$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working at SOBE
Business
New Jersey
Feb 25, 2014

Convenient location!

Great location with beach access and lots of shopping. Older hotel with art deco charm. Very small bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxine's across the street - outside dining - good menu choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feeaustin
Business
austin,texas
Mar 21, 2014

funtrip

great location, just black away to lincoln road mall. bed is comfry. price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Celebrant
Business
Cape Cod
Apr 5, 2014

Pale New Englanders head to South Seas

First night the room seemed less than clean but with each successive cleanings each morning it became more inviting. The setting was fantastic ! Old school South Beach splendor with family friendly atmosphere. Love the real orchids and art work. Complimentary breakfast was good and the coffee strong! The pool and surrounding areas well tended and secure. Being so close to the boardwalk and beach was really a plus. Overall we left feeling refreshed and alive !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If there is more than one of you skip the shuttle and take a cab from the airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colie
Business
mass
Mar 5, 2011

ok

[...] I ended up paying extra $$ for a cab both ways. The staff was nice, the beach is right outside the gated pool area which was very nice (the beach that is). The cushions on the pool lounge chairs were stained, time for new ones. The hotel wasn't a four star hotel in my opinion (3 star at most). The room was very small and not very clean (hairs in the bathroom, grime and dirt in the vents and corners) the rooms hair dryer didn't work and was gross w/ make-up all over the handle. I didn't care for the resturant in the hotel at all but there were plenty of resturants just outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
psychochip
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

A good room for the price

I would say it provided everything I expected for the price. The only thing I did not care for was the long black hairs left on the "cleaned" bathroom floor. I am a balding male and knew the hairs did not come from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molasse
Business
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great location and good place for relaxation

Very convenient hotel for beach access and night life access. Lincoln Road (where all the shopping and dinning happen) is just two blocks away. The pool is very nice and clean, and it is warm!!!. Very well kept. The pathway (nice paver /brick road) between hotel and beach is fantastic: walking, bicycling, roller skating, skate boarding....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban food is a must. We ate at Yuca for Thanksgiving dinner. Maya Tapas offers Argentinian flavor; very good. Sushi Samba is also very good (we tried a Brazilian dish there and it was good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reffy
Business
Virginia
Mar 10, 2012

One night stay

The staff was great. Everyone was very helpul and informative. The room was kind of crowded, with no place to sit other than the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat at Maxine's accross from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Saffas
Business
Johannesburg, South Africa
Apr 1, 2012

Comfortable place to stay

The South Seas is a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay if you're heading to South Beach, Miami. All you need is in close walking distance. The fact that breakfast was included in the rate was great and the selection of food for breakfast was good. It was our first visit to the USA, so we can not compare to other hotels in the States.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Miami Hop-On/Hop-Off Bus is a great way to see Miami. Tickets are valid for a full 24 hours (and some include a boat trip as well). There is a stop about 5 minutes walk from the South Seas Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BargainHunter
Business
Hyannis, Barnstable, MA 02601, USA
May 2, 2012

Good value

If you are looking for a value in South Beach this is the place. The rooms were clean, the restaurant had great food and the location is just around the corner from Ocean Drive. The downside is the elevators were dated, the pool a bit small and only a few rooms have any sort of a view other than the side of the hotel next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Front Porch Cafe - a don't miss. Great food at reasonable prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariaSG
Business
Mississauga,Ontario,Canada
Aug 5, 2012

Valet staffs very helpful & quick

Staffs are Ok, valet staffs are very quick in getting your car& helpful. Close to South Beach if you like to party. The room is too small ,The air conditioner was not working,there were water dripping from the unit.They replaced it with a portable one which was very noisy. We didn't bother to complain as we are only staying for one night on our way to Key West but they could have mentioned about it when we checked in. Good location just few steps to the beach. Lincoln Rd (pedestrian mall) is very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant at Washington St, reasonable price & very good choices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top