$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
149 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Girl's Trip on A Budget!

As first time travelers with my friends, this hotel was awesome. Location was great because the... See full review

  • Nikki the Ninja
  • Nov 26, 2014
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 149
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elvia
Business
New York City
Apr 15, 2012

Perfect location to stay in South Beach

I have to say this was the perfect hotel to stay. It was quiet, a block away from Ocean Drive, where all the partying is done. I went during the day to the beach and at night one block away from ocean drive's restaurant and clubs. Hotel was clean, convenient and the staff was excellent. I checked out at 3am to catch a early flight and the staff was ready and helpful in calling a cab for me and checking me out. I loved this hotel and would recommend it to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangos restaurant was great any time, night or day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moras
Business
orlando Florida
Jul 27, 2012

the best place

the best place,good price,close to the beach and the people from front desk are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
linhle
Business
tampa
May 19, 2013

good location

Tiny room, not worth the money. I arrived the hotel at 10pm but had to wait about an 1 hour for them to prepare the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rgmg
Business
nj
Jul 5, 2012

Almost wasn't great

Was wrong placed into a SB Plaza Villa room. Room in Villa was chemically smelly, noisy on ground floor, and WiFi was too weak to connect. Once I was moved to the SB Plaza Hotel (next door - which I originally did book) all problems disappeared, and my stay was extremely good. The weekday staff were very professional and accommodating. The on-site concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The change in accommodations definitely made all the difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Feb 27, 2011

Great location

This location is great, although it is not on Ocean Drive. It's only one block from the beach and it is close to nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Only valet parking on premises but there's an indoor lot close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

David's Cafe a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jun 9, 2007

Location, location, location

We booked this hotel for the purpose of having somewhere to sleep and shower in the heart of the Art Deco district in addition to being reasonbly priced. The prior reviews of this hotel were accurate. 1) The room was clean but small. Which was ok since we had no plans of staying in the room. 2) The hotel needed updating and smelled 'old'. 3) The staff was friendly and helpful. 4) Location was king. The beach was a block away and all the restaurants and bars were in walking distance. There is a bar on the premises, a porch with tables and seating overlooking Collins in addition to a rooftop hangout. The bar and porch area were nice but there is only one TINY elevator. I couldnt imagine hundreds of people waiting on the elevator to get to the rooftop party! Overall my stay was expected. I got the value for my $$$. I would have a SHORT stay here again and recommend to a friend for the same reason. Any longer than two days my preference would be in comfort instead of convenience. There is only so much of the old smell I could take.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife, Beach, Entertainment, Restaurants and Shopping are all in short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean View
Dec 17, 2008

Great location

This hotel is a great value. The location was great. walking distance to all the main attractions: 8th and Ocean, Lincoln Street and the beach. The room was good and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The cab ride form the airport is 32 dollars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dijee1000
Business
Daytona Beach
May 26, 2012

Just Okay

I didn't expect much after the reviews I read before booking, but the room itself was acceptable. Pretty clean with a decent size bathroom. The hardwood floors are a nice touch vs some old, dirty carpet. There was never any mention of parking at the hotel though. There's a $25 charge for valet which is decent considering the nearest garage charges $20 for 24 hours. During holidays, expect to get your own car from the garage due to street blockages. This is a minus considering you pay for 'valet'. Also, the resort fee is charged upon arrival which includes breakfast and wine. Never saw any wine or was told how to redeem it. The location is pretty great! Literally a block away from the beach. No ocean views though :( Oh and expect a lot of noise from other rooms. Younger people seem to prefer it for the price. The floors are old and squeak too. The elevator is small and only fits 3 people when it works. This whole area is pretty old. Most of the hotels look to be about the same. The nicer ones are actually closer to North Beach. So weigh your options carefully :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperLiz
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 5, 2014

Great adult hotel

While I did see kids at the hotel it just seems like South Beach is more for adult entertainment. I don't mean X rated either, just a bunch of clubs. For that this location is perfect as it located close and within walking distance from all those places you want to hit up!! Would stay there again because I was hardly in the room, but the plumbing could use a little maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abnq Family
Business
New Jersey
May 16, 2011

Stating the truth by a real Family

My husband and I had our 3 year old with us to enjoy a weekend in Miami..This hotel was in a great location..The room was ok,,our bathroom door wouldnt close correctly but the staff were very nice, the only thing that disappointed us was the breakfast..not a real breakfast..yogurt and muffins with water-down orange juice wasnt what we called a breakfast....sorry ..other than that,, we had a great time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top