$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Splenda
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 12, 2012

New Years Eve Weekend

Location is great for restaurants, shopping, beach and New Year's Eve celebrations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
coldinflorida
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Jan 10, 2012

NO Heat

Ordinarily no heat in the room would be no big deal in South Florida. But when it happens to be 2 of the coldest days of the year (arctic blast), you kind of need a little heat. Especially if you are already feeling ill. After 5 phone calls to the front desk and multiple promises that "maintenance" would come to get the heat going, someone finally arrives at the door with a small space heater. Yes, turns out there is actually no "heating" for the room. Other than this small thing, otherwise the experience was ordinary. To be sure, this hotel is no 3-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gil and Rose
Business
Summit, NJ
Jan 9, 2012

South beach pleasure

We had a great 3 days in Miami Beach. The hotel was well located, rooms were pleasant, staff was very friendly, and it's nice to have breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Espanola Way is just a few blocks from the hotel and there are many lively and good Spanish and Italian restaurants along the street.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Rohit
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Dec 19, 2011

South Beach

Hotel looks to be recently renovated, Big rooms Affordable price Close to beach and happenings ocean drive Parking is an issue at south beach Low resort fee $8.5/day per room includes beach towel, breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
worldbefree
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Nothing Special

This is one of many old hotels that trade on their location. The hotel is very old and it shows. The rooms are shabby and old. The old tube style TV and ancient bed spread make you feel cheated for the price. The staff cheats the foreign tourists and they pop a 'resort' fee onto your bill that isn't disclosed until checkin. Hustlers hang out on the front porch of this hotel and a tour salesman sitting in the lobby pretends to be a concierige (sp) while steering the gulible to his tours. Net, good location crumby hotel, particularly for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk to Ocean Drive from this hotel you'll be chatted up at 20 different bistros. Nice view, very expensive. If you want a quick, cheap meal walk toward Washington St. and grab lunch at the Sandwieria. Good food, reasonably priced. Also, the tip is always included in the price. If you're not handed a receipt, ask for one. Particularly if English is not your native language.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madyv
Business
Vero Beach,Florida
Dec 14, 2011

good value for the money

This hotel is close to the beach..It was very clean,linens and towels very good quality,beds all right.But very noisy early in the morning.Location of room in the back of hotel.very good continental breakfast,fresh.Most employees smilling and talking to customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of small restaurants with animation right on the sidewalk.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tarav1
Business
Lexington, KY, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Art Basel

the room was very clean. We stayed at here the weekend of art Basel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Alumnus
Business
South Jersey
Dec 12, 2011

Birthday Weekend

My traveling companion was celebrating her birthday. This was my second stay here. Previously I traveled alone and was on the hotel side. This time we were in a villa. There was a kitchenette with an unusable stove, microwave and refrigerator. We only used the refrigerator. We were booked for a room with 2 double beds. This room had 1 double bed and a sofa bed which was uncomfortable. We ended up sharing the 1 double bed. Only the cold water faucet on the bathroom sink worked. The last 2 days of our stay, there was no hot water. During checkout, several of us complained about the hot water problem. We were told there was a technical problem and that it was being fixed. I was also given the manager's email address as she was unavailable when we checked out. It has been a week since I emailed my complaints to her and I have not gotten a response. I plan to visit South Beach again in 2012, but this will probably be the last time I use this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Alumnus
Business
South Jersey
Dec 11, 2011

Birthday Weekend

My traveling companion was celebrating her birthday. This was my second stay here; previously I was traveling alone and stayed on the hotel side. This time we were placed in a villa. There was a kitchenette with an unusable stove, microwave, and refrigerator. We only used the refrigerator. We were booked for a room with 2 double beds. This room had 1 double bed and a sofa bed which was uncomfortable. So we ended up sharing the one double bed. Only the cold water faucet in the bathroom sink worked. The last 2 days of our stay, the hot water did not work. During check out, several other customers including myself complained to the concierge about the hot water situation. He said there were technical problems and that it was being fixed. The manager was not available, but I was given her email address and I did email her. It has been a week since I emailed her and I've gotten no response. I plan on returning to South Beach next year, but I probably will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Openref
Business
Sarasota, FL, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Great getaway

We went to celebrate my birthday, loved how close we were to the beach (1 short block). Good location, has nice outdoor sitting areas. Has a small but convenient bar. Wished we had a small refrigerator in the room. Parking fees wee higher than other nearby parking premises. But overall would highly recomend it. We were very close to great entertainment and shopping also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangos is only a 5 block walk on Ocean Drive, a great food, reasonably priced, fantastic non stop entertainment. A MUST DO `Also, for dinner, a great restaurant the Brazlian retaurant on Espaniola Between 14 th and 15th street is Espaniola drive one block south from hoteal.Walk from Collins one block to Washington and you will at the block. Great food, nice atmosfere. The entire block is a great area to visit. A MUST DO ALSO

Back to menu Return to top