$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
151 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Girl's Trip on A Budget!

As first time travelers with my friends, this hotel was awesome. Location was great because the... See full review

  • Nikki the Ninja
  • Nov 26, 2014
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UNHAPPY BIRTHDAY LADY !!
Business
CHICAGO,IL
Oct 6, 2010

THE GOOD , THE BAD AND THE UGLY !!

THIS WAS BY FAR, THE WORST HOTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN !! IT MADE MY BIRTHDAY TRIP VERY UNPLEASENT !!FRIST OFF THE FRONT DESK ASST. WAS SO UNPLEASENT AND DIDN'T CARE THAT WE WAS UNHAPPY OUR MONEY WAS PAID. THERE WAS NO MANAGER ON DUTY AND NEVER CONTACT ME WITH MY CONCERN'S. IT HAD A OLD SMELL, NO VENTS IN BATHROOM,THE ROOM WAS A CRACKER BOX !! THEY WAS FIXIN THE ROOF FOR HOURS EARLY IN THE MORNING LOUD BANGIN AND COULDN'T SLEEP !! JUST WASN'T FOR ME AT ALL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pategonia
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Worst bed ever

The bed was possibly vintage 1930. I could feel every spring beneath me. When my husband rolled over, the bed made a roller coaster move. Many of the guests looked like thugs The free breakfast included the worst bagels and cell wrapped pastries ever. Never will we stay here again nor recommend it. The sound of garbage trucks picking up trash occurred both weekend mornings. It was so loud you would think it was in our room. The hotel has no view and the blinds do not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have lunch at The Raleigh

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TC SF
Business
Santa Fe, NM, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Rip Off Resort Fee

Booked and prepaid "all taxes and fees included". At check in told there was an additional, now 13/ day, "resort fee". Tried to waive it, told it was mandatory. No coffee in room or in hotel before 8am, plastic wrapped muffins, broken shower head and desk lamp, noisy place. Plenty of hotels in the area; book with an honest one, not these guys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nexxt Cafe in Lincoln Rd. pedestrian mall. Good food, service and prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JTakano
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Sep 20, 2013

I wont go back

I was going to book another hotel, because i read they had parking and the other place was a 25 dollar valet (i hate valet service). i got there and it was a valet service 25 usd just like the other hotel. i noticed my ipod cable missing from my car after the first day, but since i only noticed it later I decided to not create a big deal over a cable, but it was annoying, i felt the vallet guy really messed around on the car since even my gps was disconnected, i decided to take everything out of the car the next day. (That is why i hate valet) The location is nice, your are right in the middle of everything in south beach and a block from the beach itself. The staff was friendly and helpful. The patio was being renovated and my room was on the other side of it, i had to walk on wood boards to get there. The room was noisy and i could listen to the cars passing outside and the construction happening in the morning, also i had to listen to a couple discussion on the room next door. I felt that the room was not as clean as I was expecting and also the bed was not confortabl, it was hard, i also felt the bed was not as clean. The breakfast is just bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nika Bika
Business
Illinois
Feb 25, 2014

Worst Hotel EVER

We were without power for a day. Staff did nothing to accommodate us! No refund for the day, no drinks no nothing! Staff very rude. Foul mildew odor in the foyer... Great location but that is about it... would never stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
irving
May 27, 2008

Don't ever step in this hotel

Guys, this is one of the worst hotel i would ever stayed in my life. I will give you two reason why i say this, although i can say more than 10 reasons of this badly maintained hotel. 1. The room key is not working. From the first time :( so I always need to ask the person at front desk to open my door :( how bad... 2. Water in the toilet overflowed in the bathroom. When i went to complain about it, the guy cooly said, the maintance ppl arrive only at 10. It was only 8.30 in the morning at that time. When i shouted at them the guy arrived in just 2 mins.. What i kind of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

royal palm hotel nearby seems to be good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arkansas
Jan 26, 2010

Not As Advertised

Stayed at the South Beach Plaza Hotel January 24th & 25th 2010. Would not stay again. Thought the hotel had been renovated but couldn't see where it had been. Rooms are small and depressing. Lighting is terrible and not sure the electrical would pass inspection. All outlets bad shape. Bathroom very small and the light and outlet in bathroom was just plain scary. Hotel is very noisey. Can hear everything from adjoining rooms and person in room above us made noise all night shutting doors, banging on floor and running water. Told desk clerk about it as did another lady but they didn't seem to be concerned about it. Had to call for maid to clean up room, at 4:00 still had not been cleaned. Stayed at the Essex on our pre cruise stay and had a pleasant stay. Definetly would not stay at the South Beach Hotel again. Very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fencecat
Business
staten island new york
Aug 3, 2010

nothing special

about the only really good thing I can say is the location is great if you are interested in the beach & shopping. Location is fabulous...other than that I was not impressed with this hotel. Staff not very friendly...no pool was a real downer..and the free breakfast was awful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great shopping within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boooooo
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Family getaway

not handicap accessible, needs construction. Need new elevator. However, the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

South Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fifthsands
Business
Nawlins
Aug 20, 2010

Don't stay here

This was the worst hotel. I took pictures so I could show everyone just how bad it was. I stayed in room 146. People were coming in all time of night drunk. Stomping on the wood floors above us. yeah u hear every step. We got no sleep. Second, there was a hole in the floor. The bathroom wasn't clean and the sink was stopped up. The shower bar was all rusted. I couldn't open the door without slamming my body into it. I almost broke my ankle walking from the kitchen to the bedroom. There was a two in height difference in floorings. Thestove didn't work. There was a mirror in the kitchen. They rationed the towels. I booked a 3.5 to 4 star hotel and got a rat trap. The bed was on wheels n I nearly busted my butt when I went to sit down. They basically advertise one thing. N give u something else. A dump!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top