$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
143 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Great stay at the hotel

I appreciate many aspects on Beach Plaza Hotel: perfect location, spacy and renovated room,... See full review

  • Mirka V.
  • May 29, 2013
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7854 -80.1305
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
MIA - Miami International
Area description
The Beach Plaza hotel enjoys a great location on Collins Avenue and 14th Street, just 250 feet from the beach, within easy walking distance of Washington Avenue, Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. The Hawaiian Gardens offer a pleasant refuge from the non-stop vibes of South Beach.

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
12 out of 143
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Panihida
Business
Bat Area
Oct 5, 2011

Great hotel

I always stay in this hotel and very happy with value/location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 27, 2010

Good vacation

Th e hotel was very nice, perfect location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
JUANSITO
Business
NEW YORK
Nov 9, 2012

Very Pleased overall

I'M VERY SATIFIED OF MY 3 NIGHTS STAY A THIS HOTEL, IT'S CLOSE TO EVERYTHING I NEEDED, STAFF WAS VERY HELPFULL, VERY, I'D RECOMMENDED ANY TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
JoeVilla
Business
Rosarito BC México
Jun 6, 2012

Great for Business

I arrived very late and the staff was on board out front and at the desk. They were efficient and very helpful. When I checked out there were no problems and I would stay there again. Thanks for a great trip. Joe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I guess it depends on the reason for the trip.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
May 15, 2007

Staff was fantastic however..........

The Plaza was a really nice hotel within walking distance of the entire south beach area. Hotel staff were fantastic and the little bar had a great bartender and always interesting patrons. The room was not the cleanest I've stayed in and getting it cleaned was a daily chore. While I really liked the staff, I have stayed at better south beach hotels in the same class. The rooftop bar was cool, though no one ever went there and $15 for a vodka/seven in a plastic cup - c'mon?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All bars and clubs within walking distance!

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Panihida
Business
Bay Area
Dec 1, 2011

Great location

For the money this is a great deal. You have a great location, walking distance from the beach and all the fun stores and restaurants.The rooms are clean and the stuff is friendly. I always stay in this hotel and would recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2007

Nice vacation, spot

I arrived at the Plaza to find that there was no parking, and the valet, after tip, was about $35 a day to keep a car nearby. The doorman was nice the first time I came through the door, but after a time or two, he began to look bothered that I was there. My trip was a week long, so this doorman, by the end of the week, I feel hated me. There was a 24 hour party on the block the hotel is on, so its very much a vacation destination, not for business travelers in the area. there is no wifi, and no internet connections in the rooms. however the people watching is great, and the nearby restaurants are amazing, but expensive, but so is south beach. overall- B+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Blind Dave
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 6, 2013

Nice hotel...very short walk from the beach!

This is a nice hotel, a very short walk from the beach. The rooms were small, but nice. Just be aware that they tack on extra resort fees once you show up...even if you prepaid. Parking is also very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 22, 2007

You seldom get more than you pay for

This hotel was acceptable, older and slightly redone. The location was convenient to beach and Ocean drive, my meeting hotel (Loew's), as well as 3+ blocks from Lincoln street mall. The rooms were average size, while the bathroom was small. The second night back, my keys wouldn't work. The replacement keys still didn't work, so the night watchman had to let me in. The next morning, no hot water in the shower. This also happened one other morning. I had to get ice from the bar (no machine), but the bar didn't open until 4PM, so no ice at 3PM. The pool had been filled in and turned into a nice garden with a fake waterfall. I enjoyed it once. The bed was good, but wireless internet was weak and cost $10/day. In summary, you seldom get more than you pay for, as in this case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and Ocean Drive

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Cal Atty
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

South Beach Plaza review

Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Hotel looks like it did in 1950's--although I was not there to see it then, and TV screen is larger. WiFi did not work in room. It was spring break, the place was jammed with youngsters heading to the beach or drinking during happy hour. No bad behavior, but a less than desired ambience. Notwithstanding the friendly staff, will probably look elsewhere in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top