$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
137 reviews
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Exactly what we expected.

Well kept boutique hotel located very close to both Lincoln and Ocean Dr. Excellent food at their... See full review

  • CircuitSir
  • Apr 30, 2013
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Hotel Map

25.7934 -80.1285
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicka113
London
Dec 4, 2011

What more could you want.

Great location with easy access to the beach, helpful and friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast is perfect to start your day with.. something so simple puts it a cut above similar hotels in the area. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jun 22, 2007

My review of South Seas Hotel

The South Seas Hotel is a bit on the old side, but is in decent repair and is very clean. I downrate it a bit because adjacent hotels have better public areas and pools (we saw them). The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would not reccommend staying on the first floor since it is a cut through between the front desk and the pool/lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

South Beach has many dining possibilities, some a short walk, others a longer walk. The 25 cent local bus was truly and godsend.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saginaw, Mi.
Mar 15, 2010

Great getaway

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Great continental breakfast. Bar, pool, lounging area, beach, staff - all wonderful! Beds comfortable. Just wished they provided microwave/frig in rooms. Room itself was on the small size and was just a little noisy (thin walls). Great location for shopping,entertainment and MIA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Depending on your tastes, a variety of foods are available within short walking distance, fine dining or small cafes. I personally liked Sultans, a mediterranean cafe.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Upstate New York
Jun 28, 2011

A great hotel

My family and I were at the hotel for 6 days. (June 16-June 22,2011). The rooms were very clean with wonderful maid service every morning. We had plenty of towels (2 young adults with me)The hotel offered breakfast every morning with plenty of choices and was available until 10:30 am weekdays and 11am on weekends.The pool was delightful and we ate lunch at the poolside restaurant several times. The food was good with fair prices.The beach was beautiful. You do have to rent chairs and umbrellas but the hotel will give you vouchers (50% discount) for the chairs.On our last day,we had a 6 hour wait until our flight left. The hotel stored our luggage in a secure area until we left for the airport. The hotel is in walking distance of many restaurants and stores for shopping. I plan on returning to the hotel when we return to South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All restaurants within walking distance on Ocean Ave and Lincoln Mall area

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Jun 29, 2011

South Seas Hotel (June 2011)

We were on a couples' vacation. Overall it was a great hotel (price, location, service, and food). The rooms were a little small, but comfortable and "cute" nice. The room price and food prices were reasonable. The restaurant in the hotel was great; great service, great food and drinks. The food was delicious! Prepared fresh to order. The pool was well kept, fun and peaceful. The location was perfect! No "riff-raff", not over populated at the beach or the pool area. We definitely enjoyed the fact that the hotel had it's own private pool and private beach access. There were plenty of near by shops and restautants. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
atlanta
Nov 13, 2010

enough

it had enough facility to relax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Forest Hills
Sep 1, 2008

Great Location

I've stayed at this hotel four times already. I've recommended it to friends and family.It has comfortable beds, great comp breakfast in the mornings, the staff are friendly.It's located in prime location. You could walk to lincoln road, ocean drive and certain night spots. It's away from the noise but not away from the hype of South Beach. Easy access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Washington Ave where the nightspots is not to far of a walk/short cab ride. You have 2 convience stores open 24hrs. a liquor store across you and a pretty bar cafe across you.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orland Park, Illinois
Nov 18, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Miami Beach. We had previously stayed at large resorts in South Beach but decided this time to stay at a smaller hotel. The South Seas was a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff, attentive service and a great location with easy access to beach and Lincoln road. Although the hotel has a "few miles" on it, the property was well maintained and clean. The rooms were small but comfortable with the modern comforts of deluxe beds and flat screen TV. The Pilakia lounge offered friendly bartenders, pretty decent bar food and a very good continental breakfast. The pool and hammock garden areas were well maintained intimate and comforable. A great bargain is to buy the Pilakia card which for $50 purchase has a bar value of $80. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would easily return to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boimsty
Richmond, VA
May 22, 2009

South Seas Hotel

We enjoyed South Seas Hotel. Our only complaint was that the rooms were small. We didn't have space to put all of our toiletries, etc. so I never felt organized while we were there. But the location is great, great pool, great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Finnegan's Way on Ocean Drive. Great food for reasonable prices. And great wait staff!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Astoria, NY
Aug 2, 2011

great location, friendly stuff

it was not the cleanest room, and we had to move to another one because i was not really happy with the "ocean view" from the first room. overall it's a nice hotel with very friendly stuff in a cool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of nice restaurants along lincoln road. opposite the hotel is a delicious sushi restaurant, "kung fu kitchen".

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Il
Feb 28, 2011

Very nice stay

Very very good location. Really beautiful swimming pool, and nice palm garden. Also, beach in front. Having lunch and cocktail around the swimming pool was great No issue at all with the towel when you go to the beach (cf older reviews). The rooms look a little old and small but the bedding is high quality (and I am picky on bedding) and you really spend no time in the room. Breakfast is included and fair. Perfect for families with kids, teenagers or for behaved young adults. Not really for party people (see across at Catalina). We had a great time there and wil definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search