$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
216 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Great stay at the hotel

I appreciate many aspects on Beach Plaza Hotel: perfect location, spacy and renovated room,... See full review

  • Mirka V.
  • May 29, 2013
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7854 -80.1305
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
MIA - Miami International
Area description
The Beach Plaza hotel enjoys a great location on Collins Avenue and 14th Street, just 250 feet from the beach, within easy walking distance of Washington Avenue, Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. The Hawaiian Gardens offer a pleasant refuge from the non-stop vibes of South Beach.

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelita
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 16, 2007

Cute & Quaint but small

The South Beach Plaza Hotel, was very cute and quaint. Upon entering, there is a veranda that is very welcoming and the lobby has an up to date decor that is inviting and relaxing. The room was clean, but very small. There was no separation from the bathroom and bedroom, except a door; so there was no feeling of privacy. The bathroom was very small, there was no vanity area only a small overhead cabinet so you could not keep your personals in the bathroom. Also, as it is a historical hotel, the water pressure is low and the water flow is not regulated; hot and cold water kept fluctuating during showering. The hotel staff was friendly and the location was good. As I was not in the room except to sleep and shower, I was not bothered by the tight quarters of the room. I had a great trip and a pleasant stay at the hotel, I would stay there again but I'd perfer a villa if there's one available instead of a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away from Ocean Blvd., which is where there is shopping, dining, nightlife and the beach.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Jun 9, 2007

Location, location, location

We booked this hotel for the purpose of having somewhere to sleep and shower in the heart of the Art Deco district in addition to being reasonbly priced. The prior reviews of this hotel were accurate. 1) The room was clean but small. Which was ok since we had no plans of staying in the room. 2) The hotel needed updating and smelled 'old'. 3) The staff was friendly and helpful. 4) Location was king. The beach was a block away and all the restaurants and bars were in walking distance. There is a bar on the premises, a porch with tables and seating overlooking Collins in addition to a rooftop hangout. The bar and porch area were nice but there is only one TINY elevator. I couldnt imagine hundreds of people waiting on the elevator to get to the rooftop party! Overall my stay was expected. I got the value for my $$$. I would have a SHORT stay here again and recommend to a friend for the same reason. Any longer than two days my preference would be in comfort instead of convenience. There is only so much of the old smell I could take.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife, Beach, Entertainment, Restaurants and Shopping are all in short walking distance.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jlewis
New York, New York
May 8, 2014

Awesome couple getaway

Second time in South Beach and it was great.. The location of this hotel is perfect. You can walk anywhere you want to and it wouldn't take long. The room was comfortable and the staff super friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flannigans Little italy on 17th & Washington

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig G.
Raleigh, NC
Jul 12, 2012

My Getaway on my getaway...

Good location and price. Nice helpful staff. Very Satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida Trip
Arizona, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Great Spot!

Grealt location with a great price! The room even came with a free glass of wine! Great start to my vacation in Miami!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ovide
USA
Mar 16, 2008

Chic and GREAT Location

This hotel is very chic looking. Rooms were a little dated but have a cozy feel. Furniture wasd a little warn and there were very few decorative elements in the rooms. Stellar lobby and GREAT location RIGHT in the heart of SOBE! Parking was a breeze thanks to the valet and well worth the $28/day to have ti parked. Driving in SOBE is a nightmare so, drop the car off and hoof it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

11th Street Diner is opeb 24/7 and many many many clubs and restaurants!

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bertina
New York, NY
May 5, 2008

Decent place

I enjoyed my stay here, the hotel is located at a prime spot; one block from the beach and smacked in the middle of the famous Ocean Drive. There are lots of clubs, bars and restaurants at your fingertips. Upon check out there is a resort fee that you will be charged (heads up). The roof top lounge was not opened during my stay, I wish that it was. If you?re looking for a decent place to stay this hotel would be perfect for you. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an awesome sandwich shop a half block from the hotel next to the gas station, I absolutely fell in love with the food and service there. Best of all it is opened 24 hours.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karlyku
Deptford, NJ
May 11, 2009

great place for the price

Service was great. First we were in a standard room, which is exactly the way it sounds. Everything was older (carpet, shower rod, tv), but livable. Then they upgraded us for free for our anniversary to a better room. The upgraded room was a lot nicer - flatscreen tv, newer bathroom fixtures, hardwood floor. The hotel has a GREAT outdoor space with chairs,couches,& a pool table, you can buy your own liquor and drink out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely head away from Ocean Drive. There are clubs/restaurants near or on Lincoln Road that are worth checking out.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pinki
New Jersey
Aug 17, 2010

Besties Vacation

I enjoyed my hotel stay it was very fun...the staff members were very friendly and the housekeeping was sufficient...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Em P
Washington, D.C.
May 22, 2013

Great location! Minutes from the beach!

The location of this hotel was great. Less than a 3 minute walk to the beach, blocks from restaurants bars on Espanola Way and other great venues in South Beach. Clean rooms, friendly helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top