$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
124 reviews
Excellent hotel with great locaiton

South Seas is a excellent hotel in one of the best locations in Miami Beach. Room is clean and... See full review

  • ANAND N.
  • Jan 5, 2015
South Sea

This place was perfect! We originally stayed at Starlite and moved to this hotel. They provide... See full review

  • Chilly Will 87
  • Mar 26, 2014
Alfresco spa treatments and poolside cocktails at this SoBe hotel
This Collins Avenue boutique hotel satisfies South Beach fantasies with its ocean and city views. Its chic address puts it near the hottest clubs, boutiques and, of course, the beach. The boutique property sprinkles tropical touches throughout with a bougainvillea framing the entrance and romantic tiki torches surrounding the pool area, which doubles as a spa, cafe and bar. 
Highlights
  • In the heart of South Beach
  • Heated outdoor pool and poolside dining at Pilikia Cafe
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms
The rooms follow trademark South Beach boutique style by using bold colors and minimalism to create an urban edge. Plush white duvets contrast with teak headboards and slate throw pillows. Orange drapes frame partial city or ocean views via large picture windows. Remodeled bathrooms come with fresh chrome fixtures, white ceramic tile, pedestal sinks and hair dryers. Flat-screens TVs and free Wi-Fi access round out the amenities.
Features
The intimate hotel pampers guests with massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, an open-air retreat with chaise lounges, cabanas and a pool. On Saturday mornings, practice the warrior position during free yoga sessions. Guests flock to the pool area everyday for the complimentary hot breakfast and cocktails and light fare from Pilikia Cafe. Make it a point to lie in a hammock with a mojito in hand. As the tiki torches twinkle in the South Beach air, visitors will want to linger all they can.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Ocean Drive (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (8 miles)
Business
  • Near the Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Covered and open sky patio areas for corporate events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Seas Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Seas Hotel Rooms

City Suite King
KG CTY VW SUITE COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL
Oceanfront King
KING BD BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Double
2DBLS BCH VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Ocean View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Oceanfront Suite King
KG OCN VW PVT TER SIT AR KCTT WIFI HTD POOL
Palm View Double
2 DBLS POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR
Classic King
KING BD COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN BAR REST
Double
2DBLS COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL CABNN REST FLT
Palm View King
KING BD POOL VIEW COMP BKFST WIFI HTD POOL BAR

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Pilikia By The Pool
Amidst warm ocean breezes/ surrounded by swaying coconut palms/ Pilikia by the Pool brings a touch of the tropics to the South Beach shore. This relaxing indoor/outdoor cafe is the perfect place to unwind with frozen tropical cocktails and casual American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicka113
London
Dec 4, 2011

What more could you want.

Great location with easy access to the beach, helpful and friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast is perfect to start your day with.. something so simple puts it a cut above similar hotels in the area. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Jul 10, 2009

hotel stay

The staff was great, the food was good, however the rooms were very small and the hotel could use a face lift

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria and Roy
Business
New York, NY
Jul 4, 2009

Perfect South Beach Hotel

This hotel is excellent!! The location was close enough to all the South Beach action (short walk or $7 taxi ride to Ocean Drive) but far enough way that when it came time to leave the partying behind, the hotel felt like an oasis. The pool area is very relaxing (especially the hammocks in the back) and the private entrance to the beach was excellent. Also, while they provide as many amenities (if not more) as other nearby hotels, there is no hidden resort fee at this hotel. Our only regret was that we only stayed for 4 days (next time, it will definately be a week or more). The staff was very professional, helpful and friendly. I've never encountered a staff like this in the United States in all my hotel stays (only in the Dominican Republic). I would recommend this hotel to anyone that's looking for a relaxing vacation in South Beach (especially couples and families).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for a refrigerator (no charge) and make a short trip to Walgreens (two blocks away on Lincoln) and stock up on water, juice, cold cuts and other small foods (even beer before midnight) to help save on food and drink costs. This way, you only need to buy dinner (the free breakfast served by the hotel is excellent)!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elle90
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 25, 2009

A Surprising Stay!

