$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
183 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
b-ball man
phila, pa,
Apr 23, 2009

shame i couldn`t stay longer

only complaint was that hotel only had valet parking so i had to give them 30 min. notice to retrieve vehichle. no mention of this when i booked trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lounging Couple
Ireland
Jul 13, 2010

Lovely but ageing beach-side hotel

We stayed at the South Seas for just a couple of nights. It has a beautiful and modern reception that smells wonderful. However, on entering the elevator it starts to show its age. The room was very clean and crisp but looked worn and outdated. The water-pressure in the shower wasn't great either. The breakfast was continental, but generous. The dining area has a lovely view of the pool. The pool has lovely surroundings and no shortage of towels. Beyond the pool are a few palms with hammocks hanging between them, this became our favourite part of the hotel - it's a treat in the evening when there's a light breeze from the sea! The beach is just past the pool, palms and a gate (which requires a key-card to get back in). The beach-chairs and the umbrellas are for hire at the beach. Don't make the mistake of assuming it's complimentary as we did! :) There's a very cheap shuttle running south from Washington Ave. It's a fast-ish and cheap way to get to Ocean Drive and the shops on the nearby Collins Ave. The cleaning staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it if you're not looking for anything too luxurious. PS: Stay away from outdoor Enso Restaurant on Lincoln Rd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The News Cafe on Ocean Drive was recommended in a travel guide book, and it didn't disappoint. The food is very reasonably priced, the staff is very friendly, and most importantly the food is delicious!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 27, 2009

ok...

The hotel wasn't that bad but there were things that needed improvement. We were on the third floor and the vending machine was empty for our whole stay...an empty vending machine is useless. When we asked the pool guy for a towel for the lounge chair, his attitude was very bad. He acted as if we were asking him to do more than his job. The biggest problem I had was that I requested a 5am wakeup call and didnt get one. Luckily we woke up and were able to catch our flight. It might seem minor to some, but these are issues that weren't a problem in other hotels. It was decent but i wont stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elle90
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 25, 2009

A Surprising Stay!

This hotel was a surprising stay. Within a half hour after check-in, the area was bombarded by 2 hours of torrential rains. If you travel here around this time, it is worth having the hotel valet your car! It is a beautiful hotel kept up in the South Beach style. The pool area is gorgeous with plenty of lounge chairs and seating. There are private cabanas and hammocks all the way to the back of the property near the beach walk that are in the shade. The property has access to the beach which was a plus! The hotel has its own restaurant and the food was excellent!!! Highly recommend the guacamole because it comes with homemade tortilla chips. Worth the 20 min. wait! But the bartenders make great drinks and therefore you won't notice the wait! Excellent location to Lincoln Road and Espaniola Way and of course the beach. The only two things that were bad for us - the walls are thin and our room faced the main street. The hotel across the street turns into an outdoor nightclub on Saturday nights until 2:00 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reno/Tahoe in SB Miami
Business
Reno/Tahoe
May 26, 2009

Great Location/Friendly Service

This hotel is in a great walking location to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd., the convention center and beach and boardwalk. The staff was very friendly and accomodating without being sugar sweet. This is a locals place so be prepared for some SB flavor. This hotel has alot of returning guest so it has a "Cheers" kind of feeling...Everyone knows your name. The rooms were OK. The beds were clean and the linens were soft. The rooms were quite room to room but the hallways lead you to believe the walls are paper thin. This is my first stay away from a major like Hyatt or Marriott. I booked for location and the SB experience. I was a little scared and shocked at first however I spent little time in my room and was happy in the end. I would recommend to someone who wants to feel welcomed and safe and wants to relax in the middle of all the action of South Beach Miami. This is a inside cabin room if you know what I mean. Who wants to spend time in your room in Miami????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a drink at the Versace Mansion a short walk via the boardwalk. Follow that up with food and beverages at the streetside Palace Bar located at the corner of 12th and Ocean Dr. Tell the owner you read about this in Orbitz.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
May 11, 2009

Average at best

The hotel is average at best - like a 3 star econologde, great location, but that's the only thing I really liked about it. The continental breakfast was mediocre and everything served on paper plates...felt like I was on college spring break. The staff were hit and miss, bartenders were great, front desk couldn't be bothered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ames Beach Goer
Pittsburgh
Aug 6, 2013

Pool & Location!

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk to almost anywhere...South Beach and Lincoln Road. It's away from the loudness of South Beach which is great. Also, the pool area was very nice. We ate lunch at the pool most days because they had a decent pool bar with service to your lounge chairs. The room was very small. The toilet flushed itself every 5 mins, driving us crazy. The beds were very hard too. Sooo...if its location and a pool you want.. stay here. If its comfort, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wewo
Washington, DC
Dec 28, 2009

Mixed blessings.

The South Seas is a rehabbed older hotel with small, albeit nicely furnished rooms and really small, but very functional bathrooms. Overnight stay comes with a breakfast buffet including various breads and cereals as well as cold hard-boiled eggs, ham and cheese. The hotel's free WiFi connection was disappointingly slow, especially in the evenings and clearly needs to be upgraded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BargainHunter
Hyannis, Barnstable, MA 02601, USA
May 2, 2012

Good value

If you are looking for a value in South Beach this is the place. The rooms were clean, the restaurant had great food and the location is just around the corner from Ocean Drive. The downside is the elevators were dated, the pool a bit small and only a few rooms have any sort of a view other than the side of the hotel next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Front Porch Cafe - a don't miss. Great food at reasonable prices!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Man68
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 13, 2014

Room was OK

Room was small and it was a suite. Very noisy from outside (hotel machinery) and elevators. Staff friendly and accommodating. Heard from others food is delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top