$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feeaustin
Single
austin,texas
Mar 21, 2014

funtrip

great location, just black away to lincoln road mall. bed is comfry. price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Celebrant
Couples
Cape Cod
Apr 5, 2014

Pale New Englanders head to South Seas

First night the room seemed less than clean but with each successive cleanings each morning it became more inviting. The setting was fantastic ! Old school South Beach splendor with family friendly atmosphere. Love the real orchids and art work. Complimentary breakfast was good and the coffee strong! The pool and surrounding areas well tended and secure. Being so close to the boardwalk and beach was really a plus. Overall we left feeling refreshed and alive !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If there is more than one of you skip the shuttle and take a cab from the airport

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molasse
Family
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great location and good place for relaxation

Very convenient hotel for beach access and night life access. Lincoln Road (where all the shopping and dinning happen) is just two blocks away. The pool is very nice and clean, and it is warm!!!. Very well kept. The pathway (nice paver /brick road) between hotel and beach is fantastic: walking, bicycling, roller skating, skate boarding....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban food is a must. We ate at Yuca for Thanksgiving dinner. Maya Tapas offers Argentinian flavor; very good. Sushi Samba is also very good (we tried a Brazilian dish there and it was good).

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reffy
Friends
Virginia
Mar 10, 2012

One night stay

The staff was great. Everyone was very helpul and informative. The room was kind of crowded, with no place to sit other than the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat at Maxine's accross from the hotel.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BargainHunter
Couples
Hyannis, Barnstable, MA 02601, USA
May 2, 2012

Good value

If you are looking for a value in South Beach this is the place. The rooms were clean, the restaurant had great food and the location is just around the corner from Ocean Drive. The downside is the elevators were dated, the pool a bit small and only a few rooms have any sort of a view other than the side of the hotel next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Front Porch Cafe - a don't miss. Great food at reasonable prices!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariaSG
Couples
Mississauga,Ontario,Canada
Aug 5, 2012

Valet staffs very helpful & quick

Staffs are Ok, valet staffs are very quick in getting your car& helpful. Close to South Beach if you like to party. The room is too small ,The air conditioner was not working,there were water dripping from the unit.They replaced it with a portable one which was very noisy. We didn't bother to complain as we are only staying for one night on our way to Key West but they could have mentioned about it when we checked in. Good location just few steps to the beach. Lincoln Rd (pedestrian mall) is very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant at Washington St, reasonable price & very good choices

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saruman
Couples
New York
Nov 10, 2012

Well-located, but nothing special

Not sure how this hotel claims 4 stars. It's just okay, that's my impression. Everything is pretty old, as in, nor renovated in a while, at least that's how it feels. Beds, TVs, AC are good, but elevators, walls, carpets remind of dorms. The staff isn't very helpful, probably expecting to be tipped upfront. If you can help it, get a room on the higher floor, otherwise you'll hear people walking by and over your head all the time. The location is great, though - beach, Lincoln Road just a block away. And it was cheap, at least during the off-days, that is, not Friday to Sunday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT Steak is as great as in NY

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pavel D
Couples
Washington DC
Dec 9, 2012

Cheap but bit old

We stayed just two nights, the second I was scared by big cocrouch, and my wife could not sleep any more... Close to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SOBE Chuck
Couples
CT, USA
May 1, 2013

First time to SOBE

If it was just about location, then the South Seas would be a 10. I guess that's what you are paying for here. Otherwise, it's just an average hotel and overpriced for the room quality (at least mine# and amenities offered. I was not to impressed with the hotel front desk staff. Upon check-in, I was promptly put in a room that I did not reserve. I made my reservation #pre-paid# five months b4 my trip, #they had no record of my reservation when I tried to confirm just prior to arriving#. Though we were moved to another room, #after the fact#, I think it was the last leftover king room with the noisy AC. The room was clean though, lol. The pool, grounds and staff were very nice. The beach is beautiful but be prepared to pay $$ for each day you go if you want to use a chair and umbrella. #they do not tell you this at the hotel). Probably won't be back to this hotel any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ames Beach Goer
Friends
Pittsburgh
Aug 6, 2013

Pool & Location!

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk to almost anywhere...South Beach and Lincoln Road. It's away from the loudness of South Beach which is great. Also, the pool area was very nice. We ate lunch at the pool most days because they had a decent pool bar with service to your lounge chairs. The room was very small. The toilet flushed itself every 5 mins, driving us crazy. The beds were very hard too. Sooo...if its location and a pool you want.. stay here. If its comfort, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top