This hotel was a surprising stay. Within a half hour after check-in, the area was bombarded by 2 hours of torrential rains. If you travel here around this time, it is worth having the hotel valet your car! It is a beautiful hotel kept up in the South Beach style. The pool area is gorgeous with plenty of lounge chairs and seating. There are private cabanas and hammocks all the way to the back of the property near the beach walk that are in the shade. The property has access to the beach which was a plus! The hotel has its own restaurant and the food was excellent!!! Highly recommend the guacamole because it comes with homemade tortilla chips. Worth the 20 min. wait! But the bartenders make great drinks and therefore you won't notice the wait! Excellent location to Lincoln Road and Espaniola Way and of course the beach. The only two things that were bad for us - the walls are thin and our room faced the main street. The hotel across the street turns into an outdoor nightclub on Saturday nights until 2:00 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jun 23, 2009

We had a blast

We relaxed and party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south beach, Fl
Jun 9, 2009

Avalon Hotel

I had choosen the South Seas because of the pool. When we arrived at the hotel, they could not found our reservation and they had no room left for the lenght of your stay. We had to call Orbitz, the desk employees at the South Seas hotel were not helpful. In conclusion, we had to change hotel. I was not satisfied, we lost time of our precious vacation because somewhere, an employee did not made a professionnal job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit michigan
Jun 7, 2009

would stay there again

Really enjoyed my stay, very nice and accommodating staff, great location and nice pool, the breakfast was good too. Rooms were just right, not too much or to little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 27, 2009

ok...

The hotel wasn't that bad but there were things that needed improvement. We were on the third floor and the vending machine was empty for our whole stay...an empty vending machine is useless. When we asked the pool guy for a towel for the lounge chair, his attitude was very bad. He acted as if we were asking him to do more than his job. The biggest problem I had was that I requested a 5am wakeup call and didnt get one. Luckily we woke up and were able to catch our flight. It might seem minor to some, but these are issues that weren't a problem in other hotels. It was decent but i wont stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bori Ed
Business
Astoria, NY
May 27, 2009

Nice staff but lax in security

This started out wrong because they gave us the wrong room but then the front desk gave us a nicer room. A suite on the roof. But all went down the drain when our room was broken into and stuff was stolen. Poor security and no cameras! Never will stay here again. The staff was very pleaseant especially [...] at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reno/Tahoe in SB Miami
Business
Reno/Tahoe
May 26, 2009

Great Location/Friendly Service

This hotel is in a great walking location to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd., the convention center and beach and boardwalk. The staff was very friendly and accomodating without being sugar sweet. This is a locals place so be prepared for some SB flavor. This hotel has alot of returning guest so it has a "Cheers" kind of feeling...Everyone knows your name. The rooms were OK. The beds were clean and the linens were soft. The rooms were quite room to room but the hallways lead you to believe the walls are paper thin. This is my first stay away from a major like Hyatt or Marriott. I booked for location and the SB experience. I was a little scared and shocked at first however I spent little time in my room and was happy in the end. I would recommend to someone who wants to feel welcomed and safe and wants to relax in the middle of all the action of South Beach Miami. This is a inside cabin room if you know what I mean. Who wants to spend time in your room in Miami????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a drink at the Versace Mansion a short walk via the boardwalk. Follow that up with food and beverages at the streetside Palace Bar located at the corner of 12th and Ocean Dr. Tell the owner you read about this in Orbitz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boimsty
Business
Richmond, VA
May 22, 2009

South Seas Hotel

We enjoyed South Seas Hotel. Our only complaint was that the rooms were small. We didn't have space to put all of our toiletries, etc. so I never felt organized while we were there. But the location is great, great pool, great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Finnegan's Way on Ocean Drive. Great food for reasonable prices. And great wait staff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top