$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

South Seas Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Seas Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
detroit michigan
Jun 7, 2009

would stay there again

Really enjoyed my stay, very nice and accommodating staff, great location and nice pool, the breakfast was good too. Rooms were just right, not too much or to little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
May 27, 2009

ok...

The hotel wasn't that bad but there were things that needed improvement. We were on the third floor and the vending machine was empty for our whole stay...an empty vending machine is useless. When we asked the pool guy for a towel for the lounge chair, his attitude was very bad. He acted as if we were asking him to do more than his job. The biggest problem I had was that I requested a 5am wakeup call and didnt get one. Luckily we woke up and were able to catch our flight. It might seem minor to some, but these are issues that weren't a problem in other hotels. It was decent but i wont stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bori Ed
Friends
Astoria, NY
May 27, 2009

Nice staff but lax in security

This started out wrong because they gave us the wrong room but then the front desk gave us a nicer room. A suite on the roof. But all went down the drain when our room was broken into and stuff was stolen. Poor security and no cameras! Never will stay here again. The staff was very pleaseant especially [...] at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reno/Tahoe in SB Miami
Business
Reno/Tahoe
May 26, 2009

Great Location/Friendly Service

This hotel is in a great walking location to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd., the convention center and beach and boardwalk. The staff was very friendly and accomodating without being sugar sweet. This is a locals place so be prepared for some SB flavor. This hotel has alot of returning guest so it has a "Cheers" kind of feeling...Everyone knows your name. The rooms were OK. The beds were clean and the linens were soft. The rooms were quite room to room but the hallways lead you to believe the walls are paper thin. This is my first stay away from a major like Hyatt or Marriott. I booked for location and the SB experience. I was a little scared and shocked at first however I spent little time in my room and was happy in the end. I would recommend to someone who wants to feel welcomed and safe and wants to relax in the middle of all the action of South Beach Miami. This is a inside cabin room if you know what I mean. Who wants to spend time in your room in Miami????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a drink at the Versace Mansion a short walk via the boardwalk. Follow that up with food and beverages at the streetside Palace Bar located at the corner of 12th and Ocean Dr. Tell the owner you read about this in Orbitz.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boimsty
Family
Richmond, VA
May 22, 2009

South Seas Hotel

We enjoyed South Seas Hotel. Our only complaint was that the rooms were small. We didn't have space to put all of our toiletries, etc. so I never felt organized while we were there. But the location is great, great pool, great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Finnegan's Way on Ocean Drive. Great food for reasonable prices. And great wait staff!

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
new york
May 11, 2009

Average at best

The hotel is average at best - like a 3 star econologde, great location, but that's the only thing I really liked about it. The continental breakfast was mediocre and everything served on paper plates...felt like I was on college spring break. The staff were hit and miss, bartenders were great, front desk couldn't be bothered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
san jose, ca
May 5, 2009

Great Location.

We stayed one night after a cruise. The hotel was very beautiful, the check-in staff was nice (however they forgot to give us our early wake-up call! Luckily we had ORBITZ call us as a reminder!) The location was perfect, the beach was beautiful, but the rooms were right on the hallway and we could hear all the people walking back and forth. It wasn't too bad however. The rooms aren't huge or new, but it's part of the charm of the hotel. The bed was really big, roomy and comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
May 5, 2009

The comfort and location is good

Visit friends and some shopping Minibar in the room will be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kenosha, WI
Apr 27, 2009

South Beach getaway

It was like entering paradise through the hammocks & spa areas right to South Beach! Fantastic location. Wonderful walk way just behind hotel along South Beach to Art Deco. Room was a bit small, but only used it for sleeping, we were out enjoying the 80s weather in April, South Beach and shopping all day. South Seas Hotel provided a good free breakfast for its guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln just a short walk from South Seas Hotel. Reasonably priced al fresca restaurants, shopping, etc. all in one location.

Review of South Seas Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
b-ball man
Single
phila, pa,
Apr 23, 2009

shame i couldn`t stay longer

only complaint was that hotel only had valet parking so i had to give them 30 min. notice to retrieve vehichle. no mention of this when i booked trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top