$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
121 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Comfortable hotel and great location for beach.

Location, location, location! This hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to good... See full review

  • Dorothy from Atlanta
  • Dec 1, 2014
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary hot breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jan 3, 2012

SHADY

The same day we checked out we got calls shortly after from our CC monitoring that week for about 1000 dollars in fraudulent charges. Also our sheets weren't changed the whole time we were there, and staff is extremely unfriendly. We think that the one friendly person there was the one who stole our financial info.. you get what you pay for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mckenn5566
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Mar 10, 2012

You will be embarrassed to bring friends to your room!!

Hostel like!!! Small small room!! No decor. Cheap hard spring bed. Ceiling paper was peeling off. And walls were discolored. Piping was exposed in the room. Bathroom was so small ! Like ridiculous! plus the toilet was running ! Floors were creeky and so was the elevator. The elevator was only big enough for 4 & years past inspection! You would certainly be embarrassed to have anyone back to    these rooms!! Valet cost 30 which we agreed to pay. When we got our car we relized they drove it using a quarter tank of gas and stole several items of value... But their not liable. So WARNING: DON'T STAY HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KatrieLA
Business
Los Angeles,Ca
Dec 13, 2012

NOT 4 STARS!!!!!

I have no idea why it says that this hotel is a 4 star hotel, more like a 1 1/2 star! I would consider it a MOTEL not a hotel. I think that staying at motel 6 would have been teller than this one. There is nothing wrong with boutique hotels, i have stayed at a few in miami and there is still a form or luxury & comfort to it. However with this one absolutely not. The bathroom u can bearly turn around in. There was aunts all over the bathtub. If your not awake by the time the cleaning lady comes your lady is NOT returning! I stayed there 5 days and seen lizards on my window twice! Horrible all around! I would suggest ANYWHERE ELSE besides here! Yes, evea motel may be nicer Ps. the staff was extremely rude and unhelpful.... The only great thing about this place is its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephanie56
Business
NY
Apr 23, 2013

Misleading in Miami

The hotel is old, the rooms are small...major renovations needed. Bug in the closet, mold in the bathroom, expired elevator inspection, old furniture, smelly rooms..only good thing about this hotel was its location. Extremely upset about the amount i paid for this hotel...the pictures look nothing like the rooms...extremely misleading...i've stayed at a miami star and it blows this hotel out of the water...and much much cheaper. I'd say spend the extra money on a decent hotel...or just stay at a motel if you want something cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Matasha
Business
Ukraine
May 20, 2013

Bad hotel

Why not put the sills under the doors? Under the door to our room a couple of times came a huge cockroach!!! Sitting in the room we could hear everything going on in the neighboring rooms and hallway!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jan 12, 2010

olga andeeva

All I know Iwill newer ever go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Addison, IL
Dec 28, 2009

Not too good

Unfriendly staff, not very helpful. Smelly room with terrible view. Only good thing about this place is a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 1, 2008

Poor customer service

The front desk staff was rude and very unaccomodating. They gave us a difficult time with an early check-in and wanted to charge a fee for late check out. The first night at the hotel the bed linens were very dirty and the hotel did nothing to make-up for the dirty linens. Our toilet was broken and supposedly fixed but ran all night long making noise. The only positive part was the quality of food at the pool restaurant, although very expensive. Overall, thumbs down!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of variety along Lincoln Ave if you walk all the way down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 11, 2010

Hotel

Was only one night it did not impress me for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great location, but that's about it!!!

I rate the hotel a one star only for the following reasons- The guests are not the first priority of the staff. Only one doorman actually acted like a doorman, and only one maid seemed to be conscientious. As for everyone else, especially the front desk, everyone was more interested in gabbing with co-workers, and preferred to push problems and concerns off to the next shift if they could. I do not have enough space here to go into detail, but we will not be returning. It wasn't the bugs in the room, it was the lassez-faire reaction of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wonderful food at the Miami Beach Marina- went to Monty's Seafood, and Texas de Brazil, a short cab ride, and the food and service at both locations were top-notch. They are at 300 Alton Road. Do not waste your time at Jerry's Kosher Deli. They are a joke. Seriously, they did not have about 8 dishes we asked for. Staff was nice, but it is truly not a kosher deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top