$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
118 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molasse
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great location and good place for relaxation

Very convenient hotel for beach access and night life access. Lincoln Road (where all the shopping and dinning happen) is just two blocks away. The pool is very nice and clean, and it is warm!!!. Very well kept. The pathway (nice paver /brick road) between hotel and beach is fantastic: walking, bicycling, roller skating, skate boarding....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban food is a must. We ate at Yuca for Thanksgiving dinner. Maya Tapas offers Argentinian flavor; very good. Sushi Samba is also very good (we tried a Brazilian dish there and it was good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Forest Hills
Sep 1, 2008

Great Location

I've stayed at this hotel four times already. I've recommended it to friends and family.It has comfortable beds, great comp breakfast in the mornings, the staff are friendly.It's located in prime location. You could walk to lincoln road, ocean drive and certain night spots. It's away from the noise but not away from the hype of South Beach. Easy access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Washington Ave where the nightspots is not to far of a walk/short cab ride. You have 2 convience stores open 24hrs. a liquor store across you and a pretty bar cafe across you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick1zyx
Fort Wayne, IN
Jan 6, 2014

First time visit

Great location, easy to get around, short walk to all the shops and cafes on Lincoln St. The room and bathroom were small due to the age of the hotel. All room views were of the hotel right next door locate 25 feet away! The elevators were extremely small and slow due to the age of the hotel. Pool was real nice and the cabanas and hammocks were all nice. And the ocean beach was real convenient. Staff was all pleasant. Breakfast was all continental, no hot food, just breads and fruit, cereal and yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No need to rent a car. The local bus service and cabs are excellent. Hotel is right on the bus route. Easy to walk to everything. Walgreens is two blocks away if you need anything. Check out the Airport Express Bus 150 to get to and from the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Carlito
Boise, Idaho
Mar 7, 2013

South Seas Hotel, South Beach Miami

This hotel was perfect if you are heading to South Beach & want a reasonably priced hotel room. Yes, $300 per night is a lot for what the room is, but this was the cheapest & best hotel we saw for the money. There is a free breakfast buffet every morning (decent, think yogurt, bananas, bagels) which saved time & money everyday. Room was fine, nice ocean view, staff was very friendly, pool was great. I originally wanted to stay at SLS, but am so glad we stayed here! SLS is only two hotels down from South Seas and it is a gorgeous hotel, but you can save yourself $1,200 and just walk over for dinner at Katsuya (best sushi restaurant EVER--you must get the Special Katsuya Roll!!) and to see the giant silver duck at the pool there. Hotel location is fantastic--short walk to Lincoln Road Mall. Also, my favorite part of trip was Delano hotel's pool-definitely try to make it over & get some frozen fruit and mojitos. Best pool I've ever seen (blows any pool in Vegas out of the water!) Be prepared for South Beach prices --which do rival those of Vegas! Also, make it over to the Fountainbleau Hotel (short cab ride)--just BEAUTIFUL hotel with Liv nightclub inside. Ok, and W hotel if you have time. Pretty awesome outdoor area there (The Grove) and The Dutch was very unique bar as well. We had an amazing time, South Beach is amazing! If you are planning to go to Miami for first visit, I would recommend staying on South Beach (..not on Biscayne Bay.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
capekupl
FL
Apr 6, 2014

perfect place to stay in South Beach

The hotel staff were very attentive and friendly. The pool and beach area were lovely, as was the simple but adequate included breakfast which could be eaten inside or at the poolside. The hallways were kind of dingy, and the room was tiny (328), but the bed was nicely made and comfortable. Since we didn't spend much time in the room, we didn't care about its size. Aside from the great staff, the star feature of this hotel is that it is at the end of South Beach, so didn't get any noise at night. The neighborhood was busy but nice. We could walk anywhere to and from South Beach, so didn't need the car which we left in valet parking at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Art Deco walking tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Discontented with Winter
New York, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Good Winter Escape

A friend of mine and I were desperate to escape the New York winter and the South Seas provided a welcome respite. The room was clean and quiet, the staff friendly and the pool lovely. It's great that it's right on the beach and the continental breakfast (included) was adequate--although the coffee flavored water could've been better. The only real negative is having to pay for pretty poorly maintained seat on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great spa on Lincoln Rd., Spa e, that's worth a stop for a pedicure or facial.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BxCouple
Bronx, NY
Jul 16, 2009

Great location

The staff was very helpful and attentive. The location was great right in the middle of all the action and is right across from the beach. Fro the price you can't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 5, 2007

Great for a short stay

The South Seas Hotel was a great place to say for a short visit. It had everything that you needed. The rooms are a bit dated and the air conditioner did not work that well but overall, the hotel served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of inexpensive outlets near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MommyLippy
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 10, 2011

Perfect place for our

We chose this hotel for our last minute girlfriends trip. Our main goal was to be on the beach and have a luxurious pool. This hotel gave us both. The pool area was gorgeous, the hammocks in the shade very relaxing and the beach was fabulous. The pool bar made a perfect mojito and the food was excellent. The service at the hotel was good and very accomodating. Our room was small but adequate. We especially appreciated the separate walk-in closet where we could keep our suitcases and clothes. One tip-only close the blinds at night, not the curtains because the ac will blow up underneath the curtains instead of into the room and the room will get very warm very quickly. Fortunately we figured this out the first night. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice feature. There was a variety of people staying there, families, older couples, a bachelor party, and some other girls on a "girlfriends trip". In the evenings we tested out some of the night life (the Delano was beautiful but expensive!, Mangos was fun, avoid Mr. Chows). Lincoln Rd. was a pleasant few block walk and we ate there a couple of nights and shopped. We really were thoroughly pleased with our stay and would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One night we ate at Nexxt Cafe at the Lincoln Road shopping area. It had the biggest menu I've ever seen and very reasonable prices (especially for the area). The food was good (our server not so great) and the outdoor seating provided lots of entertainment people-watching!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coverage
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 30, 2007

Good Value

Good loaction, small pool/pool area but comfortable. Wait staff was a little slow and not so great. Small rooms and little dated but clean. I would stay there again and would recommend my it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Location for dinning, shopping, enterainment etc,,... Lincoln Road Mall. Your in South Beach, so there's only a few good reasons to stay in your room and not check out the area!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search