$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
152 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Girl's Trip on A Budget!

As first time travelers with my friends, this hotel was awesome. Location was great because the... See full review

  • Nikki the Ninja
  • Nov 26, 2014
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
coldinflorida
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Jan 10, 2012

NO Heat

Ordinarily no heat in the room would be no big deal in South Florida. But when it happens to be 2 of the coldest days of the year (arctic blast), you kind of need a little heat. Especially if you are already feeling ill. After 5 phone calls to the front desk and multiple promises that "maintenance" would come to get the heat going, someone finally arrives at the door with a small space heater. Yes, turns out there is actually no "heating" for the room. Other than this small thing, otherwise the experience was ordinary. To be sure, this hotel is no 3-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gil and Rose
Business
Summit, NJ
Jan 9, 2012

South beach pleasure

We had a great 3 days in Miami Beach. The hotel was well located, rooms were pleasant, staff was very friendly, and it's nice to have breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Espanola Way is just a few blocks from the hotel and there are many lively and good Spanish and Italian restaurants along the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Rohit
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Dec 19, 2011

South Beach

Hotel looks to be recently renovated, Big rooms Affordable price Close to beach and happenings ocean drive Parking is an issue at south beach Low resort fee $8.5/day per room includes beach towel, breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
worldbefree
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Nothing Special

This is one of many old hotels that trade on their location. The hotel is very old and it shows. The rooms are shabby and old. The old tube style TV and ancient bed spread make you feel cheated for the price. The staff cheats the foreign tourists and they pop a 'resort' fee onto your bill that isn't disclosed until checkin. Hustlers hang out on the front porch of this hotel and a tour salesman sitting in the lobby pretends to be a concierige (sp) while steering the gulible to his tours. Net, good location crumby hotel, particularly for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk to Ocean Drive from this hotel you'll be chatted up at 20 different bistros. Nice view, very expensive. If you want a quick, cheap meal walk toward Washington St. and grab lunch at the Sandwieria. Good food, reasonably priced. Also, the tip is always included in the price. If you're not handed a receipt, ask for one. Particularly if English is not your native language.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madyv
Business
Vero Beach,Florida
Dec 14, 2011

good value for the money

This hotel is close to the beach..It was very clean,linens and towels very good quality,beds all right.But very noisy early in the morning.Location of room in the back of hotel.very good continental breakfast,fresh.Most employees smilling and talking to customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of small restaurants with animation right on the sidewalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tarav1
Business
Lexington, KY, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Art Basel

the room was very clean. We stayed at here the weekend of art Basel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Alumnus
Business
South Jersey
Dec 12, 2011

Birthday Weekend

My traveling companion was celebrating her birthday. This was my second stay here. Previously I traveled alone and was on the hotel side. This time we were in a villa. There was a kitchenette with an unusable stove, microwave and refrigerator. We only used the refrigerator. We were booked for a room with 2 double beds. This room had 1 double bed and a sofa bed which was uncomfortable. We ended up sharing the 1 double bed. Only the cold water faucet on the bathroom sink worked. The last 2 days of our stay, there was no hot water. During checkout, several of us complained about the hot water problem. We were told there was a technical problem and that it was being fixed. I was also given the manager's email address as she was unavailable when we checked out. It has been a week since I emailed my complaints to her and I have not gotten a response. I plan to visit South Beach again in 2012, but this will probably be the last time I use this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Alumnus
Business
South Jersey
Dec 11, 2011

Birthday Weekend

My traveling companion was celebrating her birthday. This was my second stay here; previously I was traveling alone and stayed on the hotel side. This time we were placed in a villa. There was a kitchenette with an unusable stove, microwave, and refrigerator. We only used the refrigerator. We were booked for a room with 2 double beds. This room had 1 double bed and a sofa bed which was uncomfortable. So we ended up sharing the one double bed. Only the cold water faucet in the bathroom sink worked. The last 2 days of our stay, the hot water did not work. During check out, several other customers including myself complained to the concierge about the hot water situation. He said there were technical problems and that it was being fixed. The manager was not available, but I was given her email address and I did email her. It has been a week since I emailed her and I've gotten no response. I plan on returning to South Beach next year, but I probably will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Openref
Business
Sarasota, FL, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Great getaway

We went to celebrate my birthday, loved how close we were to the beach (1 short block). Good location, has nice outdoor sitting areas. Has a small but convenient bar. Wished we had a small refrigerator in the room. Parking fees wee higher than other nearby parking premises. But overall would highly recomend it. We were very close to great entertainment and shopping also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangos is only a 5 block walk on Ocean Drive, a great food, reasonably priced, fantastic non stop entertainment. A MUST DO `Also, for dinner, a great restaurant the Brazlian retaurant on Espaniola Between 14 th and 15th street is Espaniola drive one block south from hoteal.Walk from Collins one block to Washington and you will at the block. Great food, nice atmosfere. The entire block is a great area to visit. A MUST DO ALSO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panihida
Business
Bay Area
Dec 1, 2011

Great location

For the money this is a great deal. You have a great location, walking distance from the beach and all the fun stores and restaurants.The rooms are clean and the stuff is friendly. I always stay in this hotel and would recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top