$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
120 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colie
Business
mass
Mar 5, 2011

ok

[...] I ended up paying extra $$ for a cab both ways. The staff was nice, the beach is right outside the gated pool area which was very nice (the beach that is). The cushions on the pool lounge chairs were stained, time for new ones. The hotel wasn't a four star hotel in my opinion (3 star at most). The room was very small and not very clean (hairs in the bathroom, grime and dirt in the vents and corners) the rooms hair dryer didn't work and was gross w/ make-up all over the handle. I didn't care for the resturant in the hotel at all but there were plenty of resturants just outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FLL Guest
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 2, 2011

A hidden gem on SOBE

Perfect for quick get away - great location close to Lincoln Rd. - late night swim in heated saltwater pool - tropical garden with hammocks - quiet and clean rooms - loved the retro pics of Miami - outstanding breakfast spread - and friendly staff - can't ask for more. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Rd. Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Feb 28, 2011

Very nice stay

Very very good location. Really beautiful swimming pool, and nice palm garden. Also, beach in front. Having lunch and cocktail around the swimming pool was great No issue at all with the towel when you go to the beach (cf older reviews). The rooms look a little old and small but the bedding is high quality (and I am picky on bedding) and you really spend no time in the room. Breakfast is included and fair. Perfect for families with kids, teenagers or for behaved young adults. Not really for party people (see across at Catalina). We had a great time there and wil definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 25, 2011

Good for the price

The rooms are very small no ocean view or any view at that matter. Staff and service were great! Pool was good, right on the beach which was awesome! Short walking distance to dining, shops and everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 25, 2011

Quite nice!

I was pleasantly surprised overall with the hotel. paid $20 extra for "beach view" room, which overlooked pool. the hotel is not fancy, but very well run, great location, clean, well-furnished room with good light--not overly large, but big enough for one person, or two. nice bathroom, very helpful staff. Nice pool. had a slightly musty feel in the hallways, but not bad. They even delivered the Sunday NY Times at my request! Pretty good value for money--although I don't know how other hotels stack up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Michael's Genuine Food and drink--good restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dc
Nov 30, 2010

Great location, little pricy, ok service

Front desk attendant was responsive. Hallway carpets were a little dirty but rooms were clean. Cable TV broke down and AC stalled once but eventually staff fixed the TV and AC worked later. Staff took a while to respoond to special requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orland Park, Illinois
Nov 18, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Miami Beach. We had previously stayed at large resorts in South Beach but decided this time to stay at a smaller hotel. The South Seas was a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff, attentive service and a great location with easy access to beach and Lincoln road. Although the hotel has a "few miles" on it, the property was well maintained and clean. The rooms were small but comfortable with the modern comforts of deluxe beds and flat screen TV. The Pilakia lounge offered friendly bartenders, pretty decent bar food and a very good continental breakfast. The pool and hammock garden areas were well maintained intimate and comforable. A great bargain is to buy the Pilakia card which for $50 purchase has a bar value of $80. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would easily return to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Nov 13, 2010

enough

it had enough facility to relax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Precise P
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 25, 2010

If your on a budget this is an option

I ordered this trip at the last minute so my budget was tight and not pre-planned. I believe I got a good price for the hotel so I didn't have high expectations. The room was decent but small. The hotel could be much better if they took care of the small details such as cleaning the lamps, windows, and fixing the toilet so it didn't make a loud noise when it flushed. The security guard was good but the front desk woman wasn't helpful. Overall the place was clean and when we came back to the room late I was able to sleep. Also the continental breakfast was decent. The beach was right behind the hotel which was great. Book this place if you are on a budget and want to get a decent location in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I liked jet skiing on the beach which you got 30 minutes for $80.00. It was great. Also we went on a bus and boat ride tour of south beach that was cool because we went to little Cuba where I bought a cigar and we got to see some nice locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oporto, Portugal
Aug 16, 2010

Hotel for students

When I arrived my room was checked in accidently for another person. So since I had a late arrival the reception called at 1h00 in the morning to the room which upsetted and worried the people. They gave me another room to solve the problem but when I left the wanted to charge me the costs that the other people had done during their stay but everything was resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Washington Avenue go have lunch or dinner at a low cost japanese restaurant called Hiro's Sushi Express. Its in front of Madonna's Club. The best pizza is Rustica Pizza on Licoln Road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top