$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephanie56
Business
NY
Apr 23, 2013

Misleading in Miami

The hotel is old, the rooms are small...major renovations needed. Bug in the closet, mold in the bathroom, expired elevator inspection, old furniture, smelly rooms..only good thing about this hotel was its location. Extremely upset about the amount i paid for this hotel...the pictures look nothing like the rooms...extremely misleading...i've stayed at a miami star and it blows this hotel out of the water...and much much cheaper. I'd say spend the extra money on a decent hotel...or just stay at a motel if you want something cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Susan
Business
Charleston SC
Apr 19, 2013

Great girls weekend

Staff was fantastic. Palm view room perfect. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Susan
Business
Charleston SC
Apr 16, 2013

girls weekend

Not one complaint. Perfect location. Staff was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are near everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Susan
Business
Charleston SC
Apr 16, 2013

perfect girls weekend

Have no complaints will definitely stay at South seas hotel again. Travel plans were perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Carlito
Business
Boise, Idaho
Mar 7, 2013

South Seas Hotel, South Beach Miami

This hotel was perfect if you are heading to South Beach & want a reasonably priced hotel room. Yes, $300 per night is a lot for what the room is, but this was the cheapest & best hotel we saw for the money. There is a free breakfast buffet every morning (decent, think yogurt, bananas, bagels) which saved time & money everyday. Room was fine, nice ocean view, staff was very friendly, pool was great. I originally wanted to stay at SLS, but am so glad we stayed here! SLS is only two hotels down from South Seas and it is a gorgeous hotel, but you can save yourself $1,200 and just walk over for dinner at Katsuya (best sushi restaurant EVER--you must get the Special Katsuya Roll!!) and to see the giant silver duck at the pool there. Hotel location is fantastic--short walk to Lincoln Road Mall. Also, my favorite part of trip was Delano hotel's pool-definitely try to make it over & get some frozen fruit and mojitos. Best pool I've ever seen (blows any pool in Vegas out of the water!) Be prepared for South Beach prices --which do rival those of Vegas! Also, make it over to the Fountainbleau Hotel (short cab ride)--just BEAUTIFUL hotel with Liv nightclub inside. Ok, and W hotel if you have time. Pretty awesome outdoor area there (The Grove) and The Dutch was very unique bar as well. We had an amazing time, South Beach is amazing! If you are planning to go to Miami for first visit, I would recommend staying on South Beach (..not on Biscayne Bay.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slovelace
Business
Virginia
Mar 2, 2013

Birthday getaway

My mother and I travelled to Miami for my 25th birthday. We were able to check in early and head straight to the beach! Staff was friendly, there was valet parking for about $25 a day(in and out), right on the beach and walking distance to many shops and bars. The room was average, but linens and bathroom were clean. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. The price and location were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KatrieLA
Business
Los Angeles,Ca
Dec 13, 2012

NOT 4 STARS!!!!!

I have no idea why it says that this hotel is a 4 star hotel, more like a 1 1/2 star! I would consider it a MOTEL not a hotel. I think that staying at motel 6 would have been teller than this one. There is nothing wrong with boutique hotels, i have stayed at a few in miami and there is still a form or luxury & comfort to it. However with this one absolutely not. The bathroom u can bearly turn around in. There was aunts all over the bathtub. If your not awake by the time the cleaning lady comes your lady is NOT returning! I stayed there 5 days and seen lizards on my window twice! Horrible all around! I would suggest ANYWHERE ELSE besides here! Yes, evea motel may be nicer Ps. the staff was extremely rude and unhelpful.... The only great thing about this place is its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pavel D
Business
Washington DC
Dec 9, 2012

Cheap but bit old

We stayed just two nights, the second I was scared by big cocrouch, and my wife could not sleep any more... Close to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saruman
Business
New York
Nov 10, 2012

Well-located, but nothing special

Not sure how this hotel claims 4 stars. It's just okay, that's my impression. Everything is pretty old, as in, nor renovated in a while, at least that's how it feels. Beds, TVs, AC are good, but elevators, walls, carpets remind of dorms. The staff isn't very helpful, probably expecting to be tipped upfront. If you can help it, get a room on the higher floor, otherwise you'll hear people walking by and over your head all the time. The location is great, though - beach, Lincoln Road just a block away. And it was cheap, at least during the off-days, that is, not Friday to Sunday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT Steak is as great as in NY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kim C Rather be Home
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 27, 2012

Not a 4 star hotel!

Room: I was disappointed that this hotel was even rated a 4 star. At most it is a 3 star. The rooms had a mildew odor, there were little ants on the tables and we saw a couple of rat holes in the room. Staff: Front desk staff not very nice. Very unwelcoming because they'd rather talk to other staff. Will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top