$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
183 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick1zyx
Fort Wayne, IN
Jan 6, 2014

First time visit

Great location, easy to get around, short walk to all the shops and cafes on Lincoln St. The room and bathroom were small due to the age of the hotel. All room views were of the hotel right next door locate 25 feet away! The elevators were extremely small and slow due to the age of the hotel. Pool was real nice and the cabanas and hammocks were all nice. And the ocean beach was real convenient. Staff was all pleasant. Breakfast was all continental, no hot food, just breads and fruit, cereal and yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No need to rent a car. The local bus service and cabs are excellent. Hotel is right on the bus route. Easy to walk to everything. Walgreens is two blocks away if you need anything. Check out the Airport Express Bus 150 to get to and from the airport.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 5, 2008

great location

the south seas hotel is located in South Beach Miami on the beach nears the lincoln Mall, as a result its location was very conducive to touring South Beach without the necessity of hiring a cab. It is an older hotel on the strip which was the only disappointment (besides the weather - coldest in twenty five years during our visit) however, it was clean and the staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, restaurants, people watching were available within two blocks at Lincoln Mall, night life available within steps of the hotel and immediate beach access. This hotel was in a great location.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boimsty
Richmond, VA
May 22, 2009

South Seas Hotel

We enjoyed South Seas Hotel. Our only complaint was that the rooms were small. We didn't have space to put all of our toiletries, etc. so I never felt organized while we were there. But the location is great, great pool, great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Finnegan's Way on Ocean Drive. Great food for reasonable prices. And great wait staff!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Discontented with Winter
New York, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Good Winter Escape

A friend of mine and I were desperate to escape the New York winter and the South Seas provided a welcome respite. The room was clean and quiet, the staff friendly and the pool lovely. It's great that it's right on the beach and the continental breakfast (included) was adequate--although the coffee flavored water could've been better. The only real negative is having to pay for pretty poorly maintained seat on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great spa on Lincoln Rd., Spa e, that's worth a stop for a pedicure or facial.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 15, 2008

Nice for couples

The South Seas Hotel at first felt a little cramped,but we were able to adjust very easily. The hotel is within walking distance from Lincoln road which has a tremendous amount of shops, restaurants, and clubs. I am also glad that the hotel provided valet service, something that I was unsure of before visiting. It was an overall comfortable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the restaurant Nexxt located on Lincoln Rd. It offers casual dining in a hip upbeat enviroment and serves generous portions of food without breaking your wallet.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BxCouple
Bronx, NY
Jul 16, 2009

Great location

The staff was very helpful and attentive. The location was great right in the middle of all the action and is right across from the beach. Fro the price you can't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 5, 2009

The comfort and location is good

Visit friends and some shopping Minibar in the room will be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Finns
Commerce, MI, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Winter Getaway

Good location on the beach and within short walking distance to the nightly action. Areas of improvement are things that would be quite difficult for this hotel to address such as small bathrooms and a single, slow elevator. Overall good experience for reasonable value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get suckered into the oversized & over priced drinks ($25 per) that many of the restaurants were pushing.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose, ca
May 5, 2009

Great Location.

We stayed one night after a cruise. The hotel was very beautiful, the check-in staff was nice (however they forgot to give us our early wake-up call! Luckily we had ORBITZ call us as a reminder!) The location was perfect, the beach was beautiful, but the rooms were right on the hallway and we could hear all the people walking back and forth. It wasn't too bad however. The rooms aren't huge or new, but it's part of the charm of the hotel. The bed was really big, roomy and comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christian09x
Miami, FL
Mar 17, 2014

South Seas Experience

This hotel was great. It is located only a few steps from the beach and has a great pool/bar area. It is also conveniently located next to many good local bars and hang outs. The only problem I had was the valet service, which took over an hour to get my vehicle. I notified the front desk and they promptly removed the valet charge. I would recommend this hotel and would likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top