surrounding areas well tended and secure. Being so close to the boardwalk and beach was really a plus. Overall we left feeling refreshed and alive !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If there is more than one of you skip the shuttle and take a cab from the airport

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Saffas
Business
Johannesburg, South Africa
Apr 1, 2012

Comfortable place to stay

The South Seas is a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay if you're heading to South Beach, Miami. All you need is in close walking distance. The fact that breakfast was included in the rate was great and the selection of food for breakfast was good. It was our first visit to the USA, so we can not compare to other hotels in the States.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Miami Hop-On/Hop-Off Bus is a great way to see Miami. Tickets are valid for a full 24 hours (and some include a boat trip as well). There is a stop about 5 minutes walk from the South Seas Hotel.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BargainHunter
Business
Hyannis, Barnstable, MA 02601, USA
May 2, 2012

Good value

If you are looking for a value in South Beach this is the place. The rooms were clean, the restaurant had great food and the location is just around the corner from Ocean Drive. The downside is the elevators were dated, the pool a bit small and only a few rooms have any sort of a view other than the side of the hotel next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Front Porch Cafe - a don't miss. Great food at reasonable prices!

Back to menu Return to top