$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
183 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mojolyn
Ohio, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Good on the ocean.

Stayed just one night before a cruise. Nice breakfast patio, pool, and beach access. Rooms are clean and comfy. Not a luxury hotel but a good value in an expensive area. Staff were helpful, sent us to a great Cuban restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Jan 3, 2012

SHADY

The same day we checked out we got calls shortly after from our CC monitoring that week for about 1000 dollars in fraudulent charges. Also our sheets weren't changed the whole time we were there, and staff is extremely unfriendly. We think that the one friendly person there was the one who stole our financial info.. you get what you pay for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy Bez
Michigan
Dec 31, 2011

Great location!

Wonderful! Great location! Nice pool area, hammocks were comfortable. Steps from the beach. Very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicka113
London
Dec 4, 2011

What more could you want.

Great location with easy access to the beach, helpful and friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast is perfect to start your day with.. something so simple puts it a cut above similar hotels in the area. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molasse
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great location and good place for relaxation

Very convenient hotel for beach access and night life access. Lincoln Road (where all the shopping and dinning happen) is just two blocks away. The pool is very nice and clean, and it is warm!!!. Very well kept. The pathway (nice paver /brick road) between hotel and beach is fantastic: walking, bicycling, roller skating, skate boarding....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban food is a must. We ate at Yuca for Thanksgiving dinner. Maya Tapas offers Argentinian flavor; very good. Sushi Samba is also very good (we tried a Brazilian dish there and it was good).

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mountainmama67
costa rica
Nov 23, 2011

South Seas

All previous reviews were accurate! We had a great time! The cabanas were sexy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachie717
St Louis, MO, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Nice Hotel!

Our stay in this hotel was very nice! The free breakfast every morning was fabulous. Plus the hammocks by the pool were very relaxing! Our room was also very nice and updated. The only complaint I have about our room was the sink drain didn't work very well, and it smelled a bit musty. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Maya restaurant in South Beach was very good and the service is excellent!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
psychochip
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

A good room for the price

I would say it provided everything I expected for the price. The only thing I did not care for was the long black hairs left on the "cleaned" bathroom floor. I am a balding male and knew the hairs did not come from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chloemarie
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Good Location for price.

This hotel was very clean and staff was available 24/7. No problems, cold air condition and hot showers. Walking distance to restaurants and nite life. Would reccomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your alcohol @ liquor store or nearby Walgreens.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chloemarie
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Good Location for price.

This hotel was very clean and staff was available 24/7. No problems, cold air condition and hot showers. Walking distance to restaurants and nite life. Would reccomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your alcohol @ liquor store or nearby Walgreens.

Back to menu Return to top