$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
151 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Girl's Trip on A Budget!

As first time travelers with my friends, this hotel was awesome. Location was great because the... See full review

  • Nikki the Ninja
  • Nov 26, 2014
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skiboat
Business
Merritt Island FL
Nov 14, 2011

Location

Great price for the location stayed one night Near everything walking distance, would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mx01002944
Business
México
Nov 5, 2011

Great couple getaway

This is a nice hotel, excellent location! The staff is very kind and helpfull. Park on the street, hotel parking fee is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twinnie
Business
mountville, pa
Oct 11, 2011

girlfriend trip

nothing fancy but does the job. great location, nice staff, awesome porch to sit out on. bar on site and continental breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Espinosa Way is a great place for a wonderful, outdoor eating experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Panihida
Business
Bat Area
Oct 5, 2011

Great hotel

I always stay in this hotel and very happy with value/location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boooooo
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Family getaway

not handicap accessible, needs construction. Need new elevator. However, the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

South Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bratt
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Awesome location, great value

I wish they had some towel bars and/or hooks in the bathroom and a table in the room. THey had none. BUt the location was sooooo perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

lunch happy hour at Baires on Lincoln Rd: rib-eye for only $12.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abnq Family
Business
New Jersey
May 16, 2011

Stating the truth by a real Family

My husband and I had our 3 year old with us to enjoy a weekend in Miami..This hotel was in a great location..The room was ok,,our bathroom door wouldnt close correctly but the staff were very nice, the only thing that disappointed us was the breakfast..not a real breakfast..yogurt and muffins with water-down orange juice wasnt what we called a breakfast....sorry ..other than that,, we had a great time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just Jul
Business
Washington, DC
May 3, 2011

Okay for 1-2 Nights Only

This hotel is in a great location, one block from the beach and is close to the major strip in SoBe. However, I would only recommend this for spring breakers on a budget or maybe couple that plan on spending only one or two nights. The hotel seemed clean enough, but it was really old and run down. The decor in the room was really outdated and my room didn't even have an enclosed shower. The shower was only enclosed on one half of the shower, so the water would run out all over the bathroom floor. The amenity fee seemed ridiculous for the subpar continental breakfast they served and they charged you a minimum of three dollars to even use the internet to print out your boarding pass. It was okay for the price, but I wouldn't do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marblehead ma
Apr 20, 2011

Good deal

Nicer than I expected Free shuttle from airport & free shuttle to cruise ship I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Girl
Business
South Jersey
Mar 12, 2011

Comfortable and Convenient

I was there for a music conference and booked this place since it was central to where many of the activities were held. The room and bathroom were small but they served their purpose. I appreciated the housekeeping service. My biggest complaint is I tried to print my boarding pass on the public computer but the printer was not working and I was still charged for the time I was on line. Other than that, my stay was OK. The staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The cocktails at this hotel were more resaonbly priced than several other nearby establishments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top