$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MommyLippy
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 10, 2011

Perfect place for our

We chose this hotel for our last minute girlfriends trip. Our main goal was to be on the beach and have a luxurious pool. This hotel gave us both. The pool area was gorgeous, the hammocks in the shade very relaxing and the beach was fabulous. The pool bar made a perfect mojito and the food was excellent. The service at the hotel was good and very accomodating. Our room was small but adequate. We especially appreciated the separate walk-in closet where we could keep our suitcases and clothes. One tip-only close the blinds at night, not the curtains because the ac will blow up underneath the curtains instead of into the room and the room will get very warm very quickly. Fortunately we figured this out the first night. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice feature. There was a variety of people staying there, families, older couples, a bachelor party, and some other girls on a "girlfriends trip". In the evenings we tested out some of the night life (the Delano was beautiful but expensive!, Mangos was fun, avoid Mr. Chows). Lincoln Rd. was a pleasant few block walk and we ate there a couple of nights and shopped. We really were thoroughly pleased with our stay and would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One night we ate at Nexxt Cafe at the Lincoln Road shopping area. It had the biggest menu I've ever seen and very reasonable prices (especially for the area). The food was good (our server not so great) and the outdoor seating provided lots of entertainment people-watching!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Astoria, NY
Aug 2, 2011

great location, friendly stuff

it was not the cleanest room, and we had to move to another one because i was not really happy with the "ocean view" from the first room. overall it's a nice hotel with very friendly stuff in a cool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of nice restaurants along lincoln road. opposite the hotel is a delicious sushi restaurant, "kung fu kitchen".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 29, 2011

South Seas Hotel (June 2011)

We were on a couples' vacation. Overall it was a great hotel (price, location, service, and food). The rooms were a little small, but comfortable and "cute" nice. The room price and food prices were reasonable. The restaurant in the hotel was great; great service, great food and drinks. The food was delicious! Prepared fresh to order. The pool was well kept, fun and peaceful. The location was perfect! No "riff-raff", not over populated at the beach or the pool area. We definitely enjoyed the fact that the hotel had it's own private pool and private beach access. There were plenty of near by shops and restautants. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate New York
Jun 28, 2011

A great hotel

My family and I were at the hotel for 6 days. (June 16-June 22,2011). The rooms were very clean with wonderful maid service every morning. We had plenty of towels (2 young adults with me)The hotel offered breakfast every morning with plenty of choices and was available until 10:30 am weekdays and 11am on weekends.The pool was delightful and we ate lunch at the poolside restaurant several times. The food was good with fair prices.The beach was beautiful. You do have to rent chairs and umbrellas but the hotel will give you vouchers (50% discount) for the chairs.On our last day,we had a 6 hour wait until our flight left. The hotel stored our luggage in a secure area until we left for the airport. The hotel is in walking distance of many restaurants and stores for shopping. I plan on returning to the hotel when we return to South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All restaurants within walking distance on Ocean Ave and Lincoln Mall area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, NY
Apr 12, 2011

Great Location..Very nice Accomodations!

This was my first time staying at South Seas. Was there for a quick little get away. I was more than happy with my choice to stay at South Sea. It's a great middle of the road-type hotel...hotel was clean, beds were unbelievably comfortable, nice basic breakfast buffet each morning, and great pool bar for delicous food and drinks. South Seas has a great location along beach with allows for access to beach path and beach and walking to great restaurants and night life. Would definetly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 26, 2011

Not worth the money you pay

We had a late arrival and was very tired. We had booked the ocean front room and in order to get to the room we had to go up a flight stairs with our luggage and down a flight of stairs to get to the elevator that would take us to our floor. No one offered to help with the luggage. The picture on the internet showed the room had hardwood floors but when we got to the room, the room had carpet. The room was not bad but the halls to get to the rooms were very old and nasty looking. The elevator sounded like it was going to fall apart. We will not go back to this hotel and will probably not even visit Miami again due to our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
press toward the mark
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 15, 2011

It was nice

The pool area is great. Continental Breakfast was great. Rooms were ok and bathrooms were small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colie
Business
mass
Mar 5, 2011

ok

[...] I ended up paying extra $$ for a cab both ways. The staff was nice, the beach is right outside the gated pool area which was very nice (the beach that is). The cushions on the pool lounge chairs were stained, time for new ones. The hotel wasn't a four star hotel in my opinion (3 star at most). The room was very small and not very clean (hairs in the bathroom, grime and dirt in the vents and corners) the rooms hair dryer didn't work and was gross w/ make-up all over the handle. I didn't care for the resturant in the hotel at all but there were plenty of resturants just outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FLL Guest
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 2, 2011

A hidden gem on SOBE

Perfect for quick get away - great location close to Lincoln Rd. - late night swim in heated saltwater pool - tropical garden with hammocks - quiet and clean rooms - loved the retro pics of Miami - outstanding breakfast spread - and friendly staff - can't ask for more. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Rd. Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Feb 28, 2011

Very nice stay

Very very good location. Really beautiful swimming pool, and nice palm garden. Also, beach in front. Having lunch and cocktail around the swimming pool was great No issue at all with the towel when you go to the beach (cf older reviews). The rooms look a little old and small but the bedding is high quality (and I am picky on bedding) and you really spend no time in the room. Breakfast is included and fair. Perfect for families with kids, teenagers or for behaved young adults. Not really for party people (see across at Catalina). We had a great time there and wil definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top