$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariaSG
Business
Mississauga,Ontario,Canada
Aug 5, 2012

Valet staffs very helpful & quick

Staffs are Ok, valet staffs are very quick in getting your car& helpful. Close to South Beach if you like to party. The room is too small ,The air conditioner was not working,there were water dripping from the unit.They replaced it with a portable one which was very noisy. We didn't bother to complain as we are only staying for one night on our way to Key West but they could have mentioned about it when we checked in. Good location just few steps to the beach. Lincoln Rd (pedestrian mall) is very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant at Washington St, reasonable price & very good choices

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saruman
Business
New York
Nov 10, 2012

Well-located, but nothing special

Not sure how this hotel claims 4 stars. It's just okay, that's my impression. Everything is pretty old, as in, nor renovated in a while, at least that's how it feels. Beds, TVs, AC are good, but elevators, walls, carpets remind of dorms. The staff isn't very helpful, probably expecting to be tipped upfront. If you can help it, get a room on the higher floor, otherwise you'll hear people walking by and over your head all the time. The location is great, though - beach, Lincoln Road just a block away. And it was cheap, at least during the off-days, that is, not Friday to Sunday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT Steak is as great as in NY

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pavel D
Business
Washington DC
Dec 9, 2012

Cheap but bit old

We stayed just two nights, the second I was scared by big cocrouch, and my wife could not sleep any more... Close to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SOBE Chuck
Business
CT, USA
May 1, 2013

First time to SOBE

If it was just about location, then the South Seas would be a 10. I guess that's what you are paying for here. Otherwise, it's just an average hotel and overpriced for the room quality (at least mine# and amenities offered. I was not to impressed with the hotel front desk staff. Upon check-in, I was promptly put in a room that I did not reserve. I made my reservation #pre-paid# five months b4 my trip, #they had no record of my reservation when I tried to confirm just prior to arriving#. Though we were moved to another room, #after the fact#, I think it was the last leftover king room with the noisy AC. The room was clean though, lol. The pool, grounds and staff were very nice. The beach is beautiful but be prepared to pay $$ for each day you go if you want to use a chair and umbrella. #they do not tell you this at the hotel). Probably won't be back to this hotel any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ames Beach Goer
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 6, 2013

Pool & Location!

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk to almost anywhere...South Beach and Lincoln Road. It's away from the loudness of South Beach which is great. Also, the pool area was very nice. We ate lunch at the pool most days because they had a decent pool bar with service to your lounge chairs. The room was very small. The toilet flushed itself every 5 mins, driving us crazy. The beds were very hard too. Sooo...if its location and a pool you want.. stay here. If its comfort, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
May 11, 2009

Average at best

The hotel is average at best - like a 3 star econologde, great location, but that's the only thing I really liked about it. The continental breakfast was mediocre and everything served on paper plates...felt like I was on college spring break. The staff were hit and miss, bartenders were great, front desk couldn't be bothered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 20, 2007

Only to sleep

The rooms were ok. Nothing special. A bit of a budget hotel. The remote has a wire attached to prevent people from selling it?? OUr room faced Collins Avenue, which can be noisy especially with the buses passing by. The pool is nice. THere are lounge chairs and free towels. It is a short walk to the beach from the back of the hotel. The free breakfast is good with cereal, bagels, fruits, tea, coffee and juice. I didn't think the staff at the hotel were all that friendly. No greetings when entering the hotel lobby. Even when riding in the elevator with one of the staff, there was not even an acknowledgement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road is withing walking distance.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 27, 2009

ok...

The hotel wasn't that bad but there were things that needed improvement. We were on the third floor and the vending machine was empty for our whole stay...an empty vending machine is useless. When we asked the pool guy for a towel for the lounge chair, his attitude was very bad. He acted as if we were asking him to do more than his job. The biggest problem I had was that I requested a 5am wakeup call and didnt get one. Luckily we woke up and were able to catch our flight. It might seem minor to some, but these are issues that weren't a problem in other hotels. It was decent but i wont stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
b-ball man
Business
phila, pa,
Apr 23, 2009

shame i couldn`t stay longer

only complaint was that hotel only had valet parking so i had to give them 30 min. notice to retrieve vehichle. no mention of this when i booked trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reno/Tahoe in SB Miami
Business
Reno/Tahoe
May 26, 2009

Great Location/Friendly Service

This hotel is in a great walking location to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd., the convention center and beach and boardwalk. The staff was very friendly and accomodating without being sugar sweet. This is a locals place so be prepared for some SB flavor. This hotel has alot of returning guest so it has a "Cheers" kind of feeling...Everyone knows your name. The rooms were OK. The beds were clean and the linens were soft. The rooms were quite room to room but the hallways lead you to believe the walls are paper thin. This is my first stay away from a major like Hyatt or Marriott. I booked for location and the SB experience. I was a little scared and shocked at first however I spent little time in my room and was happy in the end. I would recommend to someone who wants to feel welcomed and safe and wants to relax in the middle of all the action of South Beach Miami. This is a inside cabin room if you know what I mean. Who wants to spend time in your room in Miami????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a drink at the Versace Mansion a short walk via the boardwalk. Follow that up with food and beverages at the streetside Palace Bar located at the corner of 12th and Ocean Dr. Tell the owner you read about this in Orbitz.

Back to menu Return to top