$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
121 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Comfortable hotel and great location for beach.

Location, location, location! This hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to good... See full review

  • Dorothy from Atlanta
  • Dec 1, 2014
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary hot breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 26, 2011

Not worth the money you pay

We had a late arrival and was very tired. We had booked the ocean front room and in order to get to the room we had to go up a flight stairs with our luggage and down a flight of stairs to get to the elevator that would take us to our floor. No one offered to help with the luggage. The picture on the internet showed the room had hardwood floors but when we got to the room, the room had carpet. The room was not bad but the halls to get to the rooms were very old and nasty looking. The elevator sounded like it was going to fall apart. We will not go back to this hotel and will probably not even visit Miami again due to our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kim C Rather be Home
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 27, 2012

Not a 4 star hotel!

Room: I was disappointed that this hotel was even rated a 4 star. At most it is a 3 star. The rooms had a mildew odor, there were little ants on the tables and we saw a couple of rat holes in the room. Staff: Front desk staff not very nice. Very unwelcoming because they'd rather talk to other staff. Will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
seasy
Business
Switzerland
May 3, 2013

Not 4 star rated

Our hotel room was very old fashioned and the quality of windows, view and the possibility to darken the room were below 2* quality. Staff was friendly, location perfect , pool and beach access 4*.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
luv u must
Business
new york
Jul 31, 2013

ok

breakfast great along with loving and caring staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Jul 10, 2009

hotel stay

The staff was great, the food was good, however the rooms were very small and the hotel could use a face lift

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 13, 2007

Friendly Vacation

The South Seas Hotel overall was decent, the room was clean but EXTREMELY SMALL. The maintenance service was ok but there weren't enough towels on a daily basis. The pool was nice and I especially enjoyed the DJ. I was told that there was a gym but the gym was very pathetic and the machines were old and it was located outside of the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I know but I made the best out of the situation and for the price I paid...next time I'll just pay extra and stay at a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to everything on south beach in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Jul 11, 2007

Pretty disappointed

The South Seas Hotel was definitely a disappointment! I was very confident that we had found a diamond in the ruff....NOT!!! It's an old hotel that has attempted to transform into a modern, art-deco type of hotel, but hasn't quite put in the money needed to do so. At check-in, the staff was very pleasant and hospitable, but when we went to our standard room, we were taken back by the size of the room...like a cubicle. The view from the window was a view of the white wall of the hotel next door. If we could have opened the window, I'm sure we could have touched it. The bathroom literally had only enough room to turn around in. And the room smelled of some type of fumes, which we later determined were probably being drawn in from the hotel next door. All of the standard rooms have this same view; it may just be on the other side of the hotel. We called down to request another room, with an ocean view, and they were very accommodating. But the room was $50 more a night. After seeing the room, we decided to take it because it was much bigger, and the view of the beach in the distance was breathtaking! Upon a more detailed inspection of the hotel, we found that it was very unkept; especially the bathroom. There was mold at the base of the sink faucet and in the tile molding in the shower. There was even mold on the toilet tank, just above the flush handle! The vast majority of the white towels were also very thin and dingy...like gray. We went to the store and bought our own to use. The mattress was VERY firm; so firm that it didn't even give when I jumped on it, so imagine how we slept! Basically, I was very uncomfortable and grossed out in this room! In most of the reviews I read prior to booking this hotel, they raved about the location, but it was actually down a little further than I would have liked. It was about an 11 block walk from where most of the happenings on Ocean Avenue are located. Lincoln Mall was pretty close, but I would have much rather stayed a little further down so that we could have easy access to both Lincoln Mall and Ocean Avenue restaurants and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can save a few dollars a day by having breakfast at the hotel. It was pretty filling for a continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oporto, Portugal
Aug 16, 2010

Hotel for students

When I arrived my room was checked in accidently for another person. So since I had a late arrival the reception called at 1h00 in the morning to the room which upsetted and worried the people. They gave me another room to solve the problem but when I left the wanted to charge me the costs that the other people had done during their stay but everything was resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Washington Avenue go have lunch or dinner at a low cost japanese restaurant called Hiro's Sushi Express. Its in front of Madonna's Club. The best pizza is Rustica Pizza on Licoln Road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colie
Business
mass
Mar 5, 2011

ok

[...] I ended up paying extra $$ for a cab both ways. The staff was nice, the beach is right outside the gated pool area which was very nice (the beach that is). The cushions on the pool lounge chairs were stained, time for new ones. The hotel wasn't a four star hotel in my opinion (3 star at most). The room was very small and not very clean (hairs in the bathroom, grime and dirt in the vents and corners) the rooms hair dryer didn't work and was gross w/ make-up all over the handle. I didn't care for the resturant in the hotel at all but there were plenty of resturants just outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
psychochip
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

A good room for the price

I would say it provided everything I expected for the price. The only thing I did not care for was the long black hairs left on the "cleaned" bathroom floor. I am a balding male and knew the hairs did not come from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top