$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
coldinflorida
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Jan 10, 2012

NO Heat

Ordinarily no heat in the room would be no big deal in South Florida. But when it happens to be 2 of the coldest days of the year (arctic blast), you kind of need a little heat. Especially if you are already feeling ill. After 5 phone calls to the front desk and multiple promises that "maintenance" would come to get the heat going, someone finally arrives at the door with a small space heater. Yes, turns out there is actually no "heating" for the room. Other than this small thing, otherwise the experience was ordinary. To be sure, this hotel is no 3-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stevenden
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 16, 2012

really outdated

Really outdated hotel, but that's what you get in South Beach for under $200/night. Elevator only holds 3 people, otherwise it gets stuck ;) perfect location though, and they provide beach towels. ok if you're not picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Espanola way filled with with all kinds of dining is just two minutes walk.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MiamiTravelerR
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 4, 2012

Very basic hotel

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, other than that you get very little out of your money. The hotel is super basic and the service is the same. They do not clean the rooms until 4pm. There is not even a cup in the room to drink water. The room is also quite small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mom from cali
Business
calif
Aug 3, 2013

sobe hotel

starting with the positive, great location, rroms were clean..negative: beds are rock solid hard hard to sleep so hard, water pressuer in the room was terrible it came out as a slow drip,ac only has one setting so its either too cold or too hot, elevater only allows 3 people in it at one time, no room in the bathroom to put your stuff, bathroom mirror is in the way of sink so very hard to brush your teeth, breakfast very small selection juice and danish basucally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just Jul
Business
Washington, DC
May 3, 2011

Okay for 1-2 Nights Only

This hotel is in a great location, one block from the beach and is close to the major strip in SoBe. However, I would only recommend this for spring breakers on a budget or maybe couple that plan on spending only one or two nights. The hotel seemed clean enough, but it was really old and run down. The decor in the room was really outdated and my room didn't even have an enclosed shower. The shower was only enclosed on one half of the shower, so the water would run out all over the bathroom floor. The amenity fee seemed ridiculous for the subpar continental breakfast they served and they charged you a minimum of three dollars to even use the internet to print out your boarding pass. It was okay for the price, but I wouldn't do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 21, 2008

Good for People who just Go to the Beach

This hotel is good for just people who go to the beach or the places around the hotels because there was no parking and the parking around the hotel is terrible. I don't recommend this hotel for people who rent a car and see the place where you drive to. And this hotel didn't clean my room at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 24, 2007

Great business amenities

I like the location, it's very close by the beach most of all. I was very disppoint that I can not get ice until the bar is open that will be at 4:00pm daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

bar, clubs, shopping store and restaurant are very close by

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
man in business
Business
Mexico City
Apr 13, 2010

NOT THE BEST HOTEL

I took it because of the price but it certainly is not what it looks like in the pictures and they said PARKING included in the features without mentioning that is not theirs and that it came with a charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 2, 2009

Budget Hotel Only

I did not like the fact that I had to have a $150.00 deposit for incidental charges on my card when i was not notified of this. Also I asked for a wake up call at 5:00 AM the day I had to catch a plane and the front desk said they would call and nobody called in the morning. The free breakfast was only for 2 hours 7:30 to 9:30 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All the restaurants in the area automatically add a 17-18% gratuity fee to your bill.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepless Birthday Girl
Business
Upper Marlboro, MD
Sep 21, 2009

Great Location, but not to pleased

We visited the city, malls and the beach. The hotel rooms where small and smelly. The front lobby was very smelly. The staff was friendly. Updating the rooms is highly recommended. Compared to other hotels, this has been the worst hotel room ever. The linens where not clean and the iron was dirty/stained. The wooden floors where paint splattered stained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel was great. A few blocks from all the Hot South Beach clubs. A few steps from the beach and food places.

Back to menu Return to top