$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 26, 2011

Not worth the money you pay

We had a late arrival and was very tired. We had booked the ocean front room and in order to get to the room we had to go up a flight stairs with our luggage and down a flight of stairs to get to the elevator that would take us to our floor. No one offered to help with the luggage. The picture on the internet showed the room had hardwood floors but when we got to the room, the room had carpet. The room was not bad but the halls to get to the rooms were very old and nasty looking. The elevator sounded like it was going to fall apart. We will not go back to this hotel and will probably not even visit Miami again due to our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
press toward the mark
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 15, 2011

It was nice

The pool area is great. Continental Breakfast was great. Rooms were ok and bathrooms were small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colie
Business
mass
Mar 5, 2011

ok

[...] I ended up paying extra $$ for a cab both ways. The staff was nice, the beach is right outside the gated pool area which was very nice (the beach that is). The cushions on the pool lounge chairs were stained, time for new ones. The hotel wasn't a four star hotel in my opinion (3 star at most). The room was very small and not very clean (hairs in the bathroom, grime and dirt in the vents and corners) the rooms hair dryer didn't work and was gross w/ make-up all over the handle. I didn't care for the resturant in the hotel at all but there were plenty of resturants just outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colie
Business
mass
Mar 5, 2011

ok

[...] I ended up paying extra $$ for a cab both ways. The staff was nice, the beach is right outside the gated pool area which was very nice (the beach that is). The cushions on the pool lounge chairs were stained, time for new ones. The hotel wasn't a four star hotel in my opinion (3 star at most). The room was very small and not very clean (hairs in the bathroom, grime and dirt in the vents and corners) the rooms hair dryer didn't work and was gross w/ make-up all over the handle. I didn't care for the resturant in the hotel at all but there were plenty of resturants just outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FLL Guest
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 2, 2011

A hidden gem on SOBE

Perfect for quick get away - great location close to Lincoln Rd. - late night swim in heated saltwater pool - tropical garden with hammocks - quiet and clean rooms - loved the retro pics of Miami - outstanding breakfast spread - and friendly staff - can't ask for more. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Rd. Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Feb 28, 2011

Very nice stay

Very very good location. Really beautiful swimming pool, and nice palm garden. Also, beach in front. Having lunch and cocktail around the swimming pool was great No issue at all with the towel when you go to the beach (cf older reviews). The rooms look a little old and small but the bedding is high quality (and I am picky on bedding) and you really spend no time in the room. Breakfast is included and fair. Perfect for families with kids, teenagers or for behaved young adults. Not really for party people (see across at Catalina). We had a great time there and wil definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 25, 2011

Good for the price

The rooms are very small no ocean view or any view at that matter. Staff and service were great! Pool was good, right on the beach which was awesome! Short walking distance to dining, shops and everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 25, 2011

Quite nice!

I was pleasantly surprised overall with the hotel. paid $20 extra for "beach view" room, which overlooked pool. the hotel is not fancy, but very well run, great location, clean, well-furnished room with good light--not overly large, but big enough for one person, or two. nice bathroom, very helpful staff. Nice pool. had a slightly musty feel in the hallways, but not bad. They even delivered the Sunday NY Times at my request! Pretty good value for money--although I don't know how other hotels stack up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Michael's Genuine Food and drink--good restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dc
Nov 30, 2010

Great location, little pricy, ok service

Front desk attendant was responsive. Hallway carpets were a little dirty but rooms were clean. Cable TV broke down and AC stalled once but eventually staff fixed the TV and AC worked later. Staff took a while to respoond to special requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orland Park, Illinois
Nov 18, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Miami Beach. We had previously stayed at large resorts in South Beach but decided this time to stay at a smaller hotel. The South Seas was a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff, attentive service and a great location with easy access to beach and Lincoln road. Although the hotel has a "few miles" on it, the property was well maintained and clean. The rooms were small but comfortable with the modern comforts of deluxe beds and flat screen TV. The Pilakia lounge offered friendly bartenders, pretty decent bar food and a very good continental breakfast. The pool and hammock garden areas were well maintained intimate and comforable. A great bargain is to buy the Pilakia card which for $50 purchase has a bar value of $80. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would easily return to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top