$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
183 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2007

Nice Atmosphere

This was a very, very nice place. The pool, the access to the beach, the hotel restaurant, the included breakfast, the terrific location would have one believe that this is at least a 4 star hotel. The maid service was outstanding, and the room was immaculate. I did not have much interaction with the staff, but whenever I did, they were very friendly, and polite. I would absolutely stay here again. Lincoln Road is very close; there is a 24-hour Walgreen's in case you need anything, and lovely shops nearby. Ocean Drive is about 4 blocks down and one over for Starbucks and Haagen-Dazs, and the nightclubs are farther down than that. I loved that the back gate opened out onto the beach, and the hammock area was very relaxing. The variety here is excellent- you have Burger King and some informal, inexpensive restaurants right nearby, and some more expensive, upscale places, too, should you want that. I highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are inexpensive tours available, a city bus tour, a tour of the Everglades, Parrot Jungle. My favorite was an hour cruise that left from Bayside (which has a lovely mall), and shows the Port of Miami, plus some beautiful homes of famous people, built right along the water.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria and Roy
New York, NY
Jul 4, 2009

Perfect South Beach Hotel

This hotel is excellent!! The location was close enough to all the South Beach action (short walk or $7 taxi ride to Ocean Drive) but far enough way that when it came time to leave the partying behind, the hotel felt like an oasis. The pool area is very relaxing (especially the hammocks in the back) and the private entrance to the beach was excellent. Also, while they provide as many amenities (if not more) as other nearby hotels, there is no hidden resort fee at this hotel. Our only regret was that we only stayed for 4 days (next time, it will definately be a week or more). The staff was very professional, helpful and friendly. I've never encountered a staff like this in the United States in all my hotel stays (only in the Dominican Republic). I would recommend this hotel to anyone that's looking for a relaxing vacation in South Beach (especially couples and families).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for a refrigerator (no charge) and make a short trip to Walgreens (two blocks away on Lincoln) and stock up on water, juice, cold cuts and other small foods (even beer before midnight) to help save on food and drink costs. This way, you only need to buy dinner (the free breakfast served by the hotel is excellent)!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Apr 22, 2008

Wonderful family vacation location

The South Seas hotel in Miami was wonderful.My family of four enjoyed every thing about this hotel, it's location to shopping, dining and the beach was perfect only a short walk to any of them. The staff was friendly and always helpful. We can't wait to get back to the South Seas Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk is all it took to get to shopping, dining and the beach.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 24, 2007

Clean and Modern

Our stay at the South Seas hotel was great. They have a (good) free breakfast every morning which is nice when you're on a budget. The rooms were small (but so are all hotel rooms in South Beach) but clean. The pool area is great. The location is awesome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Edmonton, CA
Nov 26, 2009

Great hotel and service.

Excellent location and close to the shops and good restaurants. Lots to do in South Miami Beach. If you like great shopping, entertainment and great beaches then this is the place to be. We had a fantastic time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GTerra
Springfield, Ma
Apr 25, 2010

GT

We had stayed there last year and wanted to return because it was such a great hotel. Great staff and service. Rooms were extremely clean. Wonderful location, far enough away from the noise of Ocean Drive, but close enough to enjoy Ocean Drive and it's entertaniment. Will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, NY
Jun 23, 2009

We had a blast

We relaxed and party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CircuitSir
Pennsylvania
Apr 30, 2013

Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their pool bar. Would stay there again and also recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Apr 22, 2008

Wonderful family vacation location

The South Seas hotel in Miami was wonderful.My family of four enjoyed every thing about this hotel, it's location to shopping, dining and the beach was perfect only a short walk to any of them. The staff was friendly and always helpful. We can't wait to get back to the South Seas Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk is all it took to get to shopping, dining and the beach.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, NY
Jun 23, 2009

We had a blast

We relaxed and party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top