$51 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
149 reviews
Nice

I like this hotel it's close to everything n it's very nice See full review

  • Michael Clemons
  • Jun 19, 2015
Great Couple days after cruise.

Great hotel, nice staff and clean room. Staff very informative and suggested places for us to get... See full review

  • Mark B.
  • Jan 23, 2015
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$58
3.4 / 5 154 reviews
★★★★
$78
3.3 / 5 611 reviews
★★★
$70
3.2 / 5 84 reviews
★★★
$68
3.5 / 5 253 reviews
★★★
$75
2.9 / 5 75 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews
★★★★
$118
3.9 / 5 119 reviews
★★
$58
3.1 / 5 74 reviews
★★★
$60
3.4 / 5 137 reviews

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 149
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
linhle
Family
tampa
May 19, 2013

good location

Tiny room, not worth the money. I arrived the hotel at 10pm but had to wait about an 1 hour for them to prepare the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moras
Family
orlando Florida
Jul 27, 2012

the best place

the best place,good price,close to the beach and the people from front desk are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rgmg
Family
nj
Jul 5, 2012

Almost wasn't great

Was wrong placed into a SB Plaza Villa room. Room in Villa was chemically smelly, noisy on ground floor, and WiFi was too weak to connect. Once I was moved to the SB Plaza Hotel (next door - which I originally did book) all problems disappeared, and my stay was extremely good. The weekday staff were very professional and accommodating. The on-site concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The change in accommodations definitely made all the difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dijee1000
Family
Daytona Beach
May 26, 2012

Just Okay

I didn't expect much after the reviews I read before booking, but the room itself was acceptable. Pretty clean with a decent size bathroom. The hardwood floors are a nice touch vs some old, dirty carpet. There was never any mention of parking at the hotel though. There's a $25 charge for valet which is decent considering the nearest garage charges $20 for 24 hours. During holidays, expect to get your own car from the garage due to street blockages. This is a minus considering you pay for 'valet'. Also, the resort fee is charged upon arrival which includes breakfast and wine. Never saw any wine or was told how to redeem it. The location is pretty great! Literally a block away from the beach. No ocean views though :( Oh and expect a lot of noise from other rooms. Younger people seem to prefer it for the price. The floors are old and squeak too. The elevator is small and only fits 3 people when it works. This whole area is pretty old. Most of the hotels look to be about the same. The nicer ones are actually closer to North Beach. So weigh your options carefully :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
worldbefree
Family
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Nothing Special

This is one of many old hotels that trade on their location. The hotel is very old and it shows. The rooms are shabby and old. The old tube style TV and ancient bed spread make you feel cheated for the price. The staff cheats the foreign tourists and they pop a 'resort' fee onto your bill that isn't disclosed until checkin. Hustlers hang out on the front porch of this hotel and a tour salesman sitting in the lobby pretends to be a concierige (sp) while steering the gulible to his tours. Net, good location crumby hotel, particularly for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk to Ocean Drive from this hotel you'll be chatted up at 20 different bistros. Nice view, very expensive. If you want a quick, cheap meal walk toward Washington St. and grab lunch at the Sandwieria. Good food, reasonably priced. Also, the tip is always included in the price. If you're not handed a receipt, ask for one. Particularly if English is not your native language.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boooooo
Family
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Family getaway

not handicap accessible, needs construction. Need new elevator. However, the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

South Beach

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abnq Family
Family
New Jersey
May 16, 2011

Stating the truth by a real Family

My husband and I had our 3 year old with us to enjoy a weekend in Miami..This hotel was in a great location..The room was ok,,our bathroom door wouldnt close correctly but the staff were very nice, the only thing that disappointed us was the breakfast..not a real breakfast..yogurt and muffins with water-down orange juice wasnt what we called a breakfast....sorry ..other than that,, we had a great time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New Jersey
Feb 27, 2011

Great location

This location is great, although it is not on Ocean Drive. It's only one block from the beach and it is close to nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Only valet parking on premises but there's an indoor lot close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

David's Cafe a must.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Daytona bch,fl
Nov 26, 2009

You pay for what you get.

It was ok. It was in a good location. I didnt like the fact that there was no parking and you had to park a block away and pay for parking there. And the hotel had a horrible smell to it. And the bathroom was small and looked liked the person who worked on it doing the tile did a bad job.The bed was hard and the pillows had no cushion to them at all. Sheets looked and felt cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Its right around the corner from the clubs and resturants.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dean Langston
Family
Miami Beach, FL
Jun 8, 2009

Rooms

We had to move 4 times to different rooms. First day, the wall sockets would not work. The second room we were move to---the shower would not work. The third room we were move to roaches were in the room. The fourth room water leaked all over our clothes in the closet and carpet. Some of the clothes we have to pay to go to dry cleaner and some had to be thrown away. This was the poorest hotel service I have ever experinece in my life. I feel that I shouldn't have been charged anything for the room. I expect to hear from you about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top