$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molasse
Business
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great location and good place for relaxation

Very convenient hotel for beach access and night life access. Lincoln Road (where all the shopping and dinning happen) is just two blocks away. The pool is very nice and clean, and it is warm!!!. Very well kept. The pathway (nice paver /brick road) between hotel and beach is fantastic: walking, bicycling, roller skating, skate boarding....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban food is a must. We ate at Yuca for Thanksgiving dinner. Maya Tapas offers Argentinian flavor; very good. Sushi Samba is also very good (we tried a Brazilian dish there and it was good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reffy
Business
Virginia
Mar 10, 2012

One night stay

The staff was great. Everyone was very helpul and informative. The room was kind of crowded, with no place to sit other than the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat at Maxine's accross from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Saffas
Business
Johannesburg, South Africa
Apr 1, 2012

Comfortable place to stay

The South Seas is a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay if you're heading to South Beach, Miami. All you need is in close walking distance. The fact that breakfast was included in the rate was great and the selection of food for breakfast was good. It was our first visit to the USA, so we can not compare to other hotels in the States.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Miami Hop-On/Hop-Off Bus is a great way to see Miami. Tickets are valid for a full 24 hours (and some include a boat trip as well). There is a stop about 5 minutes walk from the South Seas Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BargainHunter
Business
Hyannis, Barnstable, MA 02601, USA
May 2, 2012

Good value

If you are looking for a value in South Beach this is the place. The rooms were clean, the restaurant had great food and the location is just around the corner from Ocean Drive. The downside is the elevators were dated, the pool a bit small and only a few rooms have any sort of a view other than the side of the hotel next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Front Porch Cafe - a don't miss. Great food at reasonable prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariaSG
Business
Mississauga,Ontario,Canada
Aug 5, 2012

Valet staffs very helpful & quick

Staffs are Ok, valet staffs are very quick in getting your car& helpful. Close to South Beach if you like to party. The room is too small ,The air conditioner was not working,there were water dripping from the unit.They replaced it with a portable one which was very noisy. We didn't bother to complain as we are only staying for one night on our way to Key West but they could have mentioned about it when we checked in. Good location just few steps to the beach. Lincoln Rd (pedestrian mall) is very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant at Washington St, reasonable price & very good choices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saruman
Business
New York
Nov 10, 2012

Well-located, but nothing special

Not sure how this hotel claims 4 stars. It's just okay, that's my impression. Everything is pretty old, as in, nor renovated in a while, at least that's how it feels. Beds, TVs, AC are good, but elevators, walls, carpets remind of dorms. The staff isn't very helpful, probably expecting to be tipped upfront. If you can help it, get a room on the higher floor, otherwise you'll hear people walking by and over your head all the time. The location is great, though - beach, Lincoln Road just a block away. And it was cheap, at least during the off-days, that is, not Friday to Sunday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT Steak is as great as in NY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pavel D
Business
Washington DC
Dec 9, 2012

Cheap but bit old

We stayed just two nights, the second I was scared by big cocrouch, and my wife could not sleep any more... Close to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SOBE Chuck
Business
CT, USA
May 1, 2013

First time to SOBE

If it was just about location, then the South Seas would be a 10. I guess that's what you are paying for here. Otherwise, it's just an average hotel and overpriced for the room quality (at least mine# and amenities offered. I was not to impressed with the hotel front desk staff. Upon check-in, I was promptly put in a room that I did not reserve. I made my reservation #pre-paid# five months b4 my trip, #they had no record of my reservation when I tried to confirm just prior to arriving#. Though we were moved to another room, #after the fact#, I think it was the last leftover king room with the noisy AC. The room was clean though, lol. The pool, grounds and staff were very nice. The beach is beautiful but be prepared to pay $$ for each day you go if you want to use a chair and umbrella. #they do not tell you this at the hotel). Probably won't be back to this hotel any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ames Beach Goer
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 6, 2013

Pool & Location!

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk to almost anywhere...South Beach and Lincoln Road. It's away from the loudness of South Beach which is great. Also, the pool area was very nice. We ate lunch at the pool most days because they had a decent pool bar with service to your lounge chairs. The room was very small. The toilet flushed itself every 5 mins, driving us crazy. The beds were very hard too. Sooo...if its location and a pool you want.. stay here. If its comfort, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Man68
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 13, 2014

Room was OK

Room was small and it was a suite. Very noisy from outside (hotel machinery) and elevators. Staff friendly and accommodating. Heard from others food is delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top