$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
134 reviews
Wonderful place

This is a really beautiful, well placed resort. Very nice that there is the breakfast by the... See full review

  • Susan R.
  • Apr 17, 2015
Great Miami Beach hotel

Had a lovely stay at this beautiful hotel. Located in great spot on busy Miami Beach the resort is... See full review

  • Susan R.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary hot breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chilly Will 87
Business
Anaheim CA
Mar 26, 2014

South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide breakfast from 7-10 am, they even have large foam cups near the ice machine to make make ur own drinks. Rooms and hotel were very clean. Highly recomend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay near 17th and walk down to bars/clubs nears 7th and 8th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mountainmama67
Business
costa rica
Nov 23, 2011

South Seas

All previous reviews were accurate! We had a great time! The cabanas were sexy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicka113
Business
London
Dec 4, 2011

What more could you want.

Great location with easy access to the beach, helpful and friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast is perfect to start your day with.. something so simple puts it a cut above similar hotels in the area. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CircuitSir
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 30, 2013

Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their pool bar. Would stay there again and also recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 24, 2007

Clean and Modern

Our stay at the South Seas hotel was great. They have a (good) free breakfast every morning which is nice when you're on a budget. The rooms were small (but so are all hotel rooms in South Beach) but clean. The pool area is great. The location is awesome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2007

Nice Atmosphere

This was a very, very nice place. The pool, the access to the beach, the hotel restaurant, the included breakfast, the terrific location would have one believe that this is at least a 4 star hotel. The maid service was outstanding, and the room was immaculate. I did not have much interaction with the staff, but whenever I did, they were very friendly, and polite. I would absolutely stay here again. Lincoln Road is very close; there is a 24-hour Walgreen's in case you need anything, and lovely shops nearby. Ocean Drive is about 4 blocks down and one over for Starbucks and Haagen-Dazs, and the nightclubs are farther down than that. I loved that the back gate opened out onto the beach, and the hammock area was very relaxing. The variety here is excellent- you have Burger King and some informal, inexpensive restaurants right nearby, and some more expensive, upscale places, too, should you want that. I highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are inexpensive tours available, a city bus tour, a tour of the Everglades, Parrot Jungle. My favorite was an hour cruise that left from Bayside (which has a lovely mall), and shows the Port of Miami, plus some beautiful homes of famous people, built right along the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Dec 31, 2008

Fun South Beach

This hotel is in a nice location. It is an old hotel.The bathtub is 1920's!!! I still really liked it. I liked the pool. I liked the closeness to the beach. I liked the fact that they had a breakfast buffet. Nothing hot, but I like that you can munch and go in the morning. There isn't much parking in the front to even regisiter at the desk, but the valet parking was efficient. The room itself is a bit small for my taste. We got a semi view of the beach, which wasn't great. The bathroom is small also. the shower was okay. They do have robes for you, a bit stiff, but they are there. We had a couple of drinks at the bar about 10PM or so, it was low key but nice. Bartender was nice and helpful. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would consider this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Rd (or St not sure)just a couple of blocks away. Great shopping and restaurants.Lots of jewelry. Some galleries etc. Can eat outside on a nice day, I enjoyed that!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 9, 2007

Perfect place, close to everything

The South Seas Hotel has been my refuge for the past three years. I go back just because everything is close by. You got stores, restaurants, nightclubs at a walking distance. Its just about 3-5 blocks & you'll find the hottest restaurants, stores, beaches, & the famous... Ocean Drive. This hotel even has free breakfast every morning, served fresh from 7am-10:30am (11am on wkds). The pool area is very clean and always has an attendant putting clean towels out. By the pool, you'll find the Pilikia restaurant, also very good! The boardwalk just behind South Seas is perfect for talking walks and taking a swim in the ocean. I definitely recommend it for anyone looking to go to South Beach. Both for singles, getaways for couples, & for families. Have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2007

Great location and friendly staff

First of all I loved the location and the fact that you can just walk to the beach...Apart from that, I really can't complain about anything. The only thing I can't review is the hotel dining option as I never dined there. But the bar looked very cool and relaxing. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a single female definitly go to Sky bar in Shore hotel and you will meet a cute guy without any effort. They will come to you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Jun 26, 2007

GREAT HOTEL....COSTLY AREA!

ROOM WAS KIND OF SMALL FOR THE PRICE BUT THIS IS EXPECTED IN SOUTH BEACH. VERY FRIENDLY, ALLOWED EARLY CHECK IN AND GAVE AN UPGRADE DUE TO THIS BEING OUR HONEYMOON. STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY. PARKING WAS OUTRAGEOUS, $22 A NIGHT, BUT IT IS SOBE! AREA WAS CLEAN. FOOD, EVEN AWAY FROM THE HOTEL WAS VERY PRICEY. 2 CHEESEBURGERS, ONE ORDER OF FRIES, AND 2 DRINKS WERE $56. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS MOTEL TO OTHERS IF YOU MUST GO TO SOBE BUT MY PREFERENCE IS MYRTLE BEACH SOUTH CAROLINA OR THE OUTER BANKS OF NORTH CAROLINA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT SHOPPING ALONG THE HISTORIC LINCOLN ROAD AREA AS WELL AS A SHORT WALK TO SEVERAL NICE EATERIES ON THE OCEAN FRONT. MOTEL HAD GREAT LOCATION IN ORDER TO WALK TO ALL AREAS OF SOBE. THERE IS NOT ANY PARKING IN THIS TOWN SO LOCATION IS A MUST

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top