$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
183 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 5, 2010

No frills but nice and great location

The South Seas Hotel is a great place to stay. We found the hotel room was a little small, but it was clean and quiet. We liked the hotel's pool and hammock area, and beach access was convenient. The hotel is located in a quieter area of South Beach than we had previously stayed, and we found it a lot nicer because of that. Overall, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feeaustin
austin,texas
Mar 21, 2014

funtrip

great location, just black away to lincoln road mall. bed is comfry. price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 25, 2011

Good for the price

The rooms are very small no ocean view or any view at that matter. Staff and service were great! Pool was good, right on the beach which was awesome! Short walking distance to dining, shops and everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Picky travelers
Business
Maine
Sep 17, 2009

Great local for business at Miami Conven

Great location for Miami Convention Center, Lincoln Road & Ocean retaurants! Smallish rooms, but fine - could use a little clean up in bathrooms & definitely new towels! Staff was great, resturant fine & breakfast just right. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Evereything is walkable

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Precise P
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 25, 2010

If your on a budget this is an option

I ordered this trip at the last minute so my budget was tight and not pre-planned. I believe I got a good price for the hotel so I didn't have high expectations. The room was decent but small. The hotel could be much better if they took care of the small details such as cleaning the lamps, windows, and fixing the toilet so it didn't make a loud noise when it flushed. The security guard was good but the front desk woman wasn't helpful. Overall the place was clean and when we came back to the room late I was able to sleep. Also the continental breakfast was decent. The beach was right behind the hotel which was great. Book this place if you are on a budget and want to get a decent location in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I liked jet skiing on the beach which you got 30 minutes for $80.00. It was great. Also we went on a bus and boat ride tour of south beach that was cool because we went to little Cuba where I bought a cigar and we got to see some nice locations.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reffy
Virginia
Mar 10, 2012

One night stay

The staff was great. Everyone was very helpul and informative. The room was kind of crowded, with no place to sit other than the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat at Maxine's accross from the hotel.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
south beach, Fl
Jun 9, 2009

Avalon Hotel

I had choosen the South Seas because of the pool. When we arrived at the hotel, they could not found our reservation and they had no room left for the lenght of your stay. We had to call Orbitz, the desk employees at the South Seas hotel were not helpful. In conclusion, we had to change hotel. I was not satisfied, we lost time of our precious vacation because somewhere, an employee did not made a professionnal job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
press toward the mark
Atlanta, GA
Mar 15, 2011

It was nice

The pool area is great. Continental Breakfast was great. Rooms were ok and bathrooms were small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Celebrant
Cape Cod
Apr 5, 2014

Pale New Englanders head to South Seas

First night the room seemed less than clean but with each successive cleanings each morning it became more inviting. The setting was fantastic ! Old school South Beach splendor with family friendly atmosphere. Love the real orchids and art work. Complimentary breakfast was good and the coffee strong! The pool and surrounding areas well tended and secure. Being so close to the boardwalk and beach was really a plus. Overall we left feeling refreshed and alive !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If there is more than one of you skip the shuttle and take a cab from the airport

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
south beach, Fl
Jun 9, 2009

Avalon Hotel

I had choosen the South Seas because of the pool. When we arrived at the hotel, they could not found our reservation and they had no room left for the lenght of your stay. We had to call Orbitz, the desk employees at the South Seas hotel were not helpful. In conclusion, we had to change hotel. I was not satisfied, we lost time of our precious vacation because somewhere, an employee did not made a professionnal job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top