$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Its All Relative
Business
Delray Beach, FL, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Great Hotel, Excellent Location

South Seas had it all.. nice pool, beach access, wifi, better-than-standard continental breakfast, typically small for Sobe but clean rooms, accommodating staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything is a short walk or quick taxi ride. Lincoln road one block away.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ktownbeachgoer
Business
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Mar 17, 2012

Repeat guests for family getaway

South Seas Hotel is located in the heart of South Beach, is within walking distance to sooo many sites and has direct beach access. Great family hotel selection!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slovelace
Business
Virginia
Mar 2, 2013

Birthday getaway

My mother and I travelled to Miami for my 25th birthday. We were able to check in early and head straight to the beach! Staff was friendly, there was valet parking for about $25 a day(in and out), right on the beach and walking distance to many shops and bars. The room was average, but linens and bathroom were clean. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. The price and location were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Carlito
Business
Boise, Idaho
Mar 7, 2013

South Seas Hotel, South Beach Miami

This hotel was perfect if you are heading to South Beach & want a reasonably priced hotel room. Yes, $300 per night is a lot for what the room is, but this was the cheapest & best hotel we saw for the money. There is a free breakfast buffet every morning (decent, think yogurt, bananas, bagels) which saved time & money everyday. Room was fine, nice ocean view, staff was very friendly, pool was great. I originally wanted to stay at SLS, but am so glad we stayed here! SLS is only two hotels down from South Seas and it is a gorgeous hotel, but you can save yourself $1,200 and just walk over for dinner at Katsuya (best sushi restaurant EVER--you must get the Special Katsuya Roll!!) and to see the giant silver duck at the pool there. Hotel location is fantastic--short walk to Lincoln Road Mall. Also, my favorite part of trip was Delano hotel's pool-definitely try to make it over & get some frozen fruit and mojitos. Best pool I've ever seen (blows any pool in Vegas out of the water!) Be prepared for South Beach prices --which do rival those of Vegas! Also, make it over to the Fountainbleau Hotel (short cab ride)--just BEAUTIFUL hotel with Liv nightclub inside. Ok, and W hotel if you have time. Pretty awesome outdoor area there (The Grove) and The Dutch was very unique bar as well. We had an amazing time, South Beach is amazing! If you are planning to go to Miami for first visit, I would recommend staying on South Beach (..not on Biscayne Bay.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pamcakes423
Business
Willmar, MN
Jul 16, 2013

Wonderful

Affordable. Access to the beach was so easy. The pool was beautiful and the hammocks were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michnyc
Business
ny, ny
Sep 10, 2013

one night miami getaway

Great hotel, great location, would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corporal Sherman
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 31, 2013

Fantastic Family getaway

This hotel is perfect for families, as there are more families who stayed here then couples and singles. First off, this is a beautiful hotel with an outstanding, professional staff. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bed is very comfortable. Secondly, if you need anything such as towels, washrags, or any toiletries, house keeping is at your door within seconds to deliver it to you. I stayed here October 24-28th and it was incredible. DISREGARD, the negative comments because there is nothing negatuve I have to say about the hotel or the room. It is located between 17th and 18th street on Collins ave. It is also within 6-7 blocks away from all of the fun(bars, nightclubs), and only 2 blocks away from the beach. I was hesitant to book this hotel with all of the negative reviews but I booked it anyway and was very shocked. My overall experience was perfect to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anett
Business
Danbury ct
Jun 9, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Nice small hotel on the beach. Friendly staff, close to everything. Free continental breakfast was good as Miami is very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 15, 2008

Nice for couples

The South Seas Hotel at first felt a little cramped,but we were able to adjust very easily. The hotel is within walking distance from Lincoln road which has a tremendous amount of shops, restaurants, and clubs. I am also glad that the hotel provided valet service, something that I was unsure of before visiting. It was an overall comfortable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the restaurant Nexxt located on Lincoln Rd. It offers casual dining in a hip upbeat enviroment and serves generous portions of food without breaking your wallet.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MommyLippy
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 10, 2011

Perfect place for our

We chose this hotel for our last minute girlfriends trip. Our main goal was to be on the beach and have a luxurious pool. This hotel gave us both. The pool area was gorgeous, the hammocks in the shade very relaxing and the beach was fabulous. The pool bar made a perfect mojito and the food was excellent. The service at the hotel was good and very accomodating. Our room was small but adequate. We especially appreciated the separate walk-in closet where we could keep our suitcases and clothes. One tip-only close the blinds at night, not the curtains because the ac will blow up underneath the curtains instead of into the room and the room will get very warm very quickly. Fortunately we figured this out the first night. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice feature. There was a variety of people staying there, families, older couples, a bachelor party, and some other girls on a "girlfriends trip". In the evenings we tested out some of the night life (the Delano was beautiful but expensive!, Mangos was fun, avoid Mr. Chows). Lincoln Rd. was a pleasant few block walk and we ate there a couple of nights and shopped. We really were thoroughly pleased with our stay and would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One night we ate at Nexxt Cafe at the Lincoln Road shopping area. It had the biggest menu I've ever seen and very reasonable prices (especially for the area). The food was good (our server not so great) and the outdoor seating provided lots of entertainment people-watching!

Back to menu Return to top