$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
183 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
dc
Nov 30, 2010

Great location, little pricy, ok service

Front desk attendant was responsive. Hallway carpets were a little dirty but rooms were clean. Cable TV broke down and AC stalled once but eventually staff fixed the TV and AC worked later. Staff took a while to respoond to special requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colie
mass
Mar 5, 2011

ok

[...] I ended up paying extra $$ for a cab both ways. The staff was nice, the beach is right outside the gated pool area which was very nice (the beach that is). The cushions on the pool lounge chairs were stained, time for new ones. The hotel wasn't a four star hotel in my opinion (3 star at most). The room was very small and not very clean (hairs in the bathroom, grime and dirt in the vents and corners) the rooms hair dryer didn't work and was gross w/ make-up all over the handle. I didn't care for the resturant in the hotel at all but there were plenty of resturants just outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marky68us
Mulhouse, France
Jan 6, 2010

Beautiful hotel but....

Beautiful hotel with clean rooms;direct access to the beach, very close to Ocean drive and lincoln Rd... Unfortunately spoilt by a 24h bar across Collins Av playing loud music almost all night long (windows not soundproof, bathroom window not shutting tight), somewhat careless staff (front desk staff very laid back, housekeeping staff never saying good morning, valet parking staff nice but sloppy). Breakfast was far below standards. Such a pity that the service is not up to the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yuca and Balans restaurants on Lincoln Rd

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 20, 2007

Only to sleep

The rooms were ok. Nothing special. A bit of a budget hotel. The remote has a wire attached to prevent people from selling it?? OUr room faced Collins Avenue, which can be noisy especially with the buses passing by. The pool is nice. THere are lounge chairs and free towels. It is a short walk to the beach from the back of the hotel. The free breakfast is good with cereal, bagels, fruits, tea, coffee and juice. I didn't think the staff at the hotel were all that friendly. No greetings when entering the hotel lobby. Even when riding in the elevator with one of the staff, there was not even an acknowledgement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road is withing walking distance.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SOBE Chuck
CT, USA
May 1, 2013

First time to SOBE

If it was just about location, then the South Seas would be a 10. I guess that's what you are paying for here. Otherwise, it's just an average hotel and overpriced for the room quality (at least mine# and amenities offered. I was not to impressed with the hotel front desk staff. Upon check-in, I was promptly put in a room that I did not reserve. I made my reservation #pre-paid# five months b4 my trip, #they had no record of my reservation when I tried to confirm just prior to arriving#. Though we were moved to another room, #after the fact#, I think it was the last leftover king room with the noisy AC. The room was clean though, lol. The pool, grounds and staff were very nice. The beach is beautiful but be prepared to pay $$ for each day you go if you want to use a chair and umbrella. #they do not tell you this at the hotel). Probably won't be back to this hotel any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Oct 20, 2009

Great Location but smaller than expected

I went for a girls weekend and loved the location of the hotel (close enough to the action but far enough away that is was quiet and relaxing). We hung out by the pool during the day and went out at night to experience all south beach had to offer. We had a great time but the hotel was smaller than expected and not so art deco. They would have been better off with an antique type theme with their old time photos and original fixtures on doors and such. Rooms were adaquate but again nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are relaxing by the pool for the day food and drinks can add up. We recommend going to local stores to load up on your own snacks and drinks.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 5, 2010

No frills but nice and great location

The South Seas Hotel is a great place to stay. We found the hotel room was a little small, but it was clean and quiet. We liked the hotel's pool and hammock area, and beach access was convenient. The hotel is located in a quieter area of South Beach than we had previously stayed, and we found it a lot nicer because of that. Overall, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 27, 2009

ok...

The hotel wasn't that bad but there were things that needed improvement. We were on the third floor and the vending machine was empty for our whole stay...an empty vending machine is useless. When we asked the pool guy for a towel for the lounge chair, his attitude was very bad. He acted as if we were asking him to do more than his job. The biggest problem I had was that I requested a 5am wakeup call and didnt get one. Luckily we woke up and were able to catch our flight. It might seem minor to some, but these are issues that weren't a problem in other hotels. It was decent but i wont stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molasse
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great location and good place for relaxation

Very convenient hotel for beach access and night life access. Lincoln Road (where all the shopping and dinning happen) is just two blocks away. The pool is very nice and clean, and it is warm!!!. Very well kept. The pathway (nice paver /brick road) between hotel and beach is fantastic: walking, bicycling, roller skating, skate boarding....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban food is a must. We ate at Yuca for Thanksgiving dinner. Maya Tapas offers Argentinian flavor; very good. Sushi Samba is also very good (we tried a Brazilian dish there and it was good).

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Forest Hills
Sep 1, 2008

Great Location

I've stayed at this hotel four times already. I've recommended it to friends and family.It has comfortable beds, great comp breakfast in the mornings, the staff are friendly.It's located in prime location. You could walk to lincoln road, ocean drive and certain night spots. It's away from the noise but not away from the hype of South Beach. Easy access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Washington Ave where the nightspots is not to far of a walk/short cab ride. You have 2 convience stores open 24hrs. a liquor store across you and a pretty bar cafe across you.

Back to menu Return to top