$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Couple days after cruise.

Great hotel, nice staff and clean room. Staff very informative and suggested places for us to get... See full review

  • Mark B.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Weekend getaway !

The location was spectacular, I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again ! The Rooms... See full review

  • Silvia G.
  • Jan 19, 2015
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 7, 2008

My review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

The South Beach Plaza is a nice hotel stay. Its not very lavish, but comfortable. For the price, especially in Miami Beach, its a good value. When you look at the entire place, its a slightly below mid-level hotel that, because of upkeep, creativity and attention, bumps itself up to above average. They do a good job of making mediocre feel plush and comfortable (can you say IKEA!). That said, I'd definitley recommend the hotel to a value conscious friend - not the one that likes high end! The room was very clean and seemed about average in size. There's a desk area and we had a flat screen TV in our room. I liked the fact that the bathroom had simulated marbel and a door-less, non-moving glass shower partition. Very swanky! There was adequate space for hanging clothes and they provided two suitcase stands. The location was very good - only a short walk to all the people on Ocean Ave. There's no restaurants on the premises, however there is an in-house bar that also provides continental breakfast every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant Grill Fish is 1 block north and the Seafood is AMAZING (although very expensive)!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E-Money
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 15, 2010

Great for the money

First some background: I am 20, attend school full time, and own a booming business. I wanted to visit somewhere far away from Texas and just relax for a week. That's exactly what I got to do. The gentlemen at the front desk were always friendly and were always in a good mood. The room was clean and quaint, just how I wanted it. I avoided the big chains because I wanted something with a more "Miami" feel to it. It was located one street from the beach, walking distance to the clubs, and an earshot from the shopping. For the price, it was a great deal. The only thing I wish they had were vending machines so that I could get a soda every now and then. They don't have room service, so if I wanted to eat I had to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disher
Business
Staten Island, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Very Good

Very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pichi
Business
New Jersey
Nov 25, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Just a normal trip to visiting a friend of me. there was something then i don't spect was resort services fee. And they came up with a bill of $68.32. next time let me know before. that it's going to be and extra charge...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
May 1, 2010

Not bad at all!

The first room they gave us had a strong smell of disinfectant or some cleaning solution but I requested for another room and they gladly gave us another one! The hotel is cheap so don't expect to stay in a 5-star hotel, but it is very well worth the money. A block away from the beach and it's right on Collins Ave.! It is also right in front of La Sandwicherie - best place to eat!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Dec 25, 2010

Nice central hotel

Wonderful location to start discovering the Art Deco district. Beach close by and nice dining facilities too. Prices of the hotel are average, a stupid "resort fee" is asked of you. Why would you want to pay $8.50 and not even include a WiFi connection? And for what else? Hotel is very nicely done, style is guaranteed throughout, even the phone in the room is almost old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A magnificent stroll to the beach just one block away, lovely local stores the other way and international big shopping brands a third way: in the middle of everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElyjahRasta
Business
El Monte
Jul 18, 2010

South Beach Plaza Hotel

The hotel was old and you can tell they redid the bathrooms. You get a 70s-80s ambiance from this hotel. The lobby looks something from the 70s but it still looks cool. My room was extremely small, thank god it was 3 guys, if there were females they would want a bigger room for sure. The walls are very thin and while i was taken a shower i can hear the room next door. The AC was on full blast THE WHOLE TIME we were there! The best thing about the hotel is the location,location,LOCATION! It literally takes 1 minute to walk to the beach and its near everything in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 27, 2010

Good vacation

Th e hotel was very nice, perfect location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pinki
Business
New Jersey
Aug 17, 2010

Besties Vacation

I enjoyed my hotel stay it was very fun...the staff members were very friendly and the housekeeping was sufficient...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean View
Dec 17, 2008

Great location

This hotel is a great value. The location was great. walking distance to all the main attractions: 8th and Ocean, Lincoln Street and the beach. The room was good and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The cab ride form the airport is 32 dollars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top