South Seas Hotel ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$197
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016

Wonderful

Would recommend Tue, Jul 16, 2013
Affordable. Access to the beach was so easy. The pool was beautiful and the hammocks were fantastic.

| Willmar, MN Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Not 4 star rated

Would not recommend Fri, May 3, 2013
Our hotel room was very old fashioned and the quality of windows, view and the possibility to darken the room were below 2* quality. Staff was friendly, location perfect , pool and beach access 4*.

| Switzerland Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

First time to SOBE

Would not recommend Wed, May 1, 2013
If it was just about location, then the South Seas would be a 10. I guess that's what you are paying for here. Otherwise, it's just an average hotel and overpriced for the room quality (at least mine# and amenities offered. I was not to impressed with the hotel front desk staff. Upon check-in, I was promptly put in a room that I did not reserve. I made my reservation #pre-paid# five months b4 my trip, #they had no record of my reservation when I tried to confirm just prior to arriving#. Though we were moved to another room, #after the fact#, I think it was the last leftover king room with the noisy AC. The room was clean though, lol. The pool, grounds and staff were very nice. The beach is beautiful but be prepared to pay $$ for each day you go if you want to use a chair and umbrella. #they do not tell you this at the hotel). Probably won't be back to this hotel any time soon.

| CT, USA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Exactly what we expected.

Would recommend Tue, Apr 30, 2013
Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their pool bar. Would stay there again and also recommend to friends.

| Pennsylvania Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Misleading in Miami

Would not recommend Tue, Apr 23, 2013
The hotel is old, the rooms are small...major renovations needed. Bug in the closet, mold in the bathroom, expired elevator inspection, old furniture, smelly rooms..only good thing about this hotel was its location. Extremely upset about the amount i paid for this hotel...the pictures look nothing like the rooms...extremely misleading...i've stayed at a miami star and it blows this hotel out of the water...and much much cheaper. I'd say spend the extra money on a decent hotel...or just stay at a motel if you want something cheap

| NY Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

South Seas Hotel, South Beach Miami

Would recommend Thu, Mar 7, 2013
This hotel was perfect if you are heading to South Beach & want a reasonably priced hotel room. Yes, $300 per night is a lot for what the room is, but this was the cheapest & best hotel we saw for the money. There is a free breakfast buffet every morning (decent, think yogurt, bananas, bagels) which saved time & money everyday. Room was fine, nice ocean view, staff was very friendly, pool was great. I originally wanted to stay at SLS, but am so glad we stayed here! SLS is only two hotels down from South Seas and it is a gorgeous hotel, but you can save yourself $1,200 and just walk over for dinner at Katsuya (best sushi restaurant EVER--you must get the Special Katsuya Roll!!) and to see the giant silver duck at the pool there. Hotel location is fantastic--short walk to Lincoln Road Mall. Also, my favorite part of trip was Delano hotel's pool-definitely try to make it over & get some frozen fruit and mojitos. Best pool I've ever seen (blows any pool in Vegas out of the water!) Be prepared for South Beach prices --which do rival those of Vegas! Also, make it over to the Fountainbleau Hotel (short cab ride)--just BEAUTIFUL hotel with Liv nightclub inside. Ok, and W hotel if you have time. Pretty awesome outdoor area there (The Grove) and The Dutch was very unique bar as well. We had an amazing time, South Beach is amazing! If you are planning to go to Miami for first visit, I would recommend staying on South Beach (..not on Biscayne Bay.)

| Boise, Idaho Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Birthday getaway

Would recommend Sat, Mar 2, 2013
My mother and I travelled to Miami for my 25th birthday. We were able to check in early and head straight to the beach! Staff was friendly, there was valet parking for about $25 a day(in and out), right on the beach and walking distance to many shops and bars. The room was average, but linens and bathroom were clean. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. The price and location were great!

| Virginia Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

NOT 4 STARS!!!!!

Would not recommend Thu, Dec 13, 2012
I have no idea why it says that this hotel is a 4 star hotel, more like a 1 1/2 star! I would consider it a MOTEL not a hotel. I think that staying at motel 6 would have been teller than this one. There is nothing wrong with boutique hotels, i have stayed at a few in miami and there is still a form or luxury & comfort to it. However with this one absolutely not. The bathroom u can bearly turn around in. There was aunts all over the bathtub. If your not awake by the time the cleaning lady comes your lady is NOT returning! I stayed there 5 days and seen lizards on my window twice! Horrible all around! I would suggest ANYWHERE ELSE besides here! Yes, evea motel may be nicer Ps. the staff was extremely rude and unhelpful.... The only great thing about this place is its location.

| Los Angeles,Ca Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Cheap but bit old

Would not recommend Sun, Dec 9, 2012
We stayed just two nights, the second I was scared by big cocrouch, and my wife could not sleep any more... Close to the beach

| Washington DC Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Well-located, but nothing special

Would not recommend Sat, Nov 10, 2012
Not sure how this hotel claims 4 stars. It's just okay, that's my impression. Everything is pretty old, as in, nor renovated in a while, at least that's how it feels. Beds, TVs, AC are good, but elevators, walls, carpets remind of dorms. The staff isn't very helpful, probably expecting to be tipped upfront. If you can help it, get a room on the higher floor, otherwise you'll hear people walking by and over your head all the time. The location is great, though - beach, Lincoln Road just a block away. And it was cheap, at least during the off-days, that is, not Friday to Sunday

Dining

BLT Steak is as great as in NY

| New York Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5