$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
147 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Excellent stay

Great, very clean hotel at a great location just 1 block off the beach. Staff was great and the... See full review

  • Miami Lover24
  • May 29, 2013
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Hotel Map

25.7854 -80.1305
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
MIA - Miami International
Area description
The Beach Plaza hotel enjoys a great location on Collins Avenue and 14th Street, just 250 feet from the beach, within easy walking distance of Washington Avenue, Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. The Hawaiian Gardens offer a pleasant refuge from the non-stop vibes of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 147
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
peggypegs
Business
elmont ny
Dec 20, 2013

fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JTakano
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Sep 20, 2013

I wont go back

I was going to book another hotel, because i read they had parking and the other place was a 25 dollar valet (i hate valet service). i got there and it was a valet service 25 usd just like the other hotel. i noticed my ipod cable missing from my car after the first day, but since i only noticed it later I decided to not create a big deal over a cable, but it was annoying, i felt the vallet guy really messed around on the car since even my gps was disconnected, i decided to take everything out of the car the next day. (That is why i hate valet) The location is nice, your are right in the middle of everything in south beach and a block from the beach itself. The staff was friendly and helpful. The patio was being renovated and my room was on the other side of it, i had to walk on wood boards to get there. The room was noisy and i could listen to the cars passing outside and the construction happening in the morning, also i had to listen to a couple discussion on the room next door. I felt that the room was not as clean as I was expecting and also the bed was not confortabl, it was hard, i also felt the bed was not as clean. The breakfast is just bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emrenyc
Business
Brooklyn
Aug 16, 2013

Great Location

Hotel .location is great! Pillows are terrible. Room is okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mirka V.
Business
Bratislava, Slovakia
May 29, 2013

Great stay at the hotel

I appreciate many aspects on Beach Plaza Hotel: perfect location, spacy and renovated room, cleanliness and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelby
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 25, 2013

Not that great

Check in and out was handled well. Very close to the beach which was great. Hotel is super old and had some strange bug that crawled into my suitcase and were in the bathroom and near the air conditioner in our room. Continental breakfast was good, coffee average. It is NOT a 3 star hotel. We stayed 2 days and it was manageable but we definitely will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just Jul
Business
Washington, DC
May 3, 2011

Okay for 1-2 Nights Only

This hotel is in a great location, one block from the beach and is close to the major strip in SoBe. However, I would only recommend this for spring breakers on a budget or maybe couple that plan on spending only one or two nights. The hotel seemed clean enough, but it was really old and run down. The decor in the room was really outdated and my room didn't even have an enclosed shower. The shower was only enclosed on one half of the shower, so the water would run out all over the bathroom floor. The amenity fee seemed ridiculous for the subpar continental breakfast they served and they charged you a minimum of three dollars to even use the internet to print out your boarding pass. It was okay for the price, but I wouldn't do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Girl
Business
South Jersey
Mar 12, 2011

Comfortable and Convenient

I was there for a music conference and booked this place since it was central to where many of the activities were held. The room and bathroom were small but they served their purpose. I appreciated the housekeeping service. My biggest complaint is I tried to print my boarding pass on the public computer but the printer was not working and I was still charged for the time I was on line. Other than that, my stay was OK. The staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The cocktails at this hotel were more resaonbly priced than several other nearby establishments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fifthsands
Business
Nawlins
Aug 20, 2010

Don't stay here

This was the worst hotel. I took pictures so I could show everyone just how bad it was. I stayed in room 146. People were coming in all time of night drunk. Stomping on the wood floors above us. yeah u hear every step. We got no sleep. Second, there was a hole in the floor. The bathroom wasn't clean and the sink was stopped up. The shower bar was all rusted. I couldn't open the door without slamming my body into it. I almost broke my ankle walking from the kitchen to the bedroom. There was a two in height difference in floorings. Thestove didn't work. There was a mirror in the kitchen. They rationed the towels. I booked a 3.5 to 4 star hotel and got a rat trap. The bed was on wheels n I nearly busted my butt when I went to sit down. They basically advertise one thing. N give u something else. A dump!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E-Money
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 15, 2010

Great for the money

First some background: I am 20, attend school full time, and own a booming business. I wanted to visit somewhere far away from Texas and just relax for a week. That's exactly what I got to do. The gentlemen at the front desk were always friendly and were always in a good mood. The room was clean and quaint, just how I wanted it. I avoided the big chains because I wanted something with a more "Miami" feel to it. It was located one street from the beach, walking distance to the clubs, and an earshot from the shopping. For the price, it was a great deal. The only thing I wish they had were vending machines so that I could get a soda every now and then. They don't have room service, so if I wanted to eat I had to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3-D Greg
Business
Davenport, FL
Jul 2, 2010

Great value, very friendly staff

The hotel was a convenient place to sleep and nap while photographing the South Beach area. I always look for low price and good location. The Beach Plaza Hotel fit the bill beautifully this time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beach Plaza Hotel is just a block from Jerry's Famous Deli. Excellent food and open 24 hours a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top