$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chicka1
Friends
dc
Nov 24, 2014

chick

great location away from touristy area. close to airport. great beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

valet is cheaper than parking

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twin face
Friends
cedar grove
Jun 4, 2015

Great Location

Location is great. Rooms are super TINY. Staff could be more welcoming upon check in. Free daily breakfast, towels and chairs are supplied which is great because it is unlike any hotel in the area, but you are not told ANY of this at check-in... If you need the bell captain upon checkout or your car from valet call about 40 minutes before you actually need to leave or you will be waiting all this time! Review your bill closely at checkout, extra restaurant charges and parking charges were added and front desk staff makes you feel as if they are doing you a favor to remove them from the bill, as if you are cheating or trying to get over on them! Since this staff is the first contact anyone has with the hotel I'd recommend REPLACING these two ladies!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick1zyx
Couples
Fort Wayne, IN
Jan 6, 2014

First time visit

Great location, easy to get around, short walk to all the shops and cafes on Lincoln St. The room and bathroom were small due to the age of the hotel. All room views were of the hotel right next door locate 25 feet away! The elevators were extremely small and slow due to the age of the hotel. Pool was real nice and the cabanas and hammocks were all nice. And the ocean beach was real convenient. Staff was all pleasant. Breakfast was all continental, no hot food, just breads and fruit, cereal and yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No need to rent a car. The local bus service and cabs are excellent. Hotel is right on the bus route. Easy to walk to everything. Walgreens is two blocks away if you need anything. Check out the Airport Express Bus 150 to get to and from the airport.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Discontented with Winter
Friends
New York, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Good Winter Escape

A friend of mine and I were desperate to escape the New York winter and the South Seas provided a welcome respite. The room was clean and quiet, the staff friendly and the pool lovely. It's great that it's right on the beach and the continental breakfast (included) was adequate--although the coffee flavored water could've been better. The only real negative is having to pay for pretty poorly maintained seat on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great spa on Lincoln Rd., Spa e, that's worth a stop for a pedicure or facial.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christian09x
Friends
Miami, FL
Mar 17, 2014

South Seas Experience

This hotel was great. It is located only a few steps from the beach and has a great pool/bar area. It is also conveniently located next to many good local bars and hang outs. The only problem I had was the valet service, which took over an hour to get my vehicle. I notified the front desk and they promptly removed the valet charge. I would recommend this hotel and would likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
capekupl
Couples
FL
Apr 6, 2014

perfect place to stay in South Beach

The hotel staff were very attentive and friendly. The pool and beach area were lovely, as was the simple but adequate included breakfast which could be eaten inside or at the poolside. The hallways were kind of dingy, and the room was tiny (328), but the bed was nicely made and comfortable. Since we didn't spend much time in the room, we didn't care about its size. Aside from the great staff, the star feature of this hotel is that it is at the end of South Beach, so didn't get any noise at night. The neighborhood was busy but nice. We could walk anywhere to and from South Beach, so didn't need the car which we left in valet parking at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Art Deco walking tour.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachie717
Couples
St Louis, MO, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Nice Hotel!

Our stay in this hotel was very nice! The free breakfast every morning was fabulous. Plus the hammocks by the pool were very relaxing! Our room was also very nice and updated. The only complaint I have about our room was the sink drain didn't work very well, and it smelled a bit musty. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Maya restaurant in South Beach was very good and the service is excellent!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy Bez
Family
Michigan
Dec 31, 2011

Great location!

Wonderful! Great location! Nice pool area, hammocks were comfortable. Steps from the beach. Very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mojolyn
Friends
Ohio, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Good on the ocean.

Stayed just one night before a cruise. Nice breakfast patio, pool, and beach access. Rooms are clean and comfy. Not a luxury hotel but a good value in an expensive area. Staff were helpful, sent us to a great Cuban restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Finns
Couples
Commerce, MI, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Winter Getaway

Good location on the beach and within short walking distance to the nightly action. Areas of improvement are things that would be quite difficult for this hotel to address such as small bathrooms and a single, slow elevator. Overall good experience for reasonable value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get suckered into the oversized & over priced drinks ($25 per) that many of the restaurants were pushing.

Back to menu Return to top