$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Couple days after cruise.

Great hotel, nice staff and clean room. Staff very informative and suggested places for us to get... See full review

  • Mark B.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Weekend getaway !

The location was spectacular, I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again ! The Rooms... See full review

  • Silvia G.
  • Jan 19, 2015
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silvix
Business
Perú
Apr 23, 2012

Convenient location

The hotel location is very convenient if you want to spend the days on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maris1985
Business
Savannah, GA
Apr 16, 2012

Nice Hotel

The hotel is walking distance from the beach. I cant say anything bad about my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stevenden
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 16, 2012

really outdated

Really outdated hotel, but that's what you get in South Beach for under $200/night. Elevator only holds 3 people, otherwise it gets stuck ;) perfect location though, and they provide beach towels. ok if you're not picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Espanola way filled with with all kinds of dining is just two minutes walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elvia
Business
New York City
Apr 15, 2012

Perfect location to stay in South Beach

I have to say this was the perfect hotel to stay. It was quiet, a block away from Ocean Drive, where all the partying is done. I went during the day to the beach and at night one block away from ocean drive's restaurant and clubs. Hotel was clean, convenient and the staff was excellent. I checked out at 3am to catch a early flight and the staff was ready and helpful in calling a cab for me and checking me out. I loved this hotel and would recommend it to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangos restaurant was great any time, night or day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cal Atty
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

South Beach Plaza review

Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Hotel looks like it did in 1950's--although I was not there to see it then, and TV screen is larger. WiFi did not work in room. It was spring break, the place was jammed with youngsters heading to the beach or drinking during happy hour. No bad behavior, but a less than desired ambience. Notwithstanding the friendly staff, will probably look elsewhere in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TC SF
Business
Santa Fe, NM, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Rip Off Resort Fee

Booked and prepaid "all taxes and fees included". At check in told there was an additional, now 13/ day, "resort fee". Tried to waive it, told it was mandatory. No coffee in room or in hotel before 8am, plastic wrapped muffins, broken shower head and desk lamp, noisy place. Plenty of hotels in the area; book with an honest one, not these guys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nexxt Cafe in Lincoln Rd. pedestrian mall. Good food, service and prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrm2442
Business
Georgia, USA
Feb 13, 2012

just a place to crash when you're ready

I was in town for a wedding and just needed a place to crash and change clothes that was in close proximity to the festivities. It was perfect for my needs. I would not stay here if I was planning on spending an extended amount of time in my room or someone who wanted to remember falling asleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida Trip
Business
Arizona, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Great Spot!

Grealt location with a great price! The room even came with a free glass of wine! Great start to my vacation in Miami!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pategonia
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Worst bed ever

The bed was possibly vintage 1930. I could feel every spring beneath me. When my husband rolled over, the bed made a roller coaster move. Many of the guests looked like thugs The free breakfast included the worst bagels and cell wrapped pastries ever. Never will we stay here again nor recommend it. The sound of garbage trucks picking up trash occurred both weekend mornings. It was so loud you would think it was in our room. The hotel has no view and the blinds do not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have lunch at The Raleigh

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LAracer
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Great location but you get what you pay for

The overall experience here was ok. The hotel is old and it shows. The king room size was great. The bathroom is small and the sink and toilet are low and crowded. The cabinet above the sink is oddly placed and it makes it hard to lower your head into the sink for brushing or washing your face. The tv in the room is so old I didn't think they still existed. LCDs are so cheap these days so I dont see why they haven't upgraded. There is horrible insulation making noises very apparent. People would be slamming their doors all over and you can hear it loudly. It's a cheap place for a quick stay but don't expect anything amazing except for the great location near the beach and La Sandwicherie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must eat at La Sandwicherie. Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top