$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Couple days after cruise.

Great hotel, nice staff and clean room. Staff very informative and suggested places for us to get... See full review

  • Mark B.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Weekend getaway !

The location was spectacular, I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again ! The Rooms... See full review

  • Silvia G.
  • Jan 19, 2015
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeVilla
Business
Rosarito BC México
Jun 6, 2012

Great for Business

I arrived very late and the staff was on board out front and at the desk. They were efficient and very helpful. When I checked out there were no problems and I would stay there again. Thanks for a great trip. Joe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I guess it depends on the reason for the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rgmg
Business
nj
Jul 5, 2012

Almost wasn't great

Was wrong placed into a SB Plaza Villa room. Room in Villa was chemically smelly, noisy on ground floor, and WiFi was too weak to connect. Once I was moved to the SB Plaza Hotel (next door - which I originally did book) all problems disappeared, and my stay was extremely good. The weekday staff were very professional and accommodating. The on-site concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The change in accommodations definitely made all the difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig G.
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 12, 2012

My Getaway on my getaway...

Good location and price. Nice helpful staff. Very Satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Jul 23, 2012

Good for the price

The hotel was definitely outdated, but that added to its quaintness and charm. Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect, too. It was less than a 2 minute walk to the beach, and maybe a 30 second walk to Ocean Drive. It was out of earshot of the loud music of the nearby clubs and other hotel bars, which was nice. There was a single window unit AC, but it kept the room plenty cool. The only thing that was unpleasant was the smell in the outside hallways, but you couldn't smell anything in the room or in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Everything is pricey in the area, but not every place serves quality food that you'd expect for what you're paying. I would definitely ask around about places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JUANSITO
Business
NEW YORK
Nov 9, 2012

Very Pleased overall

I'M VERY SATIFIED OF MY 3 NIGHTS STAY A THIS HOTEL, IT'S CLOSE TO EVERYTHING I NEEDED, STAFF WAS VERY HELPFULL, VERY, I'D RECOMMENDED ANY TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brown Bottle
Business
Ormond Beach, Fla.
Jan 17, 2013

Two Day Getaway

This hotel has a great location in the Art Deco area of South Beach. Friendly staff, good service. The one thing I didn't realize was the parking situation in this area, but the hotel handles it very good with thier valet parking. But because of the location of the hotel I didn't need my car while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mehhhhh
Business
albany, ny
May 6, 2013

Good

Nice place, close to beach, good service, overpriced for weekends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Em P
Business
Washington, D.C.
May 22, 2013

Great location! Minutes from the beach!

The location of this hotel was great. Less than a 3 minute walk to the beach, blocks from restaurants bars on Espanola Way and other great venues in South Beach. Clean rooms, friendly helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
master tom
Business
sanibel, fl
Jun 6, 2013

great place to experience south beach

we were well recieved..the room was small but clean and servicable..location perferect, right in the heart of south beach....and the room was quiet from the street traffic on collins...only steps away from great restraunts, ocean drive and the beach...i would readily revist this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

washington avenue and 14th a great rest., osteria del teatro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun kissed
Business
Connecticut
Sep 4, 2013

Cozy

Great place to rest your head, staff is great & helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top