South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
120 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Great location!!

The hotel's location is its best characteristic. It is at a great point in Miami Beach (a good spot... See full review

  • Renzo from Brazil
  • Oct 15, 2014
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
psychochip
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

A good room for the price

I would say it provided everything I expected for the price. The only thing I did not care for was the long black hairs left on the "cleaned" bathroom floor. I am a balding male and knew the hairs did not come from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chloemarie
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Good Location for price.

This hotel was very clean and staff was available 24/7. No problems, cold air condition and hot showers. Walking distance to restaurants and nite life. Would reccomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your alcohol @ liquor store or nearby Walgreens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great location, but that's about it!!!

I rate the hotel a one star only for the following reasons- The guests are not the first priority of the staff. Only one doorman actually acted like a doorman, and only one maid seemed to be conscientious. As for everyone else, especially the front desk, everyone was more interested in gabbing with co-workers, and preferred to push problems and concerns off to the next shift if they could. I do not have enough space here to go into detail, but we will not be returning. It wasn't the bugs in the room, it was the lassez-faire reaction of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wonderful food at the Miami Beach Marina- went to Monty's Seafood, and Texas de Brazil, a short cab ride, and the food and service at both locations were top-notch. They are at 300 Alton Road. Do not waste your time at Jerry's Kosher Deli. They are a joke. Seriously, they did not have about 8 dishes we asked for. Staff was nice, but it is truly not a kosher deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MommyLippy
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 10, 2011

Perfect place for our

We chose this hotel for our last minute girlfriends trip. Our main goal was to be on the beach and have a luxurious pool. This hotel gave us both. The pool area was gorgeous, the hammocks in the shade very relaxing and the beach was fabulous. The pool bar made a perfect mojito and the food was excellent. The service at the hotel was good and very accomodating. Our room was small but adequate. We especially appreciated the separate walk-in closet where we could keep our suitcases and clothes. One tip-only close the blinds at night, not the curtains because the ac will blow up underneath the curtains instead of into the room and the room will get very warm very quickly. Fortunately we figured this out the first night. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice feature. There was a variety of people staying there, families, older couples, a bachelor party, and some other girls on a "girlfriends trip". In the evenings we tested out some of the night life (the Delano was beautiful but expensive!, Mangos was fun, avoid Mr. Chows). Lincoln Rd. was a pleasant few block walk and we ate there a couple of nights and shopped. We really were thoroughly pleased with our stay and would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One night we ate at Nexxt Cafe at the Lincoln Road shopping area. It had the biggest menu I've ever seen and very reasonable prices (especially for the area). The food was good (our server not so great) and the outdoor seating provided lots of entertainment people-watching!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Astoria, NY
Aug 2, 2011

great location, friendly stuff

it was not the cleanest room, and we had to move to another one because i was not really happy with the "ocean view" from the first room. overall it's a nice hotel with very friendly stuff in a cool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of nice restaurants along lincoln road. opposite the hotel is a delicious sushi restaurant, "kung fu kitchen".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 29, 2011

South Seas Hotel (June 2011)

We were on a couples' vacation. Overall it was a great hotel (price, location, service, and food). The rooms were a little small, but comfortable and "cute" nice. The room price and food prices were reasonable. The restaurant in the hotel was great; great service, great food and drinks. The food was delicious! Prepared fresh to order. The pool was well kept, fun and peaceful. The location was perfect! No "riff-raff", not over populated at the beach or the pool area. We definitely enjoyed the fact that the hotel had it's own private pool and private beach access. There were plenty of near by shops and restautants. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate New York
Jun 28, 2011

A great hotel

My family and I were at the hotel for 6 days. (June 16-June 22,2011). The rooms were very clean with wonderful maid service every morning. We had plenty of towels (2 young adults with me)The hotel offered breakfast every morning with plenty of choices and was available until 10:30 am weekdays and 11am on weekends.The pool was delightful and we ate lunch at the poolside restaurant several times. The food was good with fair prices.The beach was beautiful. You do have to rent chairs and umbrellas but the hotel will give you vouchers (50% discount) for the chairs.On our last day,we had a 6 hour wait until our flight left. The hotel stored our luggage in a secure area until we left for the airport. The hotel is in walking distance of many restaurants and stores for shopping. I plan on returning to the hotel when we return to South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All restaurants within walking distance on Ocean Ave and Lincoln Mall area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, NY
Apr 12, 2011

Great Location..Very nice Accomodations!

This was my first time staying at South Seas. Was there for a quick little get away. I was more than happy with my choice to stay at South Sea. It's a great middle of the road-type hotel...hotel was clean, beds were unbelievably comfortable, nice basic breakfast buffet each morning, and great pool bar for delicous food and drinks. South Seas has a great location along beach with allows for access to beach path and beach and walking to great restaurants and night life. Would definetly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 26, 2011

Not worth the money you pay

We had a late arrival and was very tired. We had booked the ocean front room and in order to get to the room we had to go up a flight stairs with our luggage and down a flight of stairs to get to the elevator that would take us to our floor. No one offered to help with the luggage. The picture on the internet showed the room had hardwood floors but when we got to the room, the room had carpet. The room was not bad but the halls to get to the rooms were very old and nasty looking. The elevator sounded like it was going to fall apart. We will not go back to this hotel and will probably not even visit Miami again due to our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
press toward the mark
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 15, 2011

It was nice

The pool area is great. Continental Breakfast was great. Rooms were ok and bathrooms were small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top