$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
143 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Great stay at the hotel

I appreciate many aspects on Beach Plaza Hotel: perfect location, spacy and renovated room,... See full review

  • Mirka V.
  • May 29, 2013
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7854 -80.1305
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
MIA - Miami International
Area description
The Beach Plaza hotel enjoys a great location on Collins Avenue and 14th Street, just 250 feet from the beach, within easy walking distance of Washington Avenue, Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. The Hawaiian Gardens offer a pleasant refuge from the non-stop vibes of South Beach.

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
143 out of 143
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Insane Beauty
Bridgeport, CT
Aug 27, 2010

GREAT, AFFORDABLE PLACE

The hotel was very relaxing so I hung out in the room and took lots of naps. However, I wish the complementary breakfast was extended to at least 10am. Ranks in the top five best hotels I have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very Short walk to the beach, clubs, and dining restaurants.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Fifthsands
Nawlins
Aug 20, 2010

Don't stay here

This was the worst hotel. I took pictures so I could show everyone just how bad it was. I stayed in room 146. People were coming in all time of night drunk. Stomping on the wood floors above us. yeah u hear every step. We got no sleep. Second, there was a hole in the floor. The bathroom wasn't clean and the sink was stopped up. The shower bar was all rusted. I couldn't open the door without slamming my body into it. I almost broke my ankle walking from the kitchen to the bedroom. There was a two in height difference in floorings. Thestove didn't work. There was a mirror in the kitchen. They rationed the towels. I booked a 3.5 to 4 star hotel and got a rat trap. The bed was on wheels n I nearly busted my butt when I went to sit down. They basically advertise one thing. N give u something else. A dump!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Pinki
New Jersey
Aug 17, 2010

Besties Vacation

I enjoyed my hotel stay it was very fun...the staff members were very friendly and the housekeeping was sufficient...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
E-Money
Dallas, Texas
Aug 15, 2010

Great for the money

First some background: I am 20, attend school full time, and own a booming business. I wanted to visit somewhere far away from Texas and just relax for a week. That's exactly what I got to do. The gentlemen at the front desk were always friendly and were always in a good mood. The room was clean and quaint, just how I wanted it. I avoided the big chains because I wanted something with a more "Miami" feel to it. It was located one street from the beach, walking distance to the clubs, and an earshot from the shopping. For the price, it was a great deal. The only thing I wish they had were vending machines so that I could get a soda every now and then. They don't have room service, so if I wanted to eat I had to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 14, 2010

South Beach Plaza Hotel

The Hotel staff were great and very friendly. I would have preferred a room not facing busy Collins Avenue, but it was right in the middle of everything so I guess one comes with the other. The ceiling right outside of our door was leaking during the heavy rain. However, the Hotel itself was neat and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the cheap ~ The Food Factory. Clean, pleasant and super cheap for South Beach! Good for a quick lunch or bite to eat before hitting Happy Hour!

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Egypt
Aug 11, 2010

Fair

The Location of the hotel is great it is very near to the beach and to Linclon road. However, My room had a very irritating smell and the hotel needs to be revamped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Linclon Road

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
fencecat
staten island new york
Aug 3, 2010

nothing special

about the only really good thing I can say is the location is great if you are interested in the beach & shopping. Location is fabulous...other than that I was not impressed with this hotel. Staff not very friendly...no pool was a real downer..and the free breakfast was awful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great shopping within walking distance

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Jupiter, Florida
Jul 25, 2010

South Beach Plaza Hotel

Friendly Service. Clean room. GREAT location. Great Boutique Hotel. One Block from the Beach, and a short walk to restaurants, clubs, bars and shopping (Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road). NOTE: This is one of many small "Boutique" hotels in South Beach, in other words it is "vintage" or an "older" building. If you are looking for amenities (such as pool or fitness room, new furniture, or a newer look), you will not find that in these "Boutique" hotels or "vintage" buildings. Located in the Art Deco District of South Beach, the "vintage" look is meant to be part of its charm. Recommend for Couples or friends looking to spend most of their time taking in South Beach & not on the amenities or newer style that a larger hotel can offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A Hookah Bar/Lounge is located in Courtyard of Hotel, and found in many local area restaurants. Beach, dining, bars, clubs and shopping in short walking distance from hotel.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jul 19, 2010

Great location, customer service :(

The best thing about this property is the location. It is one block from Ocean Avenue. Also, the property is quiet and not loud and roudy. The front desk agent was kind of rude. He did not greet us right away and continued to do his "paperwork". Then he took other guest that came up prior to taking care of us. My friend and I stook there for a good 10minutes before he decided to see "what we wanted". [...] He added on additional fee for being a "Non Florida" resident when that was not mentioned when booking the rate, which was pre-paid. The room was "ok"...however, we noticed hair on the bathroom floor once we got to the room and mosquitos in the bathroom as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
ElyjahRasta
El Monte
Jul 18, 2010

South Beach Plaza Hotel

The hotel was old and you can tell they redid the bathrooms. You get a 70s-80s ambiance from this hotel. The lobby looks something from the 70s but it still looks cool. My room was extremely small, thank god it was 3 guys, if there were females they would want a bigger room for sure. The walls are very thin and while i was taken a shower i can hear the room next door. The AC was on full blast THE WHOLE TIME we were there! The best thing about the hotel is the location,location,LOCATION! It literally takes 1 minute to walk to the beach and its near everything in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top