$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cal Atty
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

South Beach Plaza review

Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Hotel looks like it did in 1950's--although I was not there to see it then, and TV screen is larger. WiFi did not work in room. It was spring break, the place was jammed with youngsters heading to the beach or drinking during happy hour. No bad behavior, but a less than desired ambience. Notwithstanding the friendly staff, will probably look elsewhere in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silvix
Business
Perú
Apr 23, 2012

Convenient location

The hotel location is very convenient if you want to spend the days on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dijee1000
Business
Daytona Beach
May 26, 2012

Just Okay

I didn't expect much after the reviews I read before booking, but the room itself was acceptable. Pretty clean with a decent size bathroom. The hardwood floors are a nice touch vs some old, dirty carpet. There was never any mention of parking at the hotel though. There's a $25 charge for valet which is decent considering the nearest garage charges $20 for 24 hours. During holidays, expect to get your own car from the garage due to street blockages. This is a minus considering you pay for 'valet'. Also, the resort fee is charged upon arrival which includes breakfast and wine. Never saw any wine or was told how to redeem it. The location is pretty great! Literally a block away from the beach. No ocean views though :( Oh and expect a lot of noise from other rooms. Younger people seem to prefer it for the price. The floors are old and squeak too. The elevator is small and only fits 3 people when it works. This whole area is pretty old. Most of the hotels look to be about the same. The nicer ones are actually closer to North Beach. So weigh your options carefully :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JustDoItMichigan
Business
Michigan
Jul 17, 2012

Nice clean place in the heart of South Beach

Look this is a Great classic deco hotel for those on a budget. It is CLEAN! Staff were wonderful. They bed was good enough for our purposes. The little bar is cozy and there is a nice courtyard. A new restaurant is coming... You can rent chairs and umbrellas plus more for the beach. There is a lot of great things very nearby. We considered a hotel much further up Miami Beach but are glad with our choice. It may not have all the amenities and could stand some renovations but it is a great place to stay. For some people to understand - It is a historic building, so renovations are tricky and require special approvals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Faye3
Business
Southern NJ
Jul 24, 2012

Could've Been Better

With such a great location, this hotel could use an upgrade. The mattresses were hard. A microwave could've been useful for warming up leftovers for a late night snack. Instead I had to throw away good every night. Valet parking is highly recommended if u have a car. Otherwise, being in Miami was worth the few inconveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lckytrn
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2012

Very nice hotel

Our stay here was very nice. we really enjoyed the complimentary wine in the evenings. and the $20 happy hour. the room was very clean, the staff was very helpful. The location is very good, only a block away from the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike1213
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 1, 2013

Dismal room; good location

Room is bare bones, but clean; otherwise room was fine and quiet. Location is very good to beach. After staying at a very nice hotel in Key West, this hotel was a distinct comedonw, but also much less than hotel in Key West. We parked in public lot one block from hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelby
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 25, 2013

Not that great

Check in and out was handled well. Very close to the beach which was great. Hotel is super old and had some strange bug that crawled into my suitcase and were in the bathroom and near the air conditioner in our room. Continental breakfast was good, coffee average. It is NOT a 3 star hotel. We stayed 2 days and it was manageable but we definitely will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss b23
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
May 29, 2013

Good Location

The hotel is within walking distance to alot of the local clubs and the beach is right behind you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emrenyc
Business
Brooklyn
Aug 16, 2013

Great Location

Hotel .location is great! Pillows are terrible. Room is okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top