$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
120 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Great location!!

The hotel's location is its best characteristic. It is at a great point in Miami Beach (a good spot... See full review

  • Renzo from Brazil
  • Oct 15, 2014
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mountainmama67
costa rica
Nov 23, 2011

South Seas

All previous reviews were accurate! We had a great time! The cabanas were sexy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tyrese
Business
New York
May 6, 2013

Stay was amazing!!

The staff was wonderful and friendly. The food at the pool bar was great. I know its probably not a big deal to some people but the fact that the deep end of the pool was 8ft was wonderful for me. I get so tired of going to these resorts/hotels and the pool is only 5ft deep. I want a real pool not a kiddy pool! I will definitely recommend to my friends and I will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pamcakes423
Business
Willmar, MN
Jul 16, 2013

Wonderful

Affordable. Access to the beach was so easy. The pool was beautiful and the hammocks were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michnyc
Business
ny, ny
Sep 10, 2013

one night miami getaway

Great hotel, great location, would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corporal Sherman
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 31, 2013

Fantastic Family getaway

This hotel is perfect for families, as there are more families who stayed here then couples and singles. First off, this is a beautiful hotel with an outstanding, professional staff. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bed is very comfortable. Secondly, if you need anything such as towels, washrags, or any toiletries, house keeping is at your door within seconds to deliver it to you. I stayed here October 24-28th and it was incredible. DISREGARD, the negative comments because there is nothing negatuve I have to say about the hotel or the room. It is located between 17th and 18th street on Collins ave. It is also within 6-7 blocks away from all of the fun(bars, nightclubs), and only 2 blocks away from the beach. I was hesitant to book this hotel with all of the negative reviews but I booked it anyway and was very shocked. My overall experience was perfect to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anett
Business
Danbury ct
Jun 9, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Nice small hotel on the beach. Friendly staff, close to everything. Free continental breakfast was good as Miami is very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 15, 2008

Nice for couples

The South Seas Hotel at first felt a little cramped,but we were able to adjust very easily. The hotel is within walking distance from Lincoln road which has a tremendous amount of shops, restaurants, and clubs. I am also glad that the hotel provided valet service, something that I was unsure of before visiting. It was an overall comfortable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the restaurant Nexxt located on Lincoln Rd. It offers casual dining in a hip upbeat enviroment and serves generous portions of food without breaking your wallet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MommyLippy
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 10, 2011

Perfect place for our

We chose this hotel for our last minute girlfriends trip. Our main goal was to be on the beach and have a luxurious pool. This hotel gave us both. The pool area was gorgeous, the hammocks in the shade very relaxing and the beach was fabulous. The pool bar made a perfect mojito and the food was excellent. The service at the hotel was good and very accomodating. Our room was small but adequate. We especially appreciated the separate walk-in closet where we could keep our suitcases and clothes. One tip-only close the blinds at night, not the curtains because the ac will blow up underneath the curtains instead of into the room and the room will get very warm very quickly. Fortunately we figured this out the first night. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice feature. There was a variety of people staying there, families, older couples, a bachelor party, and some other girls on a "girlfriends trip". In the evenings we tested out some of the night life (the Delano was beautiful but expensive!, Mangos was fun, avoid Mr. Chows). Lincoln Rd. was a pleasant few block walk and we ate there a couple of nights and shopped. We really were thoroughly pleased with our stay and would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One night we ate at Nexxt Cafe at the Lincoln Road shopping area. It had the biggest menu I've ever seen and very reasonable prices (especially for the area). The food was good (our server not so great) and the outdoor seating provided lots of entertainment people-watching!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annabelee
Business
boston, ma
Oct 13, 2009

great location, friendly staff. QUIET

Right on the beach. Great location AND quiet. The only drawback was the "fitness center," which consisted of a treadmill, old beat up stationary bicycle and small hand weights tucked behind the pool with no AC. Great, friendly staff. Clean rooms. Apple Ipod radio great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
May 5, 2009

Great Location.

We stayed one night after a cruise. The hotel was very beautiful, the check-in staff was nice (however they forgot to give us our early wake-up call! Luckily we had ORBITZ call us as a reminder!) The location was perfect, the beach was beautiful, but the rooms were right on the hallway and we could hear all the people walking back and forth. It wasn't too bad however. The rooms aren't huge or new, but it's part of the charm of the hotel. The bed was really big, roomy and comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 5, 2009

The comfort and location is good

Visit friends and some shopping Minibar in the room will be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top