$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
183 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anett
Danbury ct
Jun 9, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Nice small hotel on the beach. Friendly staff, close to everything. Free continental breakfast was good as Miami is very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Burr
Chicago, IL
May 13, 2014

Relaxing Trip for Two

"This Winter Is Awful" "Why do we even live in Chicago?" "AHHHHHGHGHGH!!!" That lead us to the South Seas, and we couldn't of been happier. It was the perfect place for a couple (or family from what we observed) who wants to be on a beach, but doesn't need to be caught up in an all day rave. We had a great time relaxing at the pool, walking to the beach, hanging in the hammocks, and drinkings the tropical drinks! At the South Seas there is a good mix of young couples, young parents, singles, and those 50+. You Won't Regret Your Trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Calamari is Delicious and the Rum Runner is strong!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
capekupl
FL
Apr 6, 2014

perfect place to stay in South Beach

The hotel staff were very attentive and friendly. The pool and beach area were lovely, as was the simple but adequate included breakfast which could be eaten inside or at the poolside. The hallways were kind of dingy, and the room was tiny (328), but the bed was nicely made and comfortable. Since we didn't spend much time in the room, we didn't care about its size. Aside from the great staff, the star feature of this hotel is that it is at the end of South Beach, so didn't get any noise at night. The neighborhood was busy but nice. We could walk anywhere to and from South Beach, so didn't need the car which we left in valet parking at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Art Deco walking tour.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Celebrant
Cape Cod
Apr 5, 2014

Pale New Englanders head to South Seas

First night the room seemed less than clean but with each successive cleanings each morning it became more inviting. The setting was fantastic ! Old school South Beach splendor with family friendly atmosphere. Love the real orchids and art work. Complimentary breakfast was good and the coffee strong! The pool and surrounding areas well tended and secure. Being so close to the boardwalk and beach was really a plus. Overall we left feeling refreshed and alive !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If there is more than one of you skip the shuttle and take a cab from the airport

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick1zyx
Fort Wayne, IN
Jan 6, 2014

First time visit

Great location, easy to get around, short walk to all the shops and cafes on Lincoln St. The room and bathroom were small due to the age of the hotel. All room views were of the hotel right next door locate 25 feet away! The elevators were extremely small and slow due to the age of the hotel. Pool was real nice and the cabanas and hammocks were all nice. And the ocean beach was real convenient. Staff was all pleasant. Breakfast was all continental, no hot food, just breads and fruit, cereal and yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No need to rent a car. The local bus service and cabs are excellent. Hotel is right on the bus route. Easy to walk to everything. Walgreens is two blocks away if you need anything. Check out the Airport Express Bus 150 to get to and from the airport.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michnyc
ny, ny
Sep 10, 2013

one night miami getaway

Great hotel, great location, would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pamcakes423
Willmar, MN
Jul 16, 2013

Wonderful

Affordable. Access to the beach was so easy. The pool was beautiful and the hammocks were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SOBE Chuck
CT, USA
May 1, 2013

First time to SOBE

If it was just about location, then the South Seas would be a 10. I guess that's what you are paying for here. Otherwise, it's just an average hotel and overpriced for the room quality (at least mine# and amenities offered. I was not to impressed with the hotel front desk staff. Upon check-in, I was promptly put in a room that I did not reserve. I made my reservation #pre-paid# five months b4 my trip, #they had no record of my reservation when I tried to confirm just prior to arriving#. Though we were moved to another room, #after the fact#, I think it was the last leftover king room with the noisy AC. The room was clean though, lol. The pool, grounds and staff were very nice. The beach is beautiful but be prepared to pay $$ for each day you go if you want to use a chair and umbrella. #they do not tell you this at the hotel). Probably won't be back to this hotel any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CircuitSir
Pennsylvania
Apr 30, 2013

Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their pool bar. Would stay there again and also recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Carlito
Boise, Idaho
Mar 7, 2013

South Seas Hotel, South Beach Miami

This hotel was perfect if you are heading to South Beach & want a reasonably priced hotel room. Yes, $300 per night is a lot for what the room is, but this was the cheapest & best hotel we saw for the money. There is a free breakfast buffet every morning (decent, think yogurt, bananas, bagels) which saved time & money everyday. Room was fine, nice ocean view, staff was very friendly, pool was great. I originally wanted to stay at SLS, but am so glad we stayed here! SLS is only two hotels down from South Seas and it is a gorgeous hotel, but you can save yourself $1,200 and just walk over for dinner at Katsuya (best sushi restaurant EVER--you must get the Special Katsuya Roll!!) and to see the giant silver duck at the pool there. Hotel location is fantastic--short walk to Lincoln Road Mall. Also, my favorite part of trip was Delano hotel's pool-definitely try to make it over & get some frozen fruit and mojitos. Best pool I've ever seen (blows any pool in Vegas out of the water!) Be prepared for South Beach prices --which do rival those of Vegas! Also, make it over to the Fountainbleau Hotel (short cab ride)--just BEAUTIFUL hotel with Liv nightclub inside. Ok, and W hotel if you have time. Pretty awesome outdoor area there (The Grove) and The Dutch was very unique bar as well. We had an amazing time, South Beach is amazing! If you are planning to go to Miami for first visit, I would recommend staying on South Beach (..not on Biscayne Bay.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